Humans logo

Teri Buckalew

Rescue/Foster Manager...Mentor...Friend

By Sheila Sellinger, AuthorPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photos are personal property unless otherwise noted

Teri Buckalew is a foster manager (previously with Robin's Nest of Indy) and founder of Cuddle Me Cat Rescue. She is instrumental in saving the lives of an incredible number of cats and kittens each year. I could only wish that there were more people like her.

Dear Teri,

This would be so much easier to write if it were an article about you but, it's not, it's a letter. So, here goes.

I had no earthly idea how things were going to turn out the day that I called you on the phone that first time. I had six kittens that I'd picked up off of the street and had no clue as to how I was going to care for them, or what I was going to do with them. They were so absolutely adorable, but so many kittens is expensive and they needed care. I remember calling several vets to see if they offered any special rates for entire litters, and one of them gave me your number to call. Actually, she gave me your number and Tammy's number, but you're the one who answered the phone. You were so kind and understanding that day - and every day afterward. Even though I wasn't a recognized kitten foster, and even though I hadn't gone through all the correct channels, you gave us all a chance. Do you remember that day? It was the day that you began my education and journey toward kitten rescue/foster care. It was the first day of an incredible journey together.

You are by far the most patient person I've ever met. All the times I called you on the phone (still call you on the phone) to ask what to do about a kitten related problem, and you always made time for me even when you didn't really have the time to give at that moment. I can't adequately express my gratitude.

From Pixabay

You supported my goal to "clean up" the feral cat colony in my area, even though I was so far out of the city - out of Robin's Nest's "jurisdiction". You agreed with me, and I don't know how many times you stood between me and Robin, helping me to help the kittens. And, when I had a need (litter, kitten food, etc.) you were so generous.

From Pixabay

I learned so much from you. Not only did you teach me general kitten care, you taught me how to care for the seriously sick and injured. You gave me the gift of knowledge, of an education that will be with me throughout the rest of my life - an education that is of immense value to me since I can now care for cats and kittens any time that I see the need. And, if for some reason I don't know what to do, you're still there for me when I call.

From Pixabay

I remember all of the times that I went to your house, bringing kittens or young cats for you to check in and approve...You never turned one away. And, I can't count how many times you told me how much you appreciated me as a foster, telling me that I was good at it. You always lifted me up and made me feel valuable. You may not know it but, every time you lifted me up, you encouraged me to do even better...To be better. You showed me, and continue to show me, what true kindness looks like.

I was shocked when I learned that you'd left Robin's Nest, I understood, but what was I going to do without you? Who was going to care about me and those tiny feral kittens like you did? I missed you, but you didn't really leave my life. You may not have been my foster manager anymore, but you remained my mentor, and became my friend. You're still here for me when I need you and, for that, I thank you. You are a wonderful person and a blessing to my life, and I look forward to the future with you in it. Thank you for everything.

From Pixabay

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Sheila Sellinger, Author

Born and raised in the United States, Sheila Sellinger is a Christian author who normally writes adventure romance and biblical fiction, but is now trying her hand at articles and short fiction as well, in a wide variety of styles/genres.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.