Humans logo

Talking to Myself Was Not Crazy

But it was clever and therepeutic.

By Dr Mehmet YildizPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Talking to Myself Was Not Crazy
Photo by Isi Parente on Unsplash

I solved some of my mental health conditions by talking to myself. Learning about the significance of self-conversations for emotional maturity, mental health, and well-being became a significant achievement in my healing journey.

If you are talking to yourself, you might think you are losing your mind. However, it is far from the truth from my experience and observations. It is a healthy habit for therapeutic and creative pursuits. Being our own therapist is a valuable and sustainable practice for mental health.

Gaining emotional maturity is essential for our mental health and physical well-being. Transferring our emotional intelligence to maturity can be a sustainable approach to transform our mental health.

Our emotions are complex. Sometimes it is tough to identify their origins. This is because our autonomous and cognitive systems trigger them in different languages. We can get some ideas by observing our thoughts using mindfulness techniques.

Nonetheless, feelings generated by the autonomous system can be difficult to understand. They might manifest in complex emotional expressions. Our autonomous nervous system receives a myriad of inputs from multiple organs and biological systems. The autonomous nervous system operates at the unconscious level, so our cognitive system only notices effects rather than direct information.

Sometimes we experience multiple emotions. They become even more challenging when they get entangled. Dealing with knotted emotions can be perplexing and impenetrable to handle.

From my observations of my proteges and personal experience, one of the effective ways to gain emotional maturity was to use self-conversations regularly. This approach served like being our own therapist.

Wearing the hats of multiple personas, we can ask questions and repeat the responses coming to the conscious mind with naturality, empathy, and compassion, based on the tone and intensity of the message.

In the beginning, this activity may sound unnatural, difficult, even scary. However, it can be done effortlessly with regular trials when it becomes a habit. It took me numerous years to get used to it. Nevertheless, I intuitively knew its importance for my mental health and spiritual growth; therefore, I persisted in practicing.

Self-conversations have both tangible and intangible therapeutic values. You can notice the difference after having a few minutes of meaningful, curious, and non-judgemental self-talk with yourself.

The immediate benefit is stress reduction and mental clarity. The long-term cognitive development effect can be seen as intangible, but it is precious for our mental health. More specifically, the practice of self-conversations can significantly increase cognitive reserves and reduce the adverse effects of mental conditions such as dementia.

In addition, I noticed a remarkable increase in my creativity, especially when I started doing it systematically and asking intricate and a wide variety of questions. This approach helped me create innovative and inventive ideas that contributed to my personal development and professional growth.

Another tremendous emotional benefit of methodical self-talk is to deal with boredom effectively. Self-talk helped me turn boring times into more exciting ones, making them more productive. When I start chatting with my childhood self, boredom quickly disappears as I discover fascinating after-effects.

In my case, these effects are typically joyful, but occasionally they create some poignant points too. I don't regret experiencing the negative emotions as noticing and reliving them has evident healing power.

I learned to record my own voice and listen to them several times under different moods at later stages of my life. For example, when I listened to the recorded conversations in a low mood and an uplifting mood created different meanings and gave additional clues that I missed in either mood state.

Like many of my friends, I disliked my own voice initially. It felt unnatural and disturbing. However, after listening to my voice multiple times, I overcame those difficult emotions. They turned to natural with conscious acceptance. I hypothesized that neuro-plasticity could allow me to love my own voice.

More interestingly, after a few years, I started liking my voice gradually. This made remarkable progress in my emotional maturity and spiritual journey. Being able to love my voice had a significant therapeutic effect. It helped me become my own friend by unconditionally accepting myself with my faults and weaknesses. Self-love and self compassion might have extraordinary healing properties.

After this transformation, from disliking to liking my own voice, has also produced better responses from my subconscious mind. When I compared my voice recording from the past with the new ones, I noticed an astonishing difference in outputs. I gained more insights both from therapeutic and creative perspectives.

When I am out especially during my long walks by myself, I use the smartphone to record my voice. I use a voice recording application on my personal computer when at home. Both produce different outputs. I feel more comfortable and obtain more detailed responses at home. Both approaches serve distinctive purposes. Thus, I find both valuable interventions.

I also use voice-to-text conversation software to analyze my words using different data analysis methods such as sentiment analysis. These methods provide a different perspective on my inner world. Analyzing emotions in this way is a powerful capability for emotional maturity.

These tools even allowed me to visualize the emotions in a chart format with various colors. This unique technique was instrumental in seeing the entangled emotions, which was an extremely difficult endeavor for me before.

These simple yet powerful tools also depict valuable insights, such as reflecting emotions raised in specific times of days. For example, my morning, afternoon, and evening emotions showed significant differences. And comparing morning emotions with other morning times showed valuable patterns.

Self-talk nowadays serves me as an emotional monitoring tool. When I feel an intense emotion, whether positive or negative, I quickly have a self-talk session to understand the originating self-construct and record it in my emotion journal.

This information is invaluable to me as they help me make necessary therapeutic alterations for specific cases. It also contributes to my self-healing and saves me time and money.

One of the crucial parts of self-conversations is proactively managing my cognitive and emotional health. For example, when I combined self-talk with dexterous writing, I gained an opportunity to activate both sides of the brain to integrate the left and right lobes for better response.

Besides healing and creativity benefits, regularly using self-conversations and dexterous writing has also postulated valuable language improvement skills. Using these methods, I identified linguistic issues such as grammar or misuse of words unintentionally. It was easier for me to fix these issues when I recalled them via these techniques.

I did not notice my errors previously without using these techniques but kept doing them unknowingly. Moreover, I even made the error's memory stronger in the neural pathways.

Adding self-conversations to my mindfulness toolbox has become an excellent choice producing valuable results both in the short and long term. However, I benefited from adding self-talk to my daily rituals when they became supportive and beneficial habits.

So next time when you find yourself chatting with yourself intimately, remember that you are not a crazy person but an emotionally intelligent and mature individual who takes personal responsibility for mental health and well-being growth.

But, of course, we don't talk to ourselves loudly in public as this practice is still taboo in some cultures. Besides, our higher self reveals its secrets when we interact with it in safe, quiet, and undistracted places.

Thank you for reading my perspectives.

The original version of this article is published on another platform. If you enjoy writing, you can join Vocal as a creator to find your voice and reach out to a broad audience. I also write on Medium and NewsBreak.

how to
1

About the Creator

Dr Mehmet Yildiz

I'm a writer and published author with four decades of content development experience in business, technology, leadership, and health. I work as a postdoctoral researcher and consultant. My background is at https://digitalmehmet.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.