Humans logo

Summer Fun?

Lets get lost.

By M.K JonaePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
2
Vacation Time!

My friend and I decided that it was time to go to Jamaica. We had been speaking about it for a year and we had the funds saved up. It was supposed to be the vacation of our lives.

Me, my friend Kali, and my on and off boyfriend Rye purchased our plane tickets and we hopped on a plane. I was a little bit apprehensive but according to my research the chances of a plane crash were like 2-100, which is nearly nothing, I assumed. It was a normal flight that began with the usual uncomfortable seats and a long ride with a bunch of strangers.

A few hours into the flight, I looked over to my friend and said, “ I cannot wait to get lit”.“ This is going to be our summer” Kali said.

“ It better be, this was expensive,” Rye said. We laughed. Our pockets were definitely going to suffer after this, but I was sure it was going to be worth it.

Then, the plane began to shake softly. The plane took a slight dip downwards. I sat up and clutched the armchair.” Oh no”, I said. My heart jumped up and began to pound. I looked at the passengers and they were muttering among themselves. Rye and Kali were looking at me with a little bit of fear. ‘ Yo, that was crazy, Rye said. I grabbed both of their hands and settled back into my seat. I began to calm myself with deep breaths when the shaking increased. It rattled our belongings and pushed up harshly from side to side. I sat right back up.The plane seemed to be moving with the wind after a few seconds.

When suddenly, the pilot hopped onto the speaker and stated “ Emergency we are going down”. I looked at Rye and Kali in pure fright. Kali clutched me close and let out a shriek as the plane shook hard. The flight attendants announced that we sit back and use the safety equipment. It felt like we were being flung around in the sky. I could hear the sounds of parents attempting to calm down their children. I looked at Rye and he had nothing but despair on his face. We were both shocked. I didn't even have time to think about death before my stomach and the plane descended. Everyone in the plane let out a loud yell as the right side of the plane flew open and tore apart. I closed my eyes tight as everyone ran to the left side where we were seated.

The next thing I can remember is waking up to the numbing feeling of my body smacking the ocean. I'm assuming I passed out and fell out of the plane into the ocean. I woke up in a panic as I felt water coming into my nose. I whipped away at the tide as my clothes dragged me down. It tore away at me, but I continued to force my body upwards until I could breathe. When I reached the surface I studied the group of people attempting to float above the unkind waters. My eyes searched for Rye and Kali when I saw them waving my way. I let out the breath I was holding and paddled my way to Rye and Kali. I looked around at everyone reconnecting with their families and I let out a slight smile. We hugged each other tightly and let out a few tears.

Those seconds felt like a lifetime. I saw that the plane was torn into pieces. Thrown scraggly into the ocean. I was glad that everyone in sight looked okay. Well, as okay as someone after that could be. We luckily landed near an island. We all swam towards the shore. The whole way there I was simply panicking. What if there were cannibals or animals? As we got closer, I noticed that the island was kind of beautiful. It was so bright and looked calm compared to the chaos of today. When we got to land, we got some wood together and worked until the sun went down to set up shelter and gather some food. We were tired, wet, terrified, and dirty.

“ All I want is a bath and some tacos''. I said to Kali as we laid on the shelter. “ Girl, if only” Kali replied. She rolled over and placed the long leaves over her tall body. We spend the rest of the sunlight gathering wood. We found a safe spot and we built a small wooden hut. There were ten people other than me and my friends, so we were able to sleep three people in each little wooden hut. It was not as windy as I thought an island would be. Rye and most of the others seemed to have already drifted into sleep. I wanted to talk about how we were afraid, even though I knew there was no point. That was not going to make us magically arrive back home. My thoughts seemed so loud. At night, the island looked empty. It was so big and wide. The leaves on the trees waved at me as if they were smirking and saying “ Welcome home”. I did not want this to be home.

I was happy to be alive and safe but the sensation of being lost on an island is hard to neglect. All that ran through my mind is how long will I be stuck? Is my family worried? Does anyone know where we are? And more importantly, will I ever get home?

A few suns and moons had passed when a long pointy ship dragged across the ocean lightly. It was the first one we had seen in what seemed like weeks. I assumed that because I had seen the sunset 4 times it had been four miserable days of worrying, being hot, tired, and overall angry.

Excitement shot through my body for the first time in weeks. Everyone smiled and jumped up with excitement as we saw the ship coming straight our way.

”Kali, Rye, we are leaving this place!” I exclaimed! I ran up to the crowd of people and began to celebrate with them. I didn't want to take my eyes off the ship. The light bounced onto the ship, and it looked majestic. I felt so relieved and relaxed all at once. I smiled at the thought of going home, seeing my family, hugging my dog, sleeping in my bed, and making my amazing tacos.

I began to pull myself back into reality when I noticed that Rye and Kali had still not made it to shore and the boat was nearly hitting the sand.

“ Kali… Rye” I yelled towards the forest one more time. I looked back and the people already boarded onto the longboat. There was one person on the boat waving everyone on.

“ Wait for me, I have to find my friends” I yelled at the captain of the boat. The wind was blowing so loud, he didn’t even look my way.

I quickly walked towards the forest, looking anxiously for Rye and Kali. The sun was beginning to slide its way downwards, so I was beginning to panic when I walked further past our shelter.

I heard leaves crunching in the distance. I peeked behind the tree and my breath got caught in my chest. I stepped back when my eyes fixed on Rye and Kali kissing! “ WOW,” I exclaimed.

Kali broke from the kiss and glanced at me, her eyes instantly filled with regret. Rye was not even able to look at me. “ I'm sorry,” Rye said, walking towards me. I scoffed and ran towards the shore. With each step, my eyes filled up with tears. I felt betrayed. Out of all the times, they decide now to be deceitful. What great friends, I thought. I began to try to wipe off my tears before I approached the shore. I stopped running and looked up.

By the time I was able to catch my breath Kali and Rye were standing at my side. Our eyes fixated on the ship on the horizon. It seemed like the boat had slowly slid its way over here, but the boat leaving looked like it was shooting across the island.

“ Great... this cannot be my life,” I said as I walked back towards the shelter. Kali tried to talk to me but I drowned her out. I was now stuck with two fake friends. On an island. After I missed the boat trying to be a good friend! I was so angry. I walked throughout the forest and grabbed my food for the night. The fruit wasn't bad but it still wasn't home. I saw Kali and Rye talking in our old shelter, I placed my food in my new shelter and walked towards them.

“ Why?” I said crossing my arms and giving them a look of disgust.

“ I'm… sorry, we didn’t want this to happen this way. We just began to like each other and wanted to let you know after the trip” Kali said looking at me with tears building up.

“ Yeah, It just kind of happened a few months ago and you and I have been rocky for months now." Rye said.

“ Yes, but she's my best friend. Both of you should have told me. I refuse to be friends with liars” I said. I shot them a look of disgust.

I shook my head and walked back to my shelter. There was nothing left to say.

I laid on my shelter and looked at the dark sky. I wasn’t sad about Rye, he was a nice guy. I just know he wasn't for me because the guy for me wouldn't go for my friend. Even though I couldn't stand the thought of Kali and Rye at the moment, I felt so lonely again. I yearned for that feeling before the boat shot away from sight. More sunsets on the Island did not sound amazing at all.

I managed to survive the night by daydreaming once again about the ship on the horizon approaching to save me.

I barely paid attention to Rye and Kali, I knew that I would make new friends once I got back home. I spent most of my days on the island waiting for that boat to come back and save me. I pretend that the boat never left and I am simply sailing along on the boat waiting to get home.

travel
2

About the Creator

M.K Jonae

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.