Humans logo

Begin Again

It was the beginning of something lovely or special whichever one is better <3

By M.K JonaePublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Image from Istock photos

I took a deep breath. My therapist told me that breathing exercises would help me not want to smoke as much. I have been trying to quit, which has been a real struggle. As soon as I got in, I knew I would need a drink. Preferably the strongest tequila they have.

I watched the guests get out of their fancy cars. I sighed at my 95’ Toyota corolla. The car was given to me after my restless divorce a year ago from today.

The guests held hands with their loved ones and plastered million-dollar smiles. Following behind most of them were their children. They seemed excellently put together. No food was on their childish faces. They walked way more gracefully than I could manage.

I sighed while I laid my head on the steering wheel. I thought I was ready for this. I continued to watch more Tesla's, Mercedes, and blue Porsche's pull into the large venue parking lot. I fixed my lipstick for the final time. Puckering and pulling at everything that seemed out of place. Mostly killing time. I was dreadfully preparing for the restless memories engraved into my mind.

When I closed my mirror, I saw a Man.

He looked different from everyone here. His shirt certainly never saw an iron. His walk was carefree and buoyant.

\

Most shockingly, he was riding on a two-seater bike. Yes, he pulled into the small bike rake in the corner and picked up his daughter. He gave her a spin and placed her gently on the ground.

Her dress was extravagant. It had lively colors and she would not stand still long enough to brush her hair. It made me giggle, the first one I let out in a couple of months. I watched the put-together people glaring at him and laughing. I shot at them annoyed looks through my car window.

I finally got out of the car after I convinced myself to run to the drinks asap. Ugh, I was only coming because it was my favorite Aunt's wedding. Everyone reminded me of it every day so, I had no excuse. I know they want to make sure I am okay, but I would rather be at home.

I walked to the bar and grabbed a couple of shots. The wedding was humongous. There had to have been around 400 people present. I was sure more people were going to roll in. They had a wide bar filled with top-tier alcohol. It was an outdoor wedding which was not my taste, but I could see the appeal.

My family came over with hugs and kisses. They looked at me with sad eyes. As to say, I know you do not want to be here.

When I got seated, images of my wedding ran into the front of my mind. I fought my tears as I thought about how the hell I got here.

I had no idea it would end, who would?

Where were the signs that he didn't love me anymore?

Before my thoughts continued, I grabbed a few shots then, I wobbled my way back to my seat.

“Hi, you look stunning I couldn’t take my eyes off you.” I turned my head as gracefully as I could to say thank you.

When I saw it was the man from earlier. I stared in awe at his gorgeous tall frame. I could almost see his abs through his thin shirt. His hair was short and very tasteful.

“ Hi, thank you. You are so fine." I said, instantly regretted it. Those shots were kicking in fast.

He let out the sexiest chuckle I have ever heard someone muster up. We were stuck smiling at each other for a few seconds when he spoke again.

“ My apologies, my name is Sam can I know your name?” He asked politely. Wow, what manners! Most guys can never spit game, I exclaimed to myself.

“Yeah, of course, My name is Sienna, my aunt is the bride,” I said. I flipped my hair a little and puckering up my lips.

“ Okay, beautiful, I am a friend of the groom. Just here to support. We both work at the same dental office”, he did not break eye contact one time. It was extremely enticing.

“ I saw you in the parking lot, where's your beautiful daughter and her Mom?” I was fishing for some information.

This is only going to be a hookup. I just need a distraction to get through these next few hours…

“ No,... Her Mom, my ex-wife is dead” He said. The light left his eyes.

“ We had it all. The house, car... no kids, but good jobs and we… I was in love. I guess he may have been until he just wasn't. We were unable to have kids and during our depression episode…He found himself a lovely woman, Katherine."

I tried my hardest to hide my disgust.

"Katherine is a doctor and very fertile." I grabbed the bottle and took a huge swig. He walked behind me and placed his hands on my hips. He pulled me close and held me.

It felt wonderful to be in his muscular arms. When we left, we rode back on his adorable bike.

“ I'm never going to lose this spot. Do you see that Pear tree? That's how I'll know how to come back. This is our spot.” We stared at the beautiful trees and plants surrounding the road.

Before the sun went down, we made it back to the Wedding party.

Beth, you okay? Sam asked gently.

“ Yes Daddy, can you see me up here?” Beth replied.

I looked at her youthful smile as she sat on the lovely branch of a pear tree. It would be nice if it could just be us three. I wondered if that would be enough.

Image from istockphotos

We sat and continued to get to know each other.

We grabbed a piece of Chocolate cake and I tried to hold onto this moment. I couldn't imagine spending this dreadful day with anyone else.

" You got something right there," I licked off the slab of chocolate placed carefully on his nose. He threw his head back and let out a beautiful chuckle. His laugh was so contagious. I leaned in and he quickly followed.

Then he kissed my lips softly. I was shocked, then I couldn't stop smiling.

I learned that he was a Dentist and lived nearby. He met his ex-wife because she was his receptionist, very corny right? Having Bethany was beautiful. He liked that she made him want to enjoy life more, love more, and just freaking live. He missed her every day but, he wanted to fulfill his precious mantras. He ranted about self-care and random things like why the sun looks funny or how products are made.

I could listen to him talk every day of my life.

He walked me to my car while Beth said goodbye to her friends.

“ I had the best time getting to know you… I thought this wedding was going to be a beautiful tragedy. With you here it felt beautiful” He shot me a contagious smile.

“ You are too sweet! I'm still not sure if you are real?" I said poking him.

“ I had an amazing time with you and Beth. I'll be in town for a week. We should see each other again, yeah?” I avoided his beautiful eyes preparing for whatever answer he replied.

“ Yeah gorgeous, we have to make it happen. I would be crazy to decline such a lovely lady” He said.

My cheeks lit up and spread wide. He put my number in his phone and I promised I’d text him when I got home safe.

Image from istock photos

******** Six years later ******

" Are you ready? You've has been back here for hours" My cousin Cindy said slightly annoyed.

" I will take my time, this time is the last time," I took in heavy breaths to calm my mind.

"We know, but we also know the sun is going to go down soon." She said while cleaning up my messy area.

I heard a knock at the door. When I opened it, there was a brown wrangled paper bag. Why would someone wrap a gift in basic bland packaging? I took a seat and unwrapped the package. I was highly annoyed to see the box contained my former wedding rings. This is a sick joke, I thought to myself.

I thought about what I would do if Justin showed up. Of course, I still mourned our love, but I love what I have.

I embrace this love because it is genuine. He has always chosen me simply because I am me. Nothing is artificial here or perfect, just pure love.

I left the rings next to the vows I wrote and prepared to walk down the aisle.

"Sienna it is finally showtime," My father said accordingly.

He grabbed my hand and we started to walk on the path Beth set for us.

I took my time on this walk. I looked to each side of the Ailes. I loved that we both wanted something small and intimate with a lot of alcohol. Free alcohol is the best thing about weddings right?

I loved that Sam would glance at me then at the scenery. He looked intoxicating. I guess this is what drunk in love means?

Sam and I decided to complete our Vows at our spot. He loved nature and I loved him.

Hi, I said staring into my future husband's luxurious eyes.

Hi, He said, chuckling. He pulled my veil back and kissed me under the new pear tree we planted elegantly below the sun.

***********************

Written by Kya.Jonae

love
Like

About the Creator

M.K Jonae

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.