Humans logo

Sullen Surly Sully

Sully Suffering from His own Surliness

By Cam RascoePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Surly Sully Suffering a Loss

Randal Park was a talented young football player, starter on varsity since the end of his freshman season. The boy was broad and strong. The players on the team said he was corn fed making him so massive at a young age. Randal worked hard in the gym, lifting with most of the upperclassmen on the team. The fourteen year-old had the second highest bench press of all the players. He was an awesome left offensive tackle and nose guard.

Randal’s mama was a single parent working two, sometimes three jobs to keep a roof over their heads and bread on the table for Randal and his younger siblings. With all of her hard work, it was never quite enough. So, Randal being the oldest, went to work at a young age. He was a farm hand most of the time, digging, planting milking and mucking. The boy took on his mother’s work ethic and diligence. His work sometimes interfered with his football schedule, especially during the two-a-day summer practice schedule. Most of the coaching staff knew and understood his plight. They allowed him to miss sometimes in order to work to help his family. They admired young Randal’s maturity and responsibility at such a young age.

After Randal’s sophomore year, the head coach of his high school’s football team retired and most of his staff took coaching jobs at other institutions. In came a new administration and coaching staff. They were headed by a young hot head named Carol Sullivan. He was a hard nosed coach from Polk County who didn’t take any mess from his players or their parents for that matter. It was always his way or the highway and he made sure everyone knew it. Coach Sullivan or Sully as he was called was known to berate players and assistant coaches alike.

When Sully got word that the starting left tackle he inherited was possibly going to miss some mornings of summer practice; he called him into his office for a little chat.

“Please son, have a seat.”

Randal did as he was told.

“So I understand that you are a hell of a left tackle and you play a little D-line too. Do you like playing here son?”

Randal cleared his throat before answering meekly.

“Yes sir.”

Sully reared back in his chair and sucked his teeth as he twirled a toothpick around in his mouth.

“Good, good. Well if you’re going to play here son I am going to need you to be at every practice and meeting, understand?”

The look on young Randal’s face changed. He knew he was going to have a problem with his new coach. Randal spoke up.

“But coach I need to work in the mornings to help my mama out.”

Sully was single minded and unsympathetic.

“So we all have responsibilities and mine is to this football program. If you want to be a part of it, you’ll find your way to practice.”

“But if I don’t work, the bills might not get paid.”

“Well it looks like you’ve got a decision to make.”

Randal got frustrated with his coach’s insensitivity. He tried to plead his case to Sully but the man wouldn’t bend.

“All of the coaches in the past have understood and they let me play anyway. I don’t understand why…”

Sully interrupted the boy raising his voice to assert his authority.

“Well son those coaches are gone and this is my show now! I call the shots and I say all of my players come to practice or they don’t play. No exceptions!”

“But coach.”

“I’m done with this conversation. Go talk to your mama and figure something out. If you can’t practice, you may as well turn your pads in now!”

Randal’s heart sank. He loved playing football and it seemed that this Sully was going to rob him of his dream. As he rose from that chair and exited the coaches’ office he knew that it was over. That night the tough boy cried after explaining to his mother that his football career was over. She apologized to her son. His mother knew just how much her son loved playing and how hard he worked to be the best he could be. Randal didn’t blame his mother, he loved her. He understood that she needed his help and he was just happy that he could provide it. His anger was reserved for the jerk of a coach that snatched his athletic career form him for no greater reason than to assert his control and power.

Through the years Randal’s work ethic and dedication served him well in life. He put himself through college and pursued a career in education. He became the youngest high school administrator in his county. Randal devoted his life to helping the children of his community. He was well respected and well loved. Randal was charged with hiring a new junior varsity football coach. There were more than a few coaches and some of them had checkered pasts. One in particular raised an eyebrow for Randal.

This coach had been suspended twice in the past for abusive language and behavior towards players and administrators. He had been tossed out of eight games over the previous twelve seasons for verbally abusing officials on the field. Randal didn’t want a wild card in his program, around his kids but this guy he just had to call in for an interview. The aspiring coach entered his office and took a seat on his command.

“So tell me about yourself Mr. … ah Sullivan.”

“You can just call me Sully if you want.

“Okay Sully, tell me about yourself.”

“Well, I’ve been coaching for twenty-five years. I started in Pop Warner and eventually I made it up to high school. I’ve won two district and three conference championships over my long career coaching this game. I am very passionate about it and unfortunately it has gotten me into hot water a time or two.”

Randal looked through the man’s file while listening to him.

“Yes, I see here a few suspensions and ejections. That’s a little more than just passion for the game.”

Sully tried to quickly explain away his transgressions but Randal knew he was full of it. Still, he listened intently to the man’s weak excuses.

“You know some of these refs think they’re God. You can’t question them without them trying to toss you out of the game. A lot of these kids are mama’s boys too. Mama come in and say my baby don’t play enough and then she expects me to change my game plan to accommodate her. When she don’t get her way she goes to the athletic director and vice principal. They call me in and we get into it because I run my team, not some twerp behind a desk.”

Sully knew that he had just put his foot in his mouth.

“Really, twerp behind the desk, you mean like me?”

“No, no sir what I meant was…”

“Let’s just cut to the chase Mr. Sullivan. You haven’t changed much over the years, have you? It’s still all about you, the tough guy, throwing his weight around. Damn the kids, parents, administrators and officials. You just want the win, at any cost. The only thing that matters is that you get your win.”

Sully was taken aback. How could this guy that he just met say theses things about him?

“Wait a minute Mr. Park. I think you have got me all wrong.”

“No sir, I’ve got you all right. I know that you are bad for youth sports and I also know that you have no business coaching, teaching or mentoring children. Your presence has been a destructive one in many young lives. You don’t remember me do you Carol?”

A puzzled look covered Sully’s face.

“You don’t remember me but I certainly remember you Carol. I was a kid that had to work to help support my family and you stole my dream of playing high school football because of it, classy. Way to look out for the kids coach! I thought I would still be objective and bring you in for an interview nonetheless, everyone can change right? Apparently not you, it seems you’ve only gotten worse. So you will not be hired today or any other day in this or any of the surrounding counties. People are tired of your act and so am I. I will be reaching out to my colleagues in Orange, Seminole, Osceola, Polk, Volusia, Lake, Hillsboro, Brevard and Marion County. Most of them know about you and your history but I will be there to make sure it stays fresh in their memories.”

Sully now showed his true colors. He let his fury out.

“So you little chicken shit you’re going to try to black ball me all because I kicked you off my team almost twenty years ago? You’re what’s wrong with sports and all the other weak mama’s boys who can’t hack it! I ought kick your ass!”

Sully took a swing at Randal while he was seated. Randal pushed back from his desk then quickly stood offering Sully a one two combo to the nose and throat. Sully’s broken nose gushed blood and his airway swelled narrowing, making it difficult for him to breath. Randal reached down and pressed his intercom asking for security to be sent into his office and for someone to call the police. Then he turned his attention back to the now disgraced Sully.

“You know I didn’t want revenge on you or to harm you in any way. I was actually hoping that you had changed. I was hoping that I would see something in you that would restore my faith in humanity. No matter what kind of jerk you are, you can always change for the better. But you sir, haven’t changed and also you’re just a bunch of hot air because you certainly can’t fight. Now please get your sorry surely ass out of my office Sully. Oh, and good luck finding a coaching job after this.”

Just then security walked into the office and helped Sully out of the Randal’s office. The nurse came in to put ice on Randal’s hands and then attend to the sullen Sully’s injuries. Within minutes the Orange County Sheriffs came to take statements and arrest Sully. Randal watched out of his window as the police car pulled off with Sully in the back seat. He thought out loud to himself.

“Now that’s karma, later Sully.”

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Cam Rascoe

Author Cam Rascoe born Cameron Marquee Rascoe on August 3rd 1973 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania is a multi talented artist utilizing his God given gifts to educate, entertain and inspire his fellow man.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.