Humans logo

Storm of the Century

Ominous circumstances

By Laura DvoranPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Storm of the Century
Photo by v2osk on Unsplash

Life on a tiny island has its privileges and its shortcomings. Time seems to stand still when the weather is calm and the skies are a crystal blue with tiny, puffy white clouds scattered throughout. Days like that are special and ones not to be taken for granted.

The skies have always fascinated me even when I was much younger. I could sit outside for hours on an old comfy, overstuffed chair with a cold drink and a good book. I would sit and contemplate what I was reading and at times would take a break and look around at the wonderous sky.

When the days turned colder and the time spent outdoors was getting fewer and fewer, I would bring a blanket outside with me and huddle underneath and gaze longingly above. I wanted to explore the heavens and had brought out an old telescope that had been in the family for a very long time. At night, especially, I would love gazing at the beautiful stars on warm summer nights and taught myself where to look for the constellations.

I was fortunate enough to live simply on this little island with less than 100 people. It was comforting that everyone was like family to me and I knew that I could reach out at anytime for anything. I have had a very long and very successful career as a therapist and my favorite part of my job was working with children and animals.

Today seemed different, I had a gut feeling that things were going to change and the pressure in the air was very still. I woke up earlier than normal, around 6 am and I could not hear a sound outside my bedroom window. Normally, the birds are chirping and the trees might be swaying due to the wind, but no, that didn't happen.

I got out of my bed to look outside and was startled by what I saw! I had been watching the news the night before and the prediction that a storm was brewing and on the horizon was imminent. I brace myself for such situations, but living on a small island makes it a challenge.

I noticed that the skies were already gray in some areas and almost black in others. It was a sight to behold for sure. I lived alone with only my 2 cats and 2 dogs whom I loved dearly. I wanted to go check on them to make sure they were fed and comforted as I knew that the storm scared all of them. I had to be strong for them.

After they were all fed and pampered, I turned on my portable radio as it appeared that the lights were starting to flicker and I feared that I would lose my electricity. I also went around and lit candles throughout the house for light. I quickly ate breakfast, a bowl of cereal, toast and coffee and went to sit near the radio in the living room.

I pulled out my phone and started texting a few close friends and wondered how they were. I heard back from my friend, Sue who said it was starting to rain and the wind was picking up. She had already gotten her home safe proofed and was sitting with a few close friends riding the storm out. I knew of people over the years who had parties to get through this together instead of fearing for ones life on their own.

I didn't plan to leave my animals and wanted to be there for them and I knew that this could turn deadly in a heartbeat. I had been avidly listening to the weather station on the radio and they had predicted the "Storm of the Century". The epic proportions they were predicting were unheard of. They calculated that when the storm would eventually hit would be more towards the afternoon with such intensity that it could bring hail and even a change of color to the skies.

I was really doubting the time frame as things seemed to be speeding up and the weather waits for no man. I was prepared and was sitting huddled together with my cats and dogs when all of a sudden the rains increased and there was thunder and lightening. I then heard pounding on the roof and the window panes were being hit by pieces of hail that as I gazed out seemed to be almost the size of a quarter. I was nervous but knew I had my faith and would make this one to remember.

The storm ranged on for hours and it was finally coming upon 4pm when the rain slowed and the hail stopped and the skies took on the most brilliant shades of green I have ever witnessed. I ran for my camera and starting taking picture for my scrapbook. I have been taking photos of the skies for a long time and knew this would be one I would always recall.

I was relieved that it seemed that things were going to be alright and I survived a tremendous storm that was feared by many and only the brave remained and lived to tell a tale of an ominous night for many generations to come.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Laura Dvoran

Lover of life, animals and sunsets. Passion for reading and writing and want to do it full time. Have had short stories published, but yearning for more in the thing called Life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.