Humans logo

Something you said

When it doesn't matter who's right.

By Marmik SharmaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Something you said
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

So, recently my friend texted me. It was something about an incident that happened around 4 years ago give or take. What's astonishing is the fact that the thing turned out to be very different from what I expected or at least remembered. Probably because I was unaware of few things on different levels. It's about how your words can mean a lot of things, how they're misinterpreted and used against you and the aftermath, how people put fuel in the fire.

Lemme take you back to when I was in 12th. Nerdy me doing some maths. Now there was this girl, going in and out of the classroom probably waiting for the teacher to come or something I don't know. The only mistake a misophonic me (by the way misophonia is a real disorder) made is that I called her out because she was literally dragging her shoes on the floor and at this point, I just couldn't take it.

I asked her to walk properly and that if her feet were heavy or something. If I quote that in Hindi "Arre peir ragad k q chal rhi hai, peir bhari hein kya?". If you don't get it just like I didn't at that time, apparently "Peir bhaari hona" is an idiom used for a pregnant lady.

It shouldn't be that hard to imagine what happened after that. But, fun fact: To me, it was nothing because I obviously didn't mean that, I just wanted her to walk properly and also I didn't know what that stupid idiom even meant.

It's so funny, I didn't even know that she had complained to the teachers because from my perspective I'm totally unaware that I've done something supposedly wrong. A lot of drama happened, teachers all around- lot's of accusations and whatnot, but yeah things got settled surprising but they understood. Never talked to girls properly from that day onwards that's for sure.

Now, back to the present. My friend told me that she and that girl talked recently and she was still very upset about what happened. Apparently, she mistook all that for body shaming and few other things. It got stuck in my mind, hell I got exasperated because I thought I was being blamed, still.

But then, I realised that it really doesn't matter if I was right or not, what actually matters is what kind of a person I am. And if my apology could help someone in a way I would do it gladly (to be honest only when it doesn't matter who is on the right, I'm not perfect).

So, I just took her number and texted her with an apology, expecting nothing not even a reply. I'm glad she replied though. She forgave me of course it was never about that, but what she told me pinched me somewhere. Apparently, somehow that incident made people question her character, calling her a slut? Super absurd.

I just can't wrap my head around this, like how could that honest mistake turned into such a blunder? I would have done anything to stop that from happening, I would have. This is just so sad.

I'm not going to talk about the credibility of what was told to me, I just have questions:

Why is it so hard to believe that a guy can be innocent when a girl is involved?

Why even an obvious rumour about a girl is believed to be true?

Why do people have to make something bad out of everything?

It is exhausting.

If you like what I write send me gifts maybe? Always happy to receive feedback.

satire
Like

About the Creator

Marmik Sharma

An Engineering student at NIT-H, yes we engineers are everywhere.

Anyway, I write some poetry more like raps, to be honest.

Started this for technical stuff but I think that can wait. There are few things I want to let out.

Piece of my mind

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.