Humans logo

SOME.

An All Star Story

By Billy The KidPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1
"This is how I prefer things now, & I will never grow tired of them."

A long while ago, I was informed by someone that I wasn't ready for the real life here on Planet Earth. They said to me that'd it'd sweep me down into the ground. I mean, look. I know I'm not the most acute appliance in the toolbox of life, but I couldn't help myself. She was staring at me, dumbfounded that I'd even approached her. She called me a loser, walked away, & that was that. I don't want to say that this one moment defined my life or anything, but it did stick with me, for sure.

Years went by, & they're still rolling on by. With the passage of time, I've started to understand what she was saying a bit. I'm beginning to see more & more that the world wants me to feed into its societal norms, and for a long time, I've complied. I've planted my feet firmly on the pavement every day, & then sprinted full-speed ahead, chasing my dreams while still trying to follow the "rules." How could I experience a life in which I'm reaching for all of the stars, for the sole purpose of my own legacy, my own health, entertainment, & pleasure, while playing it so safe under their restrictions? It's always felt like this was the only way, but it's not.

And yet, the more knowledge I gain on all of these matters, the more stupid I become. "Man, am I loser?" I sometimes think to myself. There's an incredible amount of sights out there I could see, an incredible amount of activities I could partake in, so why do I sit here instead, obeying their every law? I'm being held back from the goals I claim that I'm working towards, but no...no longer.

I will not sit here in ignorance of what could be if I don't get out there. I will not smolder out when I could be burning brightly for the world to see. I will walk the byroad to glory & shatter the normal framework of my life thus far, & then piece everything back together in my own way, not theirs.

After years of shivering in the depths of my icy soul here, people kept telling me it would only become more & more chilled. They reiterated constantly, that no matter how warm & secure I would fool myself into believing this was the forever norm, with time & age, I would inevitably freeze to death from the ever-growing frigid nature of this dark plane of existence. We will all freeze to death, they'd say, that things would never change.

I watch the news though. That's sure to warm things up, right? The news never lies, right? Wrong. They tell us it's all gonna be okay, despite all of the inconsistencies & false truths they wanna feed us. We think we're safe in that regard, but we're not. It's a lose-lose situation. The frozen bodies of liquid we move upon are slowly deteriorating by the minute. Why not, again, seize every moment while it lasts in your own way & take advantage of every stroke in the rising oceans you can get? As I am opening my eyes, you need to do the same, & not let them stop you from taking your own path that's astray from theirs. My planet is burning. Our planet. Sound familiar? Just have fun while it lasts. I know I will. This is how I prefer things now, & I will never grow tired of them.

My story is mine, & my own, but I am here, sharing with you this part of my story as I am, to hopefully convince you to write your own chapters as I now do instead of being a slave to the pens that others are holding. I am not a loser. I will not freeze to death. I will not follow their rules. I will not give into their lies. From now on, I am legend. I will get out there & be at leisure. From now on, I am a trembling sensation that will put on the performance of a lifetime no matter where I go, & I shall reap the benefits of my hard work. For all that shimmers down on me from above is more-than-deserved after a lifetime of me feeling like I'm not enough. It's only with this brightness, like a giant heavenly body, that I will, again, shine far across the skies, lighting up the darkness to achieve my own greatness.

I will strive every day in my adventures to not only make this change within myself, but to positively infect the others of this world who are still too blind to see that we need to evolve. They need injected with that same happiness & revelation that I was given. They need to gain the same perspective I have on the expectations of life as we know it going forward. Whether it starts out small by giving someone else a little extra cash that I can spare for their travels, or even just a tiny little motivational speech here & there, I will ensure that the world gets the same fill-up of inspiration that I did, that YOU get it. Now, I'm not gonna go around calling anyone a loser like that girl did to me in the harshest of ways. Again, that one moment alone doesn't define who I am, but I will see to it that the people of this Earth realize, through that one moment, & many moments like it combined, that we all need make the effort to rise above the bad that we become, & to turn into the good that we all are inherently born with. We must take these steps towards our better futures,... our temporary futures.

A wise man once said, "This is the way the world ends. Not with a bang, but a whimper." I disagree. I will spend my final moments, not with a whimper, but a whistle, as I realize all of my potential in my own right, while spreading that idea of self-love & care with others, thus hopefully unifying us all in one great loving & fun life, as we push on past the scary "normalities" & embrace all that is upbeat & abnormally hopeful together. I know not everyone is so bitter, angry, or evil enough to need such fixing. I know not everyone thinks the same way I do. I know that only some of us out there believe in such a lifetime of love & excitement without conforming to some communal routine.

However, it is this journey I live, this mission of spreading the love & forgetting the hate, that makes me who I am in life. This refusal of being controlled into an eternity of blind misery is what makes me feel like I'm not the loser she said I was. I'm a weirdo who does his own thing with the people I love who do the same thing for themselves, for me, & for each other. This is what makes me a somebody. This is what makes me feel at ease. This is why I'm here. I close my eyes, surrounded by those who truly care about me, all of us strange in our own ways, living our best lives. And, you know what? So what if we get called losers for being this way? This is it. This is us. With a sigh of relief. I think to myself, "What comes next? I don't know. But, right now, I'm home."

humanity
1

About the Creator

Billy The Kid

Hey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.