Humans logo

Social Sunday Pt. 1

Classism, Racism, is there really a group thing or a people thing?

By Ugochukwu ObataPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Well, well hello there my readers/fan family. We are back for another round of self care and drama filled madness. Our most important subject or subjects focus mainly on racism and classism. These are two aspects of society that most people choose to either forget or ignore for the most part. The crazy thing is most people would say it only involves a certain race or age demographics when in reality, it depends on the individual. For instance, there is forty-four year old veteran from the marines ,who since I have met, sits in one spot on my couch with no remorse for how pitiful he really looks. There is no effort or remorse, but within this man there is multiple things affecting him unlike my ethnicity which is African-American. He is a Irish man grown into a broken home with a even bigger controversy going on in the entire family. He is of course like most white Americans privileged to the the bone and definitely thinks he understands the negro struggle because he procreated with one. PSA for all of my white followers, stop doing this, it is the biggest insult to my culture ever especially if you know nothing, then you just look racist. Try to understand by asking questions, do not try to please a crowd with ignorance. On another note, he collects checks from the government and has the insides of a person with stage 4 cancer damn near. There is only so much empathy a person can have, but when you are too proud for help, what’s the use? Now here is where the classism gets funny because not only did he take out eight thousand dollars from his 401k and waste it, he also tried to flex his muscle around the house and state he was taking care of everything including his mom. He had to make such a huge impression on his nephew that he forgot about his responsibilities, his health, and his mom’s care. It was so bad to the point that my mulatto fiancé had to cry to doctors about her condition. The worst part is now he is a hermit sitting in my couch with envy and jealousy while I actually care about the guy and his well-being. Again I have told him these things even told him to think about his grandson, but instead he chooses to use his white privileged and pay me like $150 every week for a $1200 a month home. It is cool except rent is due on fucking the first of the month. The sad part is that it’s not just his skin color, but his mindset. It is not something that only white people do, but all different races have this guy and many others representing them. Money and skin color should not classify a person status instead it should be a milestone to get better. We need to uplift each other regardless of our setbacks. It’s literally the only reason I have not kicked him out, but I do have a plan and I am going to push him to get better regardless if he dislikes me “impurifying” his family lineage. People need to stop looking at status as a means to go through society that is already depressed. There is still hope for the future, but we must start within self; for example, my fellow African Americans, let’s contribute to each other’s wealth, make something worth needed to build our prominent legacy more. We can own the world if we tried hard enough. Y’all let me know what you think follow me on IG @luckyknows6

advice
Like

About the Creator

Ugochukwu Obata

Writing is a passion of mine and I take it very seriously. I’ve been involved with writing lyrics for artist for five years and doing essays for college students for eight years. I’m pretty experienced in proofreading so yea.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.