Humans logo

Social Media is ruining our lives.

There are too many social media platforms and it's taking over our ability to think.

By Alexis KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Social Media is ruining our lives.
Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

I’ve been waiting for this for years now and now I am finally ready to give it up even though I deleted Instagram and made another one only for positive platforms it’s still a pain. Just like so many of us, I have been hiding underneath social media for years it has controlled my thoughts, the way I view myself, relationships, and my mental health. I know social media can be good but in my opinion, it’s more bad than good, I mean in all honestly how many “good” things do you see versus the bad? Social media was made for one reason and that was to take us away from reality and glue us to a world that doesn’t even exist. I recommend watching the social dilemma on Netflix if you haven’t already. Social Media is bad for the soul because it doesn't nourish us, it stripes away from who we are. If it were up to me, I would only let the world have access to it for only maybe 3-4 days out of the week, but we all know that’s not going to happen, it makes too much money.

I’m going to start with my ladies first, how many of you think or thought that you were ugly, too fat, too skinny, hair not long enough because you weren’t validated enough on Instagram or Snapchat better yet Facebook? Me! This one was a huge one for me, I spent years of my life trying to get the most likes, trying to follow the hottest boys, or even sometimes posting something I knew that most people were going to like, long story short it never worked so I always thought I was never that “it” girl. For my fellas out there how many of you are or is validated by how much money you post, how many girl’s dm’s you are in, the chains and the jewelry or just being popular? Ask yourselves this, who are you outside of all that? Would you even amount to anything?Being on our phones all-day ruins are romantic relationships, just like the picture above we don't pay attention to each other or listen to each other for that matter, it keeps away from the true value of what we have for each other. Social Media has made me mentally sick on the inside and has taken me away from who I am. I always wonder who would I be if I didn’t spend my school years always on my phone or hiding behind it, where would I be if things weren’t allowed on our phones. Being so caught up in what everybody else thinks, what everybody else is doing, and how everybody living can be a big problem at least for now it is for me.

I know some people would argue with me and say that I don’t love myself enough or letting what other people do influence me is my responsibility and hey maybe it is. When there are too many distractions though that could be a problem as well, who hasn't let social media influence them? You'll be lying of you said that you haven't. Another form of self-love could be staying away from it for a while or just entirely deleting it as well I mean it would completely be up to you. congratulations if you chose to do so, it's okay if you haven't either. BUT remember If you are going to keep Social Media follow encouraging pages, limit your screen time, and make sure you are happy in actual life also.

With Love, 🖤

Alexis

social media
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.