Humans logo

So how do we find enlightenment?

If you’re reading this maybe you’re looking for happiness.

By Christopher HarveyPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
So how do we find enlightenment?
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

So, how do we find enlightenment? Better yet, how do we find something important? I've always been a fan of Alan Watts. He's helped me through so many things but I think I finally understand what he is talking about. Action is the only thing that makes me, us happy. Let's view it all as a game, work, or play. Let's live in the moment. How corny is that comment? Well, that's what all the gurus are preaching.

If you're reading this maybe you're looking for happiness or a sense of purpose. That's funny. Why would you find that here or in any book? Let me tell you something I find happiness in cleaning my house ... Is that crazy. Maybe...

By Emily Morter on Unsplash

I recently had a kid. 

That dude is the most amazing thing that I have ever experienced. Everything I do now is for him. That is how you find happiness... I believe it.

I was reading a book on hermetics and when I read that having a child is the ultimate contribution and you may be punished for not doing it, I decided to have a child. Did the book have an influence or did I want to after 40 years of thinking I'm better off without a child? Who knows?

By Senjuti Kundu on Unsplash

I will tell you this having a child is the hardest thing and the most zen thing I have ever done. He's beautiful and is everything I could imagine I could want in life. Maybe a child is not for you but for me, he is the love of my life and has completed me.

By Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

Now don't get me wrong. I also get a sense of Zen from many other things. Let me give you a few examples so you can use one. I honestly think you need to find your own but here we go anyway.

By Filip Urban on Unsplash

Gardening... 

I have never liked plants but now that I'm older I find a place of peace in growing and caring for them. Instead of flowers, I like a plant that produces fruits or vegetables. A flower garden helps, in my wife's opinion, because that's what she likes.

By charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

Take care of an animal.

Most people can relate to this one. Take care of an animal. I have two dogs that completely depend on me and it always fills me with love knowing that my dogs completely rely on me and love me. They may as well be my child. I love my dogs.

Try just working around your house.

Maybe you can try just working around your house. Here are a few things I'm about Todo. I'm going to build a concrete barrier around my wife's flower garden so it's easier to weed-eat it. I also plan on making a step for my deck and a walkway. For me simply getting dirty and working hard for myself is a way to lose myself in the moment.

By Redd F on Unsplash

Last but not least

Last but not least, and yes this one is controversial. Try hunting and fishing. If you're a meat eater then why not supply your own food like you would in a garden? When I'm in the woods, I am in a place of peace that can't be explained. If I get a dear that is an experience that can only be experienced by well, experiencing it. It's life-changing. If you go fishing you have an endless supply of food and it's a very Zen moment that you lose yourself in rather if you catch something or not.

By Laura College on Unsplash

It's all about living in the moment. Paint, write a song, build something or just take care of something. If you do things for the right reasons with the correct intent then you always find happiness.

Thank you for reading!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Christopher Harvey

I’m a long-time writer and musician. I love telling stories and writing poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.