Humans logo

Should We Make Fun of Flat-Earthers?

Spoiler alert. The answer is no.

By Christopher HarveyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Should We Make Fun of Flat-Earthers?
Photo by Elena Mozhvilo on Unsplash

Let me tell you a story that I know you are not going to believe. Why would you? It goes against everything that you have been programmed to accept. Knowing that I still want to tell you.

The year was around 1988. I’m doing my best to put together the date because I was a child. I think I was around 6 or 7. Remembering how old I was is the least important part of this story because all that matters is that I was a very young child. All I remember about that age is that I was open to anything. My mind was a learning machine and my imagination knew no bounds. Let me assure you though what I experienced was not my imagination. It happened rather you believe it or not.

I got up that morning and all the adults were asleep so I took it upon myself to go to the playground and try and find some friends to help me pass the time. When I got to the playground it was occupied by 5 or 6 kids and we did what kids are great at. We accepted from the get-go that we have all know each other as best friends, first time meeting or not. We just lived in the moment.

The morning went on and I did something that was out of the norm for my character. I was picking on this one kid and decided to throw his toy truck across the yard. I gave it all I had and just like that it was gone. Naturally, the kid starting crying, and since this was out of my character I felt bad immediately.

Some other kids and I spent what seemed like 30 minutes looking for his toy, but we could not find it. I didn’t want to give up mainly because I was the one who lost it, to begin with.

Another kid for whatever reason had a cigar box that he was playing with and in my child-like state of mind I came up with an idea that I never doubted would work. Not even for a moment.

I took the box and told the kid that I was going to get his toy back. I was going to do some magic. I waved my hand over it and said at the time the only magic words I could think of. “Abracadabra.” I opened the box. To this day, thinking about this gives me chills because when I opened the box the kid's toy was in it.

It was weird at that moment even for kids. I handed him his toy while we all sat silently and one by one without saying a word we all walked away and went home. To this day I have no clue how or why that worked, but it did. Do I expect you to believe me? The simple answer is no.

Trust Me. This All Ties Into The Flat-Earth Theory.

First off, I would like to start out by stating that I am not a flat-earther. This article could have been called why you shouldn’t make fun of conspiracy theorists but it seems as if flat-earthers are the easiest target. Everyone has the right to think whatever they choose to and I should be able to end the article here but we live in a hateful world and it seems this needs to be explained.

I suppose the simplest way to put this is, nobody really knows the truth. Unless you have been into outer space and seen the earth for yourself all you are doing is basing your opinion on what you have been told by other people. Yes, astronauts have been into outer space and you can take their word for it but until you see it for yourself, you have no clue what the truth is.

We have science books and accepted facts and it’s ok to go by these things. Second-hand knowledge is not a true understanding. It seems to me that we have a new religion that is science and it is to be believed above all else. I have read reports of multiple scientists who when they make a discovery that doesn’t fit into the status quo they get blacklisted for even bringing up the ideas to the scientific community. Whole careers have been ruined because of this.

It’s easy to make fun of somebody who has a different outlook than you, but if you doing so is based on the input from others and not first-hand knowledge you are basically making a claim out of ignorance. Even if you are educated you are only believing what you have been taught.

“It’s an excepted fact and it’s science so it has to be correct.” Well, first off most science is a theory until proven, but even then the “proven fact” can later be refuted. If you remember, bloodletting was a thing. It happens, even Hawking and Einstein had different ideas about the concept of imaginary time.

Let Me Tell You Another Story.

A friend and I were sitting in my living room playing video games. Out of the blue, a bottle opener that I had hanging on a nail got knocked across the room. It was as if somebody walked up to it and slapped it off the wall. My friend and I were the only two people in the building.

We looked at each other in amazement and in a mutual understanding chose to ignore it and went back to our game. It took me ten years to ask my friend about this event and he assured me that I wasn’t crazy. It happened.

You see, I can tell you these stories because I know it happened and honestly that's good enough for me. I’m not going to judge you for not believing me. I've reached the age where I don’t care what you think of me. I do however care how you feel about me. I hope that I’m loved and respected as I’m sure others do as well. I think we need a little more of that in the world.

I suppose all in all the main thing I’m getting at is that we live in a magical world. There are multiple theories that try to explain existence. Elon Musk believes we live in a simulation. Who are we to argue with him? Christians KNOW there is a God. Athiest KNOW there is not a God but in all reality, nobody knows anything.

If somebody wants to believe in bigfoot or aliens what does it hurt? I hate to burst your bubble but just because you believe it does not make it true. We should respect each other and as long as someone's beliefs don't manifest harm on another individual, you simply look like a pompous "know it all" when you make fun of an individual for their beliefs.

Thanks for reading!

Originally posted on my blog. Check it out here: https://kryztoff.website/

Original post: https://kryztoff.website/should-we-make-fun-of-flat-earthers/

advice
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Harvey

I’m a long-time writer and musician. I love telling stories and writing poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.