Humans logo

Small Acts of Kindness

The ways a small act could change your life

By Michelle WhitePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Small Acts of Kindness
Photo by Dayne Topkin on Unsplash

I deeply enjoy the small acts of kindness, and the ways that they can change your entire outlook on life. For me, these don't only change my outlook on life, they change my entire mood on an already bad day. I had a sweet woman show me the biggest act of kindness I have ever received in a Walmart parking lot. She had been sick, which made her body hurt. We were in the middle of the pandemic, and she asked me a simple favor to put her cart up for her. I didn't mind, I was standing right near her and the place to put it up was right by me. She seemed tired, so I did it for her. Besides, I enjoy helping others, so it wasn't a big deal to me at all. After that, she called me over to her car, as I was just about to leave.

She put a $50 bill into my hand, and I continued to tell her she didn't have to give me anything at all. She told me she wanted me and my husband to have a wonderful night out. My guess is she could tell I was burnt out and desperately needed a nice night for us. She continued to talk to me, as I explained to her that I had recently lost my mother, and how I had lost both my parents close together. She could tell I was ready to cry at her kindness. I was not used to anyone being this nice. She then had me walk with her to her car, and she handed me $150 more dollars. I insisted she didn't have to do it; I had always felt bad when people gave me money. She insisted on giving it to me, and I slowly began to cry. That money helped us more than she realized. We got a nice meal, and I split the rest between my fiance and I.

This small act of kindness truly changed my outlook on the world and restored my hope in humanity. Often, I lose my hope and faith in humanity when I see people being mean to each other. I don’t understand why anybody would feel the need to do so.

This lady went out of her way to make my day, and even get to know me in the process with what little time we had. As soon as I got back into my car, I cried. I shed so many tears because at the time I was struggling with so many things. I was struggling with my mental health. I was struggling with my confidence to do anything, and I was struggling with everything life was throwing at me all at once. My fiancé was struggling as well financially and mentally, and this helped him also.

Little acts of kindness can truly change someone’s life in a matter of seconds. Personally, this one changed my life forever. To this day I still look back on it and imagine how wonderful she was to me, all over a small task. Most people today are rude and inconsiderate towards others. There’s really no need for it, and it shouldn’t happen at all. I think we should take the time to get to know somebody and their background to fully understand why they are who they are. You never know what someone has gone through to become who they are today. Something small could create a huge impact on these people and create a chain reaction to something bigger and better.

We should truly try to be better people in an already horrible world.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Michelle White

Hi! My name is Michelle, and I love to write about many things. I find that writing is a wonderful release for me, and I'm sure many of you feel the same! I enjoy reading everyone's wonderful stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.