Humans logo

Sleepless in The Couve

A new year new sleep resolution

By Misha AlslebenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by maxsaeling

As darkness falls and the sun sets , most people turn in for a good night's rest. While I do some nights theres no doubt in the fact that my sleep habits are not good and leave me yearning for more sleep as my alarm beeps and the sun rises to give golden kisses.

You know those nights where you toss and turn in bed and can't fall asleep and you keep thinking of you friends, your spouse, your kids, the laundry that needs doing,reminiscing about the past , thinking of your worries or the people who impacted your life and the ones you hope you've had a good impact on. Those are the moments we think the most and honestly its scary but it also led to a better life and a version of me thats much more kind to myself.

As a young mom it was rather easy to get caught up in parenthood and place my own needs and wants on the back burner. To be clear I'm not blaming my kids I blame myself. Long before my children I had issues with valuing myself and the phrase "Love yourself" was something laughable. Looking back I'm not sure why I hated myself so much maybe it was my lack of ability to cope, control and express my emotions or maybe it was mental abuse from my childhood either way I lacked self awareness, confidence , and the ability to admit I needed or wanted help. I am incredibly proud to say I have overcame those things. Slowly I have learned to love the skin I am in and I couldnt be happier. Working on oneself never stops and nobody should strive for perfection. In fact I firmly believer that everyone should strive to be perfectly imperfect and strive to make improvements. So while laying bed the other night , frustrated with another sleepless night in the couve I made the decision that in addition to regular self care I really needed to respect my body's needs and change my sleep habits.

While sometimes falling asleep is the issue more often than not I just don't go to bed at a decent time and get up way to early trying to be the over acheiver extra mom I strive to be. Our bed is also a innerspring mattress that's 2 years old and I think the last time I had a bedtime routine I was 9.

So in 2022 we are putting a end to sleepless nights in the couve. Starting with a bedtime, yep just like when we were 11 , now as much as I want to say this is my moment to channel my inner grandma, its not, I wont be turning in for the day at 7pm . Instead I set my bedtime for 10 and I get up at 6 most days which is 8 hours of sleep. To ensure that the sleep is restful and easy to obtain heres my resolutions.

Ditch Digital 30 Minutes Before Bed.

The National Sleep Foundation recommends that you should stop using electronic devices, like your cellphone, at least 30 minutes before bedtime. This should prevent distractions or overthinking right before bed , gives our eyes time to rest and allows us to get a better nights rest.

Replacing The Bed

Within the first 4 months of the new year my husband and I plan to ditch out old mattress and enjoy a new one. This should help us rest better and wake up without a sore back. Whos know's though that might just be my 30s approaching.

Returning To Routine

Routines can be boring but they can also be fun and also esssential to good health. I am returning to having a bedtime routine, something that is relaxing, that gives me just a few minutes to unwind and allows me to decompress from the day as I get ready to greet darkness my old friend and drift into a deep sleep. I want to stretch nightly before bed , gentle stretching before bed is an excellent way to improve sleep quality, sleep duration, and overall health. Apply some Dr .Teals lavendar sleep spray to my bedsheets, wash my face and moisturize and then read for 10 mins. I also will ensure my room is cold but comfortable. Sleeping in a colder room can improve your sleep quality and even help you combat insomnia episodes. Scientists link this to the fact that our body temperature naturally drops at night. Hence, the metabolism rate slows down, and we spend less energy during sleep.

. . . . . . .

So 2022 will continue to allow me to grow into a better person and I will commit to admitting that I am tired and taking rest when it is needed. Rather that means ensuring I stick to the above resolutions or take a 30 minute cat nap , I will no longer put the need for a healthy good nights on the backburner so I can be the best version of myself that exists.

& in time I shouldn't be dealing with or, participating in any sleepless nights in the couve.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Misha Alsleben

Wife & Mom Fueled by ;

Caffeine & Gratitude, when I’m not writing you’ll find me raising awareness about our planet’s needs , in the kitchen ,outside with the family, taking photos or in a bookstore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.