Humans logo

She saw Me, but I observed Her

movement of beauty!

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
She saw Me, but I observed Her
Photo by Tara Urso on Unsplash

Another long stay in Ft. Lauderdale and the long lunch, started to turn into an early day as the calm waves took control and gave my imagination other things to think about. The sun was blazing and Kelvin just stood me up for a later golf appointment, but the vibe of South Florida was still so present. I was finishing the last bite of my kunt fritters and midway to the last bite, she caught my eyes. Here it was midweek and I was so jealous because she had the dress and attire of a lazy Saturday. Smooth skin and no make up, with slight freckles that companied her cheekbones.

Unaware to the surroundings, or just didn't care. She looked as if peace gave her full permission to slay on the low vibe and not have a care in the world. She gave look to me one, but dismissed the look of my eyes as I tried to establish clearance land my 3/4 mile approach wishing for me to call the ball. Nonetheless, she kept walking as if I was thin air. She made way to the newsstand and started to check the periodicals. My attention was locked on her and I gave it a shot and move in for an introduction.

She placed her hand on a local map and that was my key for intro to break some ice and check the response. I asked if she needed a tour guide and that I was free for the remainder of the afternoon at a discounted price. She paused and looked up and as she gave a smile, birds from above descended down and every sound faded as I concentrated on her next words. She told me that she only had $1.50 and wanted to see all of Miami. I told her that she was way too far for $1.50 to get her to the desired destination. She poked her lip out and then I told her that she can get there for three pennies. She laughed and asked why only three pennies. Then I told her that if anyone charges you more, they don't understand the beauty of you looking for three pennies in your bag. She gave me a strange look as if she needed clarification. Then I told her that even the natural and simple movement was a complete joy to watch, similar to the natural flow of the waves coming to shore.

She laughed and asked how many times I used that line. I told her that using lines were for movies and that observing her was something that could last for a lifetime. So she then asked what could she get to eat in Miami for $1.47. I shook my head and told her that we would figure something out before we get there. So she asked what are my plans as she gave me an inquisitive look. I told her that if I could catch myself on the beach watching the sun come up with her was the goal in mind and we could fill out the rest as we go along. She gave me a look as if what are my plans, but she took my hand and off to Miami we headed south. Dinner and dancing was the majority of the night. We caught wind of a spoken word hole in the wall a caught open mic night. I grabbed the mic and did my thing, gave some flow to the moment and impressed this new stranger I took to Miami for only three pennies.

Coincidently, the whole in the wall was 80 feet from the beach and we had wasted the night away. I took her hand and we made way to the beach. She told me that she had the time of her life and then I asked her for her name. We both laughed and the sun came up to start a new day.

dating
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was a cute story, thanks for taking us on that adventure with you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.