Humans logo

She got Caught in Vegas!

The unfaithful side of it all

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 7 min read
1
She got Caught in Vegas!
Photo by Ameer Basheer on Unsplash

Life can take many turns and changes, so it is very important to have someone with you that has a solid foundation. I have only been to Las Vegas two times in my life, one for a conference and the other I'm about to tell in a few. Trust is something I give on the front end because life is too short and my time and energy should be focused on other matters. Things will always come to light and they will always come in the time of need, to help render a much needed decision at a crucial time in life.

Actions will definitely speak louder than words and people tend to be a bit more forgiving when there is time and others invested in the situation. Life should be about giving and growing with a person who is reciprocating in a like manner. Notice how I stress like manner because no two individuals in a relationship can equally do one for the other. In most cases, someone provides in one area, where the other provides in the other. This is what is commonly understood as a mutual trade off. Most sensible people call it being in a relationship of growth.

If I didn't learn anything from my previous marriage, I learned that once you let the opposite person know how you feel; it is up to that responsive individual to try and correct that concern or do nothing at all. I tell this story for one reason and one reason only. At the time and point in life where there is no need to continue on, then taking accountability and moving on is so much easier than "smoke and mirrors".

Reconciliation takes honesty and maturity. The road afterwards can be so much better, if there is honesty when two people hit the wall of life and come to the conclusion of the two cannot move further together. There is nothing wrong with divorce if things are not working out. One person has an addition that they cannot shake. One might be mentally or physically abusive to the other, but this is what happens when a person lacks maturity and accountability.

The marriage was at a trying moment and the decision was made to "reconcile" and try to fix what was broken. When we should have reconciled and made plans to move in separate directions, but that was too simple. So she had plans to visit Vegas the up and coming weekend to celebrate a friends "birthday" and a group was meeting there. I asked if it was cool to visit and suggested this would be a good time to work on our relationship. She could have easily declined, but trying to patronize the moment and effort; she said yes with the thoughts that I couldn't find arrangements at a moments notice for Las Vegas. This conversation took place on a Tuesday and the trip was scheduled for Friday in the same week.

Now under any circumstances, there is no way that someone could find a round trip ticket and room to Vegas at a reasonable rate in such little time. Well when things are meant to be displayed, there will be doors that will open and allow for all things to come to light. I found a ticket and a room at the hotel the "group" was meeting for a weekend in Vegas for under $350. I couldn't believe it and neither could she.

So here is the time the red flags started to pop up. I asked her did she have reservations at the hotel and she replied, "no". How do you plan to go to Vegas and not have a room reservation? So I tell her to check into my room upon arrival since I come in town after her and then we can unwind and make plans for the Friday evening. The "birthday plans" did not start until Saturday. So red flag two comes in when I arrive to Vegas, and she is not answering her phone. So I go to the front desk to see if she checked into my room and of the agent confirmed she had both of the room keys. Still no answer from my wife. Then 15 minutes later I get a call and she says she was sleep and didn't hear the phone. However, when we got to the room, the bed was perfectly untouched as if no one was in the room.

At this point, my "Spidy Senses" are kicking in and I go into observation mode. So I start conversation and asked when will the rest of the crew get in town for the "birthday celebration" and what are the plans. Here is the next red flag, she says that two of his friends had to leave Vegas because an emergency came up and they had to go. I then asked when are the others. She mentioned two other guys who were out and about, but he was in his room getting some rest. So Friday evening, no sight of this guy or the other two guys and she was the only woman in the group. We did not make contact with this guy the entire weekend and she kept making excuses as to some conflicting event came up and he was having problems. Now they ae texting each other as we are going to shows and dinner the entire weekend in Vegas and I have not laid eyes on this guy. It wasn't like we never met, he sung at our wedding for crying out loud. So she is beyond guilty at this point and I am shaking my head and asking why am I even here to myself. Then I ask her when is he leaving Vegas and she told me she didn't know.

So her flight left before my flight did and I walked her down to the shuttle. Told her I would see her back in Dallas, but this story is far from over. So I arrive to the airport for my departing flight and calls her to see what gate she is located, because I found out that my flight was delayed. Well the door of opportunity was wide open for me to see what I needed to see because her flight was five gates down from my flight. So I walked over to see her off and who do I see in the terminal sitting at the table together! If I could have pictured the look on my wife's (at the time) face! So the moment of calming down had to take place within because being in jail in Vegas was no way I planned to spend a Sunday night.

I made my way to the table and she got up and said I a have to pick up the food. I got him lunch since we didn't have a chance to see him on his birthday. So as she left, this gave me a one on one with him and your could see the look in his eyes. Busted and upset I rained on his weekend getaway with my unfaithful wife.

So our conversation starts and I start to question about the other "group" of people and comes to find out, his birthday is not until the next three months. So to save him the trouble and me the jail time, I decided not to beat him for trying to play me like a fool. It was written in the books that her level of unfaithfulness was established Saturday evening. Catching her in the final lie of not knowing when he was leaving town just confirmed it and it was actually funny seeing them both try to dodge a lie.

Time for their flight to leave came and I looked at her as he boarded first and told her if she got on that plane, the marriage was over and walked off. The divorce process started when I returned and stated I was not moving out until the paperwork was filed. It is so much easier to reconcile and move on for the better instead of the unwanted energy and the games. Cheating and unfaithfulness has nothing to do with gender. It is all about attitude and the morals you have. How many chances can one afford to give a cheater? She was caught on other occasions and this was the final straw. A leopard will not change it's spots.

divorce
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.