Humans logo

She doesn't deserve my love

I have the ability to heal myself.

By Martian Published about a year ago 7 min read
18
She doesn't deserve my love
Photo by Alexandre Debiève on Unsplash

When I first met Angeline in the office, I didn't think much of it. We exchanged pleasantries and went about our day. It wasn't until a year later that we had a chance to spend some real time together. As it turned out, we had a lot in common and we quickly became close friends.

I didn't think anything of it at first, but over the course of that year, my feelings for Angeline began to grow stronger. I found myself thinking about her more and more, wondering what it would be like to be with her.

It wasn't until one day, when we were out for a walk, that I finally mustered up the courage to tell her how I felt. I remember feeling nervous and vulnerable as I shared my feelings with her, but Angeline surprised me by telling me that she felt the same way.

From that day forward, we started dating and our relationship grew stronger every day. I couldn't believe how lucky I was to have found someone as amazing as Angeline, and I knew that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her.

As much as I was excited about our newfound relationship, I was also nervous about the prospect of being transferred to a different location for work. It was a great opportunity for me, but it meant that Angeline and I would have to navigate a long-distance relationship.

We talked about it extensively, and we both agreed that we didn't want our relationship to suffer just because we were in different cities. We made a plan to talk every day, even if it was just for a few minutes, and to visit each other as often as possible.

The first few weeks were tough, but as time went on, we fell into a routine. We shared pictures and updates about our day-to-day lives, and we made sure to stay connected despite the distance.

In some ways, I think the distance brought us even closer together. We had to rely on communication and trust in a way that we might not have if we were living in the same city. We learned to appreciate the time we had together even more, and we made the most of it whenever we were able to visit each other.

It wasn't always easy, and there were times when I wished we could just be in the same place at the same time. But even when we were miles apart, I knew that Angeline was always there for me, cheering me on and supporting me no matter what.

Even though we were both busy with work, we quickly learned how to make time for each other. We started scheduling our phone calls and video chats in advance, and we made a conscious effort to be present and attentive during those conversations.

We also found creative ways to spend time together, even when we were both working. We would send each other funny memes or articles throughout the day, or sneak in a quick phone call during our lunch breaks. It wasn't always easy, but we were determined to make our relationship a priority no matter what.

One thing we learned was that it wasn't about the amount of time we spent together, but the quality of that time. Even if we only had a few spare minutes in between meetings, we made sure to use that time to connect with each other.

We also discovered that taking breaks from work to spend time with each other actually made us more productive in the long run. When we knew we had something to look forward to, like a phone call or a weekend visit, it gave us the motivation we needed to power through our work.

As time went on, we realized that our busy schedules didn't have to be a barrier to our relationship. In fact, we found that our shared commitment to making time for each other made our bond even stronger.

Despite our best efforts to make time for each other, there came a day when things started to feel strained between Angeline and me. She began giving excuses for why she couldn't talk or spend time together, and I started feeling like she was pulling away.

At first, I tried to be understanding of her situation, but as the days went on, I started feeling hurt and frustrated. I didn't understand why she couldn't make time for me when I was making such an effort to prioritize our relationship.

One day, our conversation turned into an argument, and before I knew it, we were in the midst of a full-blown fight. We both said things we didn't mean, and for a moment, it felt like everything we had built together was falling apart.

But even in the midst of our anger and hurt, I knew deep down that we were soulmates. And so, despite the pain we were both feeling, I took a deep breath and apologized for my part in the argument.

To my surprise, Angeline did the same. We talked things out, and we both realized that we had been so focused on our own frustrations and stresses that we had neglected to be there for each other.

We made a commitment to communicate more openly and honestly moving forward, and to make an effort to understand each other's needs and challenges. And within an hour, we had worked through our problems and emerged even stronger than before.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

After our fight, things between Angeline and me seemed to improve for a while. We were making an effort to communicate better and support each other through our busy schedules.

But after about a week, Angeline's behavior started to change again. She was giving me excuses again and seemed to be more interested in spending time with her office co-workers than with me.

I tried to be understanding at first, but as time went on, it became clear that something was wrong. And then, one day, out of the blue, Angeline dropped a bombshell on me.

She told me that she had fallen in love with another man and that she wanted me to leave her alone. She said that she didn't want to talk to me anymore and that she was moving on with her life.

I was devastated. All of the time and effort we had put into our relationship felt like it had been for nothing. And the fact that she didn't seem to care about how I was feeling made it even worse.

For months, I was consumed with grief and anger. I couldn't understand how she could just throw everything away without even trying to work things out. It felt like a betrayal, and I didn't know how to move on.

But over time, I started to realize that sometimes, people just grow apart. Even soulmates can change and evolve in different directions. And while it was painful to accept, I knew that I had to let Angeline go and focus on my own healing.

My Advise

In any relationship, both parties should put in equal effort to make things work. If one person is consistently making excuses or not showing up in the relationship, it's important to have an honest conversation about it and see if things can be worked out.

However, if one person is constantly giving excuses or not showing up, and the other person is putting in all the effort, then it might be time to reassess the relationship. It's not fair or healthy for one person to carry the weight of the relationship alone.

At the end of the day, a successful and fulfilling relationship requires effort and commitment from both parties. If that balance isn't present, it may be time to move on and find someone who is willing to put in the same level of effort and commitment.

lovefact or fictionbreakups
18

About the Creator

Martian

Fantasy - Writer

Secrets - Teller

Information - Provider

Sometimes - Teacher

Awareness - Maker

Come along with me as I investigate the limitless possibilities of Everything. Together, let's make something spectacular.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.