Humans logo

Selfish People

My number one pet hate in life

By Ben ShelleyPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
Selfish People
Photo by Ayo Ogunseinde on Unsplash

If there is one thing in life that grinds my gears, it is those who are selfish. Those who only think of themselves and want to give little to nothing whilst taking everything that they can.

You know those people...the ones that as soon as you meet them know exactly what they are thinking. What they can get from you and how much they can get away with. People who care more about the reflection in the mirror than anything.

Selfish people are everywhere and it annoys me that they get away with so much. They can coast through life, sponging off those around them as most people are too polite to say anything. Merely waiting till they can move away, block them and the selfish person simply moves on.

When You Can't Get Away From Them

As an only child, my life is based on efficiency. On knowing who to bring along with you in life. From lost friends to those who fall by the wayside.

Life teaches you to move on and that everyone changes, from birth to death, you've got to keep moving forward as people change. We develop ideals that some of our older friends may not personify to our taste...we either move on or accept those that no longer fit into our lives.

It's never done in an offensive manner but whilst some friends will be here throughout our lives the truth is that many will fall by the wayside as we do not have time for everyone. We cannot stay in contact with everyone and have to prioritize those who truly share our values. It's sad but I have left many people behind and many have done the same to me.

I never take it personally as it's always been mutual. It is simply a part of life and one that should be embraced rather than run from. The flip side of this is that when you enter parts of your life that you have to keep people on board that you don't get in with.

If we could treat family as friends then life would be simpler. This is something that is said in respect of the consideration that life isn't easy. You have to compromise but the sad fact is that family are the friends that you cannot choose. They need to be embraced and are always connected, no matter how distant you would like them to be.

Most are lovely and are embraced closely but some end up forgetting that they are speaking to a human. They demand a huge amount of attention and cannot wait to get what they want. They cannot be blocked as other would complain and you simply have to embrace them. Give up and accept that you must tolerate them until the day they pass.

Is There Anything You Can Do?

Not really and that is what is driving me crazy. The consideration that my wife and I are being used and yet the only response is to smile. To embrace the situation and pretend that it is acceptable behaviour to adopt.

We operate in a world of shudder. When the call or text comes in we have to smile as we can easily predict their behaviour, whilst if it was a friend we would simply move on and spend our time elsewhere.

Here we are, prisoners, to our own families. We must smile as to do anything different would risk the ire of the larger political establishment. It is annoying but it's not every day (at the moment).

What I wish through all of this is that people could understand what it is like to be someone else and put themselves in your position. To have empathy rather than desire and understand that a simple please or thank you goes a long way in life.

Take a Breath

I get frustrated with the situation and yet there is nothing that can be done. In the grand scheme of things, it is a small blip in the story that is our lives and we can move beyond it. Go to our happy place and focus on the positive, for which there is much.

By taking a breath I can move above the frustration and merely accept it. Focus on how my wife feels rather than how I feel she is being treated. To ensure that she is number one in my mind, as I always hope that she is. My wife is my rock and if she can accept the situation, then I can also.

Life is a funny consideration and it is one that requires compromise for family. Give and take and whilst there are so many benefits, it is not perfect and never will be. Sometimes you simply have to grin and bear it...whilst I'm not there yet, I may get there at some point in my life.

A Final Thought

Family is a test. Some spend their lives avoiding it as much as possible whilst others can't live without it. I love my Mum and my extended family but do have to admit it is not perfect. There are elements that I would change, yet have to hope there is decency somewhere in there.

With the right assistance maybe just maybe there is a better person inside. They are not evil just really, really selfish and that is something that will come with time. Maybe it is a lofty ambition and maybe it is on the mark, who knows?

All I know is that I love my wife and will hold my tongue for as long as possible. Maybe the truth will break out but until then it's down to grinning and bearing it.

familyhumanity
1

About the Creator

Ben Shelley

Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet for the love of content, must continue writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.