Humans logo

Seeing You IV

Unsure

By Kelly BrackettPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
1

To be honest, Michelle did not know the reason she had agreed to date him again. That night, in her bedroom after Victor had taken her on that impromptu date, she sat in her bed thinking over everything from the day. It was not that she hated him. Quite the contrary, as she still loved him, even after all this time. But could he really accept all that she was? The changes to her that he claimed to accept no matter what just seemed far to great. It seemed almost too good to be true. Michelle looked out the window into the night.

“Michelle! Dinner is ready.” Grandma shouted up the stairs. “Get on down here to eat.”

“Coming Grandma!” Michelle replied, slowly untangling her legs from the blanket. “I’ll be right there!”

No matter how she considered it, it seemed her only option was to say yes when it came to Victor. One thing that had not changed since high school was his unwillingness to take no for an answer. When she made it downstairs, Grandma was already dishing up the plates, so Michelle took her seat and looked down at the food. For once, it seemed, Victor would not be joining them for dinner. Part of her was disappointed, but another was glad. She needed a true break from his constant conversation and felt annoyed that he continued to pursue her.

“So, I hear you said yes to Victor.” Grandma said looking at Michelle as she started eating. “I’m so glad. After you left, that boy just wasn’t himself. Couldn’t help but feel sorry for him.”

Grandma Mary did not like liars, and that was especially true when it involved people she was close to. Michelle just sat there, not really sure of how to respond. Grandma leaned back in her chair and gave her a hard stare as if to say that she would wait for her to answer. The room was slowly beginning to grow more and more tense as Michelle put off answering her grandmother’s question. To be honest, she felt as if she were being interrogated by the police with the way her grandma was staring at her. How could she answer?

“Since the first time you came here, that boy has had eyes for nothing but you and working on cars. Even if you have been married twice, who cares? You weren’t with those morons long enough to really change who you are as a person and Victor can see that.” Grandma continued, putting a hand on her shoulder. “And even if he couldn’t, he would learn to accept this new you that you claim to be. Stop blocking the poor guy out and give this thing an honest shot. For both of your sakes.”

“But Grandma!” She started only to watch Grandma Mary hold up her hand. “Hah…”

“I don’t want to hear any of that negative ‘My name is Michelle, let me put myself down…’ nonsense. If you start that mess with me, I’ll start calling you a kid again. Look, I know your parents weren’t the best at raising you and your brothers and sister, but I tried my best to make up for that.” Grandma replied, her wrinkled eyes squinting as she looked at me. “The least you can do is trust that much. Edith would have wanted you for her grandson regardless of the past. Focus on the now, Sweetie.”

Michelle did not often argue with her family, so she quietened down. She did not want to cause her grandmother distress, after all. It was then that she noticed two additional plates had been added to the table and excitement began to expand in her chest. Pretty soon, a knock sounded on the door, and she stood up in a rush and practically ran to it. Everyone in the O’Connell family had a specific seat at Grandma Mary’s table and if the placement of the plates were an indication that meant only one thing. She threw the door open and looked up at the faces of the people standing there.

“Blake! Jake! I haven’t seen either one of you in what feels like forever!” She practically flung herself into her brothers’ arms with a bright smile on her lips. “Do come in! Grandma already has a place set for you two at the table.”

“Michelle O’Connell! We were in the middle of a conversation!” Grandma said from the door to the kitchen. “Maybe your brothers can talk some sense into you. After all, they met your ex-husbands and know Victor personally.”

“What about Vic?” Blake asked stepping ahead of her into the entry way towards the kitchen. “Did your ex’s really mess you up that bad, sis?”

“Come on, Blake, you know how bad the first one was, and the second wasn’t much better.” Jake said, shrugging out of his coat. “You were lucky you had mom and dad to help you when it came to the legal stuff.”

“Well, our sister is still young, Jake. She had to make those mistakes to learn.” Blake laughed as he talked, his brown eyes smiling as he looked down at his sister. “But as a general physician, I recommend therapy if you’re still stuck on that first one.”

“And, in general, I am FINE!” Michelle yelled as color flooded her cheeks. “I’ve had time to get over my first husband, thank you. Grandma only mentions them because Matthew was at the funeral viewing today.”

The brothers shared a look before taking their seats at the table. Blake and Jake were identical twins that had been extremely protective of her, especially since she was the youngest of the four of them. Both were successful doctors. Blake was a general physician at a hospital in the same city as her while Jake was a top-class heart doctor. Of course, Michelle was proud of her brothers and her eldest sister, but she did feel a little out of place. While her siblings were successful and wonderful at their jobs, they had accomplished their dreams and were doing what they loved.

“So, what was that about Vic?” Black continued after taking a few bites of his dinner. “It’s as delicious as always, Grandma.”

“Your little sister made the decision to date him again.” Grandma stated with a large smile before frowning at her. “Yet for some reason she is acting like it’s the end of the world!”

“Grandma! It’s…I mean what would people think of him?!” Michelle questioned, her eyes on her food.

“That’s not any of their business.” Jake replied, pointing his fork at her, eyes narrowed. “If you love him and he loves you, why does it matter what other people think?”

“Jake is right. And after we worked so hard to convince you he was good back in high school, you still have doubts?” Blake asked with a disapproving tone. “You two were like a dream couple! So, stop putting my sister down and just be with the man you love, Michelle.”

Blake and Jake glared at her for good measure before the rest of dinner passed in relative quiet. Michelle let her mind wander and she found herself thinking about herself. Maybe it was high time for her to admit that part of her was afraid of what Victor thought of her. Of course, she did think about what other people would think, and was scared of that, but he was the biggest problem. What can she do to overcome this issue she has with herself? After she finished eating, she excused herself to go for a walk. Maybe she just needed to clear her head.

“Mind if I join you?” It was Ashlynn, the girl Michelle thought Victor cheated on her with. “Because I need to correct a mistake.”

“Sure.” Michelle replied, shutting the front door behind her. “I was just going to the park next to the church.”

For a while, the silence was stifling. Michelle did not know what to say to her and it seemed like Ashlynn had something she wanted to say. Together, they walked quietly in the direction of the park she had spent a lot of time with Victor in. It felt strange to be walking next to someone that spent the bulk of high school hating her. Contemplating this, Michelle exhaled through her mouth, watching as her breath formed a white cloud in front of her. Since it was winter, it was quite cold, but Michelle was used to it. It was not much different in the city, after all.

“Imagine my surprise to find out Victor had been falling all over himself for one girl. Back then, I didn’t even like him, I just hated the fact that you turned up, out of the blue, and the hottest guy in school wanted you.” Ashlynn started about a block from the park. “And then I saw the way you looked at each other when you two finally started dating. I was out of my mind with jealousy because I wanted someone to look at me like that.”

“That’s why you tried to break us up?” Michelle questioned as they walked into the park. “I thought it was because you liked him.”

“Yeah, pretty much.” She replied, kicking the ground as they walked, her head down. “I was dumb to get in the way of something so wonderful. After you left, it seemed like part of Victor had been destroyed. I didn’t understand it until I met my husband a few years ago, and then I put myself in your shoes. You have to believe me when I say, I am so sorry, Michelle.”

With that, she took Michelle’s hands in hers, pulling both of them to a stop. The look in her eyes was nothing but earnest, making Michelle believe her in an instant. Part of her felt at peace with her decision so after nodding they kept walking a bit. In the distance, they could see a dog playing with its owner and the sound of kids’ laughter reached their ears. Michelle smiled slightly before turning her gaze up to the darkening sky. It would be nice if she could have kids one day. Oh, just what was she thinking? She had only just started her relationship with Victor again.

“So, are you and Victor going to try again?” Ashlynn asked, her voice low as she looked at the ground apologetically. “You two deserve that much.”

“Yeah, that’s the plan.” Michelle stated calmly, her eyes turning to the entrance of the park. “Oh…!”

Victor was standing there looking right at her. Her feet slowed to a stop; eyes glued on him as he waved before starting the long walk to where she was. Michelle did not know what to expect, especially since she just saw him a few hours ago. She felt locked into place as his gaze traveled over her form and next to her, she heard Ashlynn giggling beside her. Turning her gaze as he came to stop in front of her, Michelle felt like running away. Victor had always done that, making her feel like she could not move with just one glance.

“Hey Babe. What are you doing out so late?” He asked, then glanced at Ashlynn. “Just chatting, I take it?”

“Blake and Jake are back in town and thoroughly put me in my place earlier.” Michelle replied trying but failing to break eye contact. “So, I came out for a little walk to clear my head. Ashlynn joined me for a little girl talk.”

“I know. They said I might find you here.” Victor reached out to tuck a stray hair behind her ear before motioning to an empty bench. “Nothing bad, I hope.”

“Actually, I need to get home. Mitch is probably waiting for me with dinner.” Ashlynn said, shaking her head no. “But I’ll take you guys to the café in town at some point. My treat. No one wants to be a third-wheel, after all!”

She said it on a laugh before walking away. To Michelle, it looked like a huge burden had been lifted from Ashlynn’s shoulders. Turning back towards Victor, she followed him over to the empty bench and took a seat. It was slowly growing quieter in the park as people and children went home for the evening, but to her, it felt peaceful. Victor put his arm around her shoulders and pulled her closer. Even though she was feeling better about her decision, she still felt awkward about being in such close proximity to him. Everything felt new, even though it was not.

“You don’t have to worry, Elle.” Victor said softly, his eyes focused on the view in front of them. “I’m not opposed to taking things slow. We’re both a little older and a little wiser.”

“Yeah, I’m sorry. Slow is the only way I know to go in relationships.” She replied on a half-smile. “Hey, Vic?”

“Hm?”

“You’re right. I do still love you.” Michelle continued, causing him to shift and look at her. “I think…because of that…I don’t know how to love anyone else.”

“Let’s get you home.” He said taking her hand to pull her to a stand. “I love you, Michelle.”

If you like this story, please take a look at part one:

https://vocal.media/humans/seeing-you

part two:

https://vocal.media/humans/seeing-you-gz1jwx00sf

part three:

https://vocal.media/humans/seeing-you-iii

Do you like what you are reading?

Please send me a gift below to help me continue making awesome content for you!

love
1

About the Creator

Kelly Brackett

It has always been my passion to share stories with people. I am building my online presence and opening myself up to other platforms to write for. As an author, I do my best to learn and grow to give my readers the best possible content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.