Humans logo

Rich

Or poor?

By Matthew GranthamPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Rich
Photo by Christopher Beloch on Unsplash

Richard Shore couldn’t shed a tear for anyone unless it was for himself. He was the most self-involved person I knew and I worked in show business so I knew a few dicks. I was standing next to my neighbour, sobbing whilst scowling at him, he was stood by himself in the corner of the room at the back as he had slinked into the room after the ceremony started, I don’t even know how he got in and why he wanted to be here. Miriam Gold was the loveliest women in our block of flats, so caring and kind she used to always bake cookies and hand them out whenever she saw one us passing. She was always there as your shoulder to cry on or to supply the tequila and ice cream, whichever was needed. Everyone loved Miriam and she loved us but it seemed she also loved others and that included Richard.

Toby, 2 weeks ago.

I was sent home from work early, apparently, I was too ill and was only causing a distraction to practice so I was of course, sulking on my way home. I had always wanted to get into acting, even at a young age but it seemed it wasn’t my calling as I got rejection after rejection and never got a call back. Until one day, one of my mother’s friends was casting for a local show and he had taken an interest in me from a young age as I pranced around the home I grew up in and I was cast! Not a major role but beggars can’t be choosers’, can they?

I walked up to my door and was unlocking it when I heard moans from behind Miriam’s door. She was pushing 70 so my first thought was that she was injured and she needed help. I quickly ran over to her door and starting banging.

‘Miriam! Are you okay? Miriam, can you hear me? Can you get to the door and let me in?’

The moaning stopped and I heard footsteps, clearly she wasn’t alone as the steps seemed heavy and quick, Miriam wasn’t the most supple person and I couldn’t hear her walking aid banging on the floor. A man the opened the door, only a crack.

‘Hey, don’t worry about Miriam she is absolutely fine, no need to worry so you can run along’ the man exclaimed through heavy breathes who was closing the door on me. I stuck foot in the gap between the door and the frame

‘I’m sorry but who are you? Her son isn’t due to visit until tomorrow’ I questioned.

The man I would say was in his thirties, at least 6 foot tall with dark brown hair and brown eyes, lightly sun kissed skin and hard nipples. Huh, why was this man topless, in Miriam’s flat?! Concerned wasn’t the word, I was mortified really.

‘I’m her care assistant, I come every Monday to see her and check on her now please, leave so I can go look after her, she is in good hands’

With that he slammed the door shut. I must have let me foot loose when I was staring at his nipples, damn things were lovely to look at.

I made a mental note to speak with Miriam later on but right now I needed painkillers and sleep and so I did just that.

When I woke about 7pm I made myself some food, I realised I hadn’t eaten all day and what was it my mother use to say? Feed the fever? Something like that. Before I went over to Miriam’s I showered to was my cold away, or try at least. I knocked on her door and shouted her name. no answer.

‘Miriam, it’s Toby from next door, are you in?’

Again, no answer. It was just about to turn 8pm so I figured she must asleep so I left it there and returned to my flat. Why was that man topless, what was he wearing on the bottom? I don’t remember but it wasn’t a hot day so there was no need to have your top off. Surely a care assistant wouldn’t be that carefree and expose himself like that to an elderly woman? I wanted to do something, I needed to do something didn’t I? Who was providing her with care, could I call around? I didn’t see a name badge; I don’t know what company he worked for and I didn’t even get his name… idiot! I would try Miriam again tomorrow I said to myself and got into bed.

I got woken up by a huge bang that was coming from outside my door. I peered through my peep hole and saw that it was police banging Miriam’s door down.

‘HEY’ I shouted ‘what are you guys doing?’ stepping out of my flat, wrapping my dressing gown around me.

I saw Ian, Miriam’s son behind one of the officers

‘Ian, what’s going on, what’s happened to your mum?’

‘Hey buddy, she didn’t call me last night like she normally does and wasn’t picking up the phone this morning. I was concerned about her and as she changed her locks about 8 months ago, I went for the next best thing which was a battering ram, as you can see’

The officers were in and let Ian go in first, seeing as though he was their superior after all. I waited behind the two guys whilst Ian went in, he came around the corner and was sobbing uncontrollably, worried, I ran to him

‘She’s dead Toby, fucking dead’ he spluttered.

Rich, today.

What a day. Munching on my favourite chicken wings from my local chicken shop I sit and wonder about the day. It’s sad that Miriam was gone, she was a great lay, I nearly shed a tear when I crossed her out in my little black book, but what I loved about Miriam the most was the cookies that we enjoyed together in bed after sex, they were sublime!

Luckily for me, I found Miriam through my hairdresser. I tended to get my hair cut at the classic hair salons, knowing that’s where they love to natter! I remember when Gloria said that she had a friend that was quite a bit older but was into younger guys. I don’t know what it was about older ladies that I enjoyed, maybe it was their maturity or the fact they were kinky as hell!

Miriam was timid with me at first, our first date was bingo and she barely said anything to start but once the cheap wine got flowing, she opened up quickly and man was she filthy! I had other older girlfriends before but none like Miriam, she was one of a kind. She was the loveliest person to talk to you, very polite and kind but behind closed doors there was nothing that was off limits! She had all this equipment – whips, chains, cuffs – the lot! She really opened my horizons if you know what I mean…

It was hard to be sad at the funeral today, that guy Toby would just not stop staring, what was his problem? Anyway, I don’t need to think about that, the only thoughts I have right now is what to do with this damn money. Twenty Thousand smackaroons. What was I going to do with it, go on holiday? No, I couldn’t leave my mother in the way that she is now. Buy a car? I already have 2, do I need a third? Possibly... I could invest it I suppose? HA no thanks, life is too short for that.

I sit, chewing on my chicken, contemplating my options. This was the biggest offering I had received in my ex-partners’ Wills. Usually, it was an odd heirloom I flogged online or some old shares that they failed to cash in on time but never this much money. I might go looking for them but honestly, I do love my girlfriends, I mean did. I come, and they go and onto the next one. I’ve been called savage before, a heartbreaker, a downright arsehole but I do it all for love.

I was in my own little world attempting to savour the moment but it didn’t last long as the blur got bigger and closer and less blurry. It was that punk Toby.

‘Oi dickhead, we need to talk’

humanity
1

About the Creator

Matthew Grantham

An aspiring writer from the UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.