Humans logo

Rejection

We know it hurts, but...

By Nailah RobinsonPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Rejection
Photo by Resource Database™ on Unsplash

I had to address it because it keeps coming up today, so this story was beating me across the head in other words. I am seeing this trend lately where once a woman rejects a man, he wants to make disparaging comments about her as though he wasn’t just interested two minutes ago. When did this start?

Let me explain why this is problematic. It is a problem because it is like saying if you don’t want to be with me, then there must be something wrong with you. Let me point out everything I see so that I can make myself feel better, and make you feel like crap while I do it.

The first time it came to me was in a reel on Facebook. There was a young lady at the store who he was videoing which is the first red flag. Once she politely said no thank you, he went in on her body shape and on how unpretty she actually was, which was a lie. Girlfriend was super pretty, and that’s why he went after her in the first place. His tactics came off as an assault. It was brutal. She just laughed, shook her head, and walked away, but someone else might have took off in tears. It was truly traumatic for me even to have watched it.

The next instance was again on Facebook. A young lady took a screenshot of a text exchange between her and a young man. Her caption was “what do you guys think?” In the text, she simply explains to the guy that she is not currently looking for a man. He then goes on: it would be hard for her to find a man because she has eight children. First of all, you were just trying to be her man with her eight children, so why would it be hard for her to find another? Second of all, you’re giving f boi energy because you obviously thought you were going to be able to just hit and quit based off of what you texted back.

Another instance that happened today was when I was watching old Catfish episodes and after Nev and Kamie called this guy out on his BS, all of a sudden, he would have never dated her for real because she has kids. That’s fine. Have your preference, but why would you then talk to this girl for almost twelve years as though you wanted a relationship with her if you don’t like women who have kids? The young woman did it right on this one. She told him not to bring her kids into his bull.

Before I got on my rant here, I asked my son what he does if a girl rejects his advances because I had to make sure that I was not raising one of these disrespectful butt heads myself. He looked at me and said, “I just say, well have a good day then.” I told him, “That’s how you do it,” and I beamed. I told him about the story I was going to write today, and he said, “Mom, that just sounds like they butt hurt.” That is coming from my seventeen year old son. The men that these instances came from are grown men.

This is very scary behavior because this is how stalking starts in this our very rape culture of a society. When my daughter was very under aged, there was a man who kept trying to talk to her. She made it very clear that she was under aged and he just would not take that for an answer. He would watch her while she was in the pool, while she was walking and hanging out with her friends, and even when she was on her way to school. It got to the point that we actually had to call the police because he just wouldn’t take leave me alone as an answer. Believe me when I tell you that calling the police was not our first thought. So teach your sons to respect our daughters before our guns do it for you.

Not every girl has daddy issues and loves the butt holes of the world. Being verbally abusive because you got rejected could have you running into the wrong one. Even if that never happens, what do you expect to happen next after you have berated this woman? Is she going to now fall madly in love with you and give up the goodies? How does this help your cause?

Nobody owes you anything. If a girl is not interested, then she is simply not interested. No means no. Move on to the next one. There are plenty of women who would be interested in you once they see that you know how to take rejection like a gentleman and recover from it. Yes, rejection hurts, but that’s a part of the game. What one woman doesn’t want, the next one will. Every lock has a key, so just find your key.

dating
1

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Steven Christopher McKnightabout a year ago

    Well-spoken. Hopefully we can all learn to do better!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.