Humans logo

Refused Marriage After Love

Lovers among Poets

By Hou AdjouzPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Refused Marriage After Love
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Expressing Love in his Poems:

The poet Abu Al-Atahia loved a maid named Utbah, in which he said:

What is the fault of imagination?

I don't see him he's been visiting me since nights.

If my friend sees me, pity me.

Or my enemy sees me because of my bad situation.

Abu Al-Atahia was born in the Hijaz and grew up in Kufa and lived in Baghdad. His love pushed him to the threshold of saying poetry in it, but she did not meet him with what he thought of her, as she faced him with rejection and abandonment, until he almost lost his mind and was called “Abu Al-Atahia.”

The despair of Utbah's passion led him to asceticism, and it became a sign in the poetry of asceticism.

Among the marvels of what he said in Hijran Utbah:

My brothers, passion is my killer, so preach the shrouds urgently

And do not blame me for following desires, for I am busy

And if Utbah was the maidservant of the Caliph al-Mahdi in the Abbasid era, and Abu al-Atahiya, whose name was Ismail bin al-Qasim, was devious in shape, then this may have caused Utbah to alienate him.

Among his poems about asceticism is his saying:

He who is ignorant of guidance is one who fears life

And whoever becomes anxious about his thoughts

In the past, an idea belonged to its owner

If he has insight into a valid opinion

Where are the centuries and where are those who built them?

These cities have water and trees

Refused Marriage After Love:

Ibn Rahima was known to be one of the chaste poets, even if he did not receive enough attention in the literary heritage. His beloved was Zainab bint Ikrima bin Abdul Rahman. ran away and sang:

If you have expelled me unjustly, life has revealed what I fear

And if you get from me what you desire, say, if you agree to Zainab

And whatever you want, do it with me after that, for my love for Zainab will not go away

And it is likely that he did not touch his heart desires except at an old age, when he mentioned him in poetry:

I meant Zainab my heart after falsehood and flirtation left me

On top of Al-Mafraq there is a clear, comprehensive gray in the head from me and it has ignited

He was known in his poetry for clarity and frankness, as he said:

But Zainab is concerned about my father and my mother

In my father Zainab, I am not my name, but my name is

For Abu Zainab, from a judge who deliberately judged my wrongdoing

For my father who does not have a carat of womb in his heart

And his tragedy is that his story was apparently one-sided, which only increased his pain and made him live his loneliness, as in his saying:

I meant Zainab my heart and slandered my mind and my soul

You left me alone

And she has sins for me in her being distant and close!!

And his life ended in mystery, after he escaped from the Caliph, and most likely he died wandering while he remembers her, refusing to marry, for in most stories they wander and then die.

Andalusian Love:

It is one of the common stories in the Andalusian era, where Ibn Zaydun lived a good life, and he was a writer and poet, and he served as the minister of Al-Mutadhid Billah bin Abbad in Seville. She met many writers and poets, but none of them found a way to her heart except for Ibn Zaydun, who also reciprocated her love. Here, the story is similar to Tawba and Laila Al-Akhiliya in that the two parties are poets.

The two lived a life of love for a while, and then there was estrangement and reluctance before birth, but between tension and attraction, the strongest love story was born in Andalusia that entered Arab history.

Al-Tana’i has become a substitute for our condemnation and a substitute for the goodness of our meeting with us

Your son and our son, our wings have not been wet with longing for you, nor have our stomachs dried up

Almost when our conscience calls you, sorrow will kill us if it wasn't for our grief

You lost our days, so they became black, and you were white for our nights

Let your covenant water the covenant of pleasure, for you were nothing but our winds for our souls

And oh, the breeze of youth, reach our greetings, because if a distance away he was alive, he would greet us

As long as there is nothing left of you, we hide it, so you hide us

It seems that the birth of a moving heart, after Ibn Zaydun sought to win the heart of the minister "Ibn Abdus", who actually married her and imprisoned Ibn Zaydun for his spelling after he felt despair, and on the other hand, a birth remained immortal despite everything because of Ibn Zaydun.

But the story has another face, as it was reported that Ibn Zaydun was attached to one of the maternity maids, to arouse her jealousy, or that this happened while she was overbearing on him, which provoked the anger of a birth and she mentioned it in poetry, after parting:

If you were fair in the passion between us

You did not like my maid and did not choose

And left a beautifully fruitful branch

And drifted to the branch that did not bear fruit

And I knew that I am the moon of heaven

But I fell in love with my apartment with the buyer

And from the poetry of Walad on what she said in two famous verses of her:

And I walked my walk and I got lost

Possibly my lover from the plate of my cheek

And I give my kiss to whomever desires it

love
Like

About the Creator

Hou Adjouz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Hou Adjouz is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.