Humans logo

Reality VS Reality

Let's talk reality TV......

By Melissa Bezborotko Published 3 years ago 4 min read
9

Let’s talk reality shows. What is a reality show? According to the dictionary: a reality show is a television program in which ordinary people are continuously filmed, designed to be entertaining rather than informative. They are the cheapest to produce, but the most popular television programs to watch.

Although most people believe that Big Brother was the first reality show to be aired in the UK in 2000, crossing over to the USA, then Canada in 2013; in fact, the very first reality TV show, An American Family, was aired in the USA in 1973. Camera crews filmed a typical all-American family during their daily life. The family eventually split up, and the show was over. Shocker!🙄

Productions have continued with this idea. Today we have camera crews following a number of families. The first one that always comes to mind is Keeping up with the Kardashians. My fiancé loves Jersey Shore. For myself, a family I enjoy following is My Sister Wives. Even though I don’t believe in polygamy, I can’t get enough of the Brown family. Of course, I can go on for a long time listing all the reality shows that just follow families, but you probably have already listed all of them in your mind.

I want to go back to the game reality shows…ones like The Amazing Race, Survivor, and my favorite, Big Brother. I have personally auditioned for Big Brother Canada three times; once in person and twice submitting a video. I have yet to make it, but I will not give up trying. Why, you may ask? To get out of real reality, and step into a fake reality. Real reality sucks! We have responsibilities, a job, taxes, bills, cute little spawns we call our children. I want to challenge myself in a world that I can be selfish in, where I only have to look out for number one! I want my strength and mind power to be tested. I’m also a huge competitor. I will do whatever it takes to win! I also want to know if I can survive without my mommy! Plus, I have children. A three-month vacation, Whoop, Whoop! Now don’t roll your eyes, I love my children; but if you can make it far in this fake reality, imagine how much stronger you’ll be in real reality; or maybe you will be extremely paranoid of everyone for the rest of your life.

We also fall in love with reality show people. The ones with stories we relate to. That single mom, the young man that grew up in a bad home, the transgender person that was bullied, and the overweight lady just trying to get healthy again (I miss the Biggest Loser. It was a reality show that pushed you to become a healthier you.). Personally, I follow a few reality TV people. Some from Big Brother, American Ninja Warrior, America’s Got Talent and American Idol. They give me inspiration, relatability, and are just amazing talents. You root for these people, wanting their talents to be recognized, or to win the game. You boo at judges and scream at the TV as if this person can hear you.

We become invested into reality TV. We buy merchandise, or pay to vote. We purchase live feeds so we can watch our favorite people play 24/7. Why? Because fake reality rocks! We don’t have to worry about our own lives for the time we are watching. Well, unless you have children. But that’s what TiVo is for. Gaud I love TiVo! Anyway, this is how reality shows make their money. They need you to buy all the things, and vote, vote, vote! (Can you hear Ryan Seacrest from American Idol?) We all love reality TV so much, that apps like Hayu, Netflix, Crave and Prime, etc. make it possible to watch reality TV over and over again. We dish out money just to watch other people’s lives. Reality TV is not going to disappear. There are new shows coming out every year, and we soak it up. I know I can’t wait!

Personally, I feel that reality TV is a great formula to escape real reality. I wouldn’t change a thing, but reality TV has evolved since 2000. The twists, the challenges, and the hashtags. The way we vote and audition has evolved. (Don’t get me started on all the changes since COVID!) Just like real reality evolves, fake reality has to follow suit. My future mother-in-law-believes that soap operas evolved into the Real House Wives, Jersey Shore and other family-oriented reality shows. Mind Blown!!

However, there is one thing that stays the same between both realities…… POWER & MONEY! In fake reality you want to be Head of Household (Big Brother reference). In real reality you want to be Chief Executive Officer. In fake reality you want the prize, in real reality you want a raise. The end goals are the same, to be the winner! To leave the game or to leave the world, you want to make your mark!

Grab your popcorn, throw in some M&M’s, and get ready for your favorite reality TV show…because this reality is a more entertaining formula than that reality!

***Thanks for reading. Click on the ❤ if you enjoyed. Melissa***

tv review
9

About the Creator

Melissa Bezborotko

I never know what to write here! I am a mother to two beautiful daughters. As my full-time job, I handle freight and logistics for an office supply company. I enjoy the gym as an outlet for life's stressors, I and I have my own radio show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.