Humans logo

Quote on Quote on Life

Would you say that, where you stand in your mind, has the 'minimum fundamentals'? Do you think you have that thing called, "openness"? Do you know the difference between being "open" and having "boundaries"? How having about both?

By Victoria FrazerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Here's the deal.

My dad used to tell me that he had "sight". And as for the first time I heard him use it... in the context of being wise, having wisdom, I knew exactly what he had meant by that word.

He was an immigrant to Canada, not too expanded in his vocabulary but we'd have successful enough conversations. And this word, utilized by him, was usually after we spoke, having long conversations about being in this world, this life, this reality where success is usually represented by the money, house, car, job, education and relationships. Pretty basic "shii..".

But "sight", from how he acknowledged these topics, was more about "thinking beyond" what was in front of you.

Its like an over all cliche of saying "What's inside you makes you stronger".

My question today was, "Is what's inside of most people, even really adequate?" Sounds pretty wrong, eh? Well, adequate by what 'means'?

Of course, it's also cliche to say "To each his own". Well, how 'far' does that go?

Preferences:

All of us "can" have preferences. And I say it like that to be safe. My problem is when those preferences exceed into disrespect. Such as a guy liking a certain type of girl--along with mad stereotyping and generalisations of other girls who don't fit the "description". You can like her, but just know she's not "better" than me-- we're both worthy of breathing.

Relationships:

Love is an agreement. A relationship of mutual extents; advocate >friend > lover. Just know that.

Money:

These fools are just trying to get paid. And in the process, some people lose common sense values. And by that, I mean putting/having them values in 'order'. It's okay to like money! Just don't put it before the value of life and than kill your wife for that life insurance policy. Or falsely claim a diagnoses on a patient because you're on some commission for administering medications by a major pharmaceutical company. That makes it an issue of priorities and values in disarray/ disorder. Respect life #1.

Morals:

I don't care if you've had a sixty year track record of being good, you could in one moment choose evil. And same for a track record of being evil. One day you could be good. Fact of Life: you're ALWAYS at a crossroads with every decision, any of you make. Now I could go in the rabbit-hole of addiction affirmations like "once an addict your always an addict". I say, "Well if anyone has to face the crossroads, wouldn't that make all of us addicts? And if not "addicts"... 'capable?'"

The tangible and the intangible:

What you do with yourself is your business. when it effects others then it's their business. I don't care if it's an action, statement or implication or if it even looks 'good'. I can be ignorant too. No one's playing me.

Death:

I'm not gonna get mad if you say "no". I mean, on my end I will still be diligent in asking for help. But I don't get upset at the idea if you do not want to. Really I don't. Death is a part of life. And overall, I won't look for death. But I won't run from it either.

So here I say, 'prioritise' Stopping @ the Stop! Know yourself to the other person or people and ask, "Where does this start and where does it stop?", "Whats the priority?", "What's initial?" (naturally comes as it is), "What's the extents? The order?" and "What's exceedance?".

That's it! It's pretty much a linear scale for 'what is' and 'what isn't'. That's all that really has been missing in these analyses that people create -- how to "balance" and approach the positions in life-- , whether for other people or just themselves.

Whether you can see or you're blind.

Either way, we all have "sight".. it's up to us how we want to use it.

advice

About the Creator

Victoria Frazer

From Canada in Whitby ON, been I'm a reading-and-writing-for-a-longtime-gyal.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Victoria FrazerWritten by Victoria Frazer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.