Humans logo

Puppy dog Blanket

How I was at the receiving end of good deeds, and a puppy dog blanket that mended my broken heart.

By J LynnPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Good deeds, is defined as an act that is done for someone or society, something good. Basically, The as one known author of the book, The 5 love languages by Gary Chapman, calls it an act of kindness. I had a recent encounter of this with me on the receiving end. When I was down, and incredibly discouraged. In fact what I am about to share with you is something I have not told anyone, not even my family. I have been having horrible dating streaks. My heart was broken by a guy I had deeply loved and known for a long time. To try to get over the hurt and pain I was experiencing, I decided to get on a dating app. Within a week I got hit with an interested individual. We will call him, Tiago (for confidential reasons its not his real name). Tiago and I hit it off real nice. We shared the same thoughts and opinions on religion, music, creativity and even foods, he was into vegan life! We had been getting to know each other for over a month and with our situation being a long distance one, we needed to make a decision to make this more real. We discussed it and I had decided I would come his way. I had extra time off work during this pandemic and I had family near his way so, we agreed to make it work for a weekend, which by the way was last weekend. Yup, all this happened last weekend. He lived 11 hrs from me, I planned to drive 5 hrs and then stay with my cousins and aunt in Texas overnight and then drive 6 hrs the next day to his state and stay in my reserved hotel. I know this sounds crazy already to you that a woman made this sacrifice to drive 11hrs for a guy, and not only did I do this but I did it alone. Even more crazy is that, before I left for this planned voyage I messaged him, that I couldn't wait to see him and I was then met with the reply " Oh hey! I'm sorry but I think you should just cancel it, I am with someone else." I was so hurt and crushed and in disbelief! I tried to understand why he would say that. He said he didn't hear from me in a few days and thought I was with someone else so he just moved on. That fast...This made me feel worse, as my heart was previously broken before this situation and now THIS! It was so unfair, I felt, and I wanted to try and convince him that he can trust me and that, I do what I say I'm going to do, because to me, I thought he didn't believe I would. So, I impulsively packed my bags and I still proceeded with my plans anyways. I was optimistic that this situation would somehow turn itself around. When I arrived in this state which was near the Mexico border, I got in my hotel and as soon as I did, I messaged him. He was definitely surprised. He asked me, "Why did you come here? I told you not to, I am with someone; I cant see you." I was so crushed, and rightly so, because well, he did tell me that but, I still wanted to believe that it wasn't true and that he wanted me. I cried hard and stayed the night there with plans to cancel the rest of my reservation for the three days I had set, and just use the time I had to stay with my family. After crying my eyes out I was hungry for some food other then the large bag of vegan snacks I brought along with me. I ventured out to a little Hispanic food place. unfortunately I didn't find any vegan places there. This place didn't have much really that I could eat but it was close to my hotel and I didn't want to venture too far off alone, plus it was late. I ordered a tostada with only beans and guacamole and any veggies they could put on it. Mind you I was near Mexico and I am not Latina, I speak Spanish, however I am asking for a tostada with no barbacoa meat! a few people in the line were a bit shocked, maybe even a bit offended. The lady that was getting my order was trying to explain to me they don't have anything like that. However when I told her I am vegan with a gluten allergy and I traveled there, she was extra kind and said no problem I will make it that way for you. I believe they prided themselves with the way they make their tostadas because they were larger than hand sized tostadas that people typically make, and the corn shells were nice and crispy not easily falling apart. That was such a kind deed for her to go out of her way on something they pride themselves with, humbling herself to make me happy. That was the beginning of me, being on the receiving end of kind deeds on this vacation as I slowly began to unravel from the pain I was suffering. The next day, after cancelling the rest of my reservation, I went to stay with my family in a part of Texas. I hadn't seen my aunt and cousin for about 12 or 13 yrs. My cousin has four children. Actually now two adult boys and two young girls. The two boys I had not seen since they were small, and I had never met her young girls. It was such a joy being there. I never told them What really happened, as it was too heartbreaking and I just wanted to forget it ever happened. My cousins daughters Zephaniah 8yrs old and Zariah 14 yrs old both loved on me as If I had been there all along. When I arrived Zephaniah asked me, "Do you like Billie Eilish?" I replied, "yes," "Do you like cats?" I replied, "hmmm, from a distance, I am allergic unfortunately, but I love dogs and I am not allergic to them and I want two"; Little did I know that this little one would do such a kind thing for me before I returned back home. After I caught up with my family and shared some important health information with my cousin to get her on her healthy journey, Zephaniah came to me with a cute blanket that was new, but I could tell she had it stashed away and just had not opened or used it, the blanket had puppies and dogs on it! she said, "I know you love dogs so I want you to have this..." My heart melted and mended in that very moment over every wound I had felt from my previous heartbreaks. I no longer felt bitter, because I realized,

I am Loved.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

J Lynn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.