Humans logo

PSYCHO FRIEND

Some friends are Enemies in disguise

By Brooke HudsonPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
When a "Best Friend" really isn't your friend

I left high school in 1999, which was the year Bill Clinton was impeached, and the same year as the Columbine Highschool massacre that claimed the lives of 12 students and 2 teachers. That was also the same year I met the craziest friend I have ever met. I will spare her, by providing all of you with her name, but if she ever reads this. She will know it is her, and that for me is awesome. So, I will call her Laura.

Laura was an overly confident overweight teenager (much like myself) when we met in Home Economics class in High School. We were on the same team together, so all our projects were done together. I was a senior, and she was a Sophomore. We became fast friends when we had to find dates to go to La Caille, and for those that do not know what that is. It is a very fancy French restaurant in Utah. We had spent a month or so learning proper etiquette, and what fork to use at the table. This girl seemed normal, and for all intents and purposes, she was. Until after I left High school, and then this girl showed her true colors.

It started when we purchased tickets to go see Backstreet Boys in Concert. Things went downhill for our friendship, right after we purchased N'Sync tickets (which was after we attended the Backstreet Boys concert). We had front row seats to the Backstreet Boys concert, and Laura was excited because that was her favorite band. When we stood in line to get our number (back then, you waited at what was once called "The Delta Center" in a line to get a number that determined your place in line to purchase tickets). Well, Laura and I were standing in line waiting for our number, and this group of teenagers was there buying tickets too. We started talking to them and joking around. I was a typical 18-year-old, and was like "Listen to me sing like Britney". So, of course, I did, and I'm a singer so I thought I sounded okay. They told me I sounded great. Well, our numbers are handed to us, and Laura was number 5, which meant she got to purchase tickets early. I had to go to the bathroom, and I gave her my money for my ticket. I came back after going to the bathroom, she had purchased the ticket already, and we left. While on our way home, she proceeds to tell me that those teenagers told her that they thought I sucked. That I sounded horrible. Well, it was rude, but criticism is what it is, and I just sucked it up. Two weeks later, I run into that same group of teenagers in the grocery store, they remembered me. They told me I sounded good without any prodding from me... but I told them what my friend Laura told me. All they could say was, "We never said that at all". So, this was the first moment I knew something was off with my friend. Why would she lie to me, and say something awful like that?

When it came time to buy tickets for the 'NSync concert, we were excited because again Laura was able to get tickets early, which meant she was able to get floor seats. I paid her for my ticket, and we counted down the days until the concert. We hung out here and there, and a few times I loaned her some money. Nothing major, maybe $20. I can't remember what she used it for, but I wasn't worried about ever getting it back. Honestly, the rule I've always used is, don't give someone something unless you are okay with never getting it back.

Well, the time for the 'NSync concert is nearing, and as a huge fan, I was excited. Two weeks before the concert, a friend of mine was getting married. My friends that were away at College from Price Utah drove to Salt Lake to attend the reception with me. We hung out until about 9 or so, and I get home. I go talk to my Mom, and I'm telling her about this awesome Polynesian reception I was at. As I'm talking to my Mom, the phone rings. On the other line is Laura. She immediately starts screaming at me, and I'm completely dumbfounded as to what I could have possibly done wrong. Laura's parents had this thing about never locking their doors. They lived in a town about 20 minutes away from me, and she started accusing me of going into her house. Stealing her 'NSync ticket, and stealing the $600 she had saved up. I couldn't believe what she was saying, and worse. She started cussing at me, calling me all kinds of names. Of course, I went on the defense and yelled back. I have never had my character called into question like that, and this was mind-blowing. I loved her parents, and she lied to them telling them that I had stolen from her. So, of course, they get on the phone telling me I have to give this money back to her. I didn't have money and didn't steal from them. I told them I have numerous witnesses that saw me at a wedding reception, and I was with my friends the whole evening. I finally told them I didn't steal from them, and I wouldn't steal from them. They're wrong, and someone else took it from her. They had no proof, I was at a wedding and I have hundreds of witnesses. I hung up the phone, and so, one would think after all of this happened, we'd never see each other again. She had something of mine, and I told her she better give it back. She dropped it off at my house, and I thought that was going to be the last time I would ever see her. NOPE!

So, a few years go by, and we have a mutual friend who tells her how forgiving I am. That she should just call me. Enough time had passed, that I just forgave her. She never apologized either and admitted to our mutual friend that she never thought I would be friends with her again. By this point, I was happy in my life and nothing this girl could do would bother me. So, we go to dinner. On the way there, she puts her phone to her ear and starts talking to her "Boyfriend". The whole time she is talking to him, it just felt fake. Like she really didn't have a boyfriend. So, I asked her if I could talk to him. Immediately she got defensive, and said "No". So, I grabbed the phone super quick to talk to him and she yanked it back. If she really had a boyfriend, why would it matter if I talked to him or not? It was super fishy, and because of that, she stopped talking to me. So, again, I think I'm never going to hear from her or see her again.

A few more years go by, and she added me on Facebook, and she had lost a ton of weight. She was living with her boyfriend and seemed to be living her best life. I was really happy for her, and then she deleted her Facebook page. A couple of weeks ago, I was thinking about her, and out of the blue, she added me on Facebook. She started talking about how great her life was, and how she had a new boyfriend. How happy she was, and she looked skinny as ever. Then, I just checked and she either blocked me or deleted her Facebook page again. I can only assume her reasons, that she is obsessed with living this "perfect" life, and wants everyone to only see when things are perfect. I feel sorry for her, because what kind of life is that? I would be surprised if there was someone out there who didn't think she was a bit psycho. She is not to be trusted, and I hope she hasn't done anything like this to someone else. I don't know how I find all these crazy people, but they find me and it's really rough. Between dating psychos, and on occasion making friends with psychos. I'm pretty much at a loss.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Brooke Hudson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.