Humans logo

Poetic Noir

Love Before It’s Time

By Joey ReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

As lovely a evening as any in Dilano’s Speak Easy. The atmosphere was always spot on from what I had heard. This is probably why my sisters chose this spot. Glenda and Stella felt like it was time I get out of the house. Brady was five and Tony had been gone for three years. Honestly I knew it was time I come up for air. My sisters understood this. Our mother baby sat him for the night. So I wouldn’t have to pick him up until morning. Earlier’s reluctance made them duck out soon as we hit the scene. Still I was enjoying my evening with the girls. With a final sip of Noir I was off to mingle. Frankie and the boys set was on fire tonight and not a glass was dry. Dilano made sure of that as pin up style baristas filled glasses through the floor. Of course what he passed out was bootleg wine most of which was fine considering you get get it nowhere if you didn’t already have it. Still fermented nicely but not my favorite by a long shot. His Pinot Noir was the beez neez. So I enjoyed what he was great at while taking in the sites.

The lighting was low but spirits were high as bodies flowed freely across the the floor. Sweeping through the room creating an energy all it’s own. Men tailored in their finest tailored suits, shoes and hat to match. Each ready and willing to do whatever it takes to make the heart they choose swoon. Perhaps they are in search of their wildest dreams in a sea of dames, to me this seems strange. Maybe love and lust are too close to be opposite making romance out of range. Questioning all while wanting more, sashaying across the floor. I am free, more free than I have been in a while. A tall slim gentleman seemed nice so I shot him a wink and a smile. His name was Lawrence and was there with his older brother Jimmy aka James but they were waiting for their baby brother to come home from the army. Oh an officer she thought, how charming. Not looking for love but out with a splash of optimistic romance. Not with Lawrence but it was out there for the taking. It was in that moment the crowd parted and our eyes locked and I was beginning to consider companionship an option. There was just something in the air tonight I thought. My midnight blue dress flowing with each step as the clock itself struck midnight. As Lawrence watched there long gaze he knew she had is heart and he held hers. Like magnets connecting they danced the night away. Song for song their bodies spoke a language all their own. Trumpets roared and ambitions soared. Amorous ambitions between us. Amazed at how the perfect night of dancing turned perfect date. He was muscular with chiseled features with a caramel skin tone, kissed by sun gods. His hair was wavy with a tapered part. He was quite dapper and I was just the same to tame his heart.

As the crowd thinned so did our siblings. Jimmy dropped off Lawrence and Glenda while He and Stella went for coffee. Steven agreed to walk me home seeing as how the night was still young for I. So we danced until the last chair was up and the last cloud parted the sky. We took a stroll through Solomons park, holding hands, taking in the stars. When we met the bridge he surprised me with a bottle of aged Black Berry Merlot. My eyes watered, how did he know? I hadn’t mentioned my favorite wine yet here her stood with a glass and a rose. Legs dangled, fingers entangled, feeding into our souls, a love needed between the two. It blossoms spreading the sweet aroma of two heartbeats. He whispers sweet soliloquies, hand in hand dancing in a field of lilies we are free. Free of realities burdens. For a moment time froze for us to connect. Will I see you again? He asked as the moon scurried with the night sky and a new day rose. Of course my love! All four chambers beat for you…

love
Like

About the Creator

Joey Renee

WORD ART LIFE

I always say that words imitate art and art imitates life. Writing isn't just a passion its a hobby. Creating is enjoyed as much as a good read or a real thinker of a poem. Poetry is my first love and the pen is my mistress.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.