Humans logo

Pete Edochie Talks Chioma Chukwukwa, Other Celebrity Divorces in New Interview

Pete talks women, marriage, and more.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

For many months now, there have been speculations that actress Chioma Chukwuka may have gotten a divorce, and now during a new interview with Chude, it seems Nollywood veteran Pete Edochie is confirming the story.

During the interview, Pete Edochie was asked about his controversial stance that men, not women, are leaders. In giving his answer, Pete Edochie doubled down on that notion, and also spoke about a number of celebrity divorces including Chioma Chukwuka, Ireti Doyle, and Tonto Dikeh. Here is what Pete Edochie had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Pete Edochie during interview

During his interview, Pete Edochie was asked "You were quoted as saying "in our culture men lead, it's not the woman that leads". People were uncomfortable with that because this is the era of women's empowerment and feminism. What did you mean by that?" He responded:

PETE EDOCHIE: When you go to marry, your wife drops her father's name, and assumes yours. You can't have two people as captains on a ship. Women convert houses into homes. If you don't have a woman in the house, your house can never be a home. My wife just came in now, she's a lawyer. I have lived with this woman for the past 53 years. Nobody has ever come in here to say "Pete stop beating her, you will kill her", no. Why? Because I never saw my father beat my mother. So I cannot say I learned from my father how to beat mama. No, I did not. I want to think about things that would help us progress, not influences that will drag us backwards. Why are men wearing earrings? What's the inspiration there? Most of these influences come from outside the country. They don't help us. In our culture like I said, a man does not kneel down to offer a ring to a woman. And again, men and women are not equals in the home. No. There has to be a leader. You see, women are free to express their opinions.

If you come to our industry today, most of our girls who got married some 2/3 years ago have all left their husbands. From beginning to the end. I'm even shocked to hear that Chioma Chukwuka has also left her husband. Ireti Doyle, Tonto. You know, you take a vow when you're going to get married - for better, for worse. Not for better, for us. For better, for worse. You will always think it's greener on the other side, that's the mistake that we all make. Try to be satisfied with what you have within you. It goes a long way.

What do you think about what Pete Edochie said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

If you want to follow me on alternative social media, I am now on Twitter and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me on Twitter as well @JideOkonjo.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.