Humans logo

Our last dance

Lovers don't finally meet somewhere. They're in each other all along. - Rumi

By Yuliana FranciePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Our last dance
Photo by Geran de Klerk on Unsplash

“Uno, dos, tres, y

(one, two, three, and)

El la'o de tu cama que estaba caliente se está congelando

(The side of your bed that was warm is freezing)

Miro el teléfono y toda' tus foto' me están torturando

(I look at the phone and all your photos are torturing me)

No te olvido todavía, quién te dijo esa mentira?

(I haven’t forgotten you yet, who told you that lie?)

Sabes que yo no te olvido”

(You know that I do not forget you)

My legs felt numb and cramped. I wanted to dance so badly, but my body stiffened, refused to follow my wish. I felt overwhelmed with a deep longing to wrap myself around your solid and muscular arms to fill my body with your warmness. A continuous replay of heart-wrenching memories filled my head and bled my heart each and every time.

“Yo solamente quiero estar contigo.

(I just want to be with you)

Dime ya por que

(Tell me why)

Dime por que te fuiste, dimelo, bebe”

(Tell me why you left, tell me baby)

I echoed Camillo’s lyrics, tell me, why did you leave? I sat down crying on the floor, feeling devastated. If I could turn back the time, I would’ve never let you go. The dance floor felt cold, harsh, and punishing without you. Since our last dance, I lost my passion for dancing. Each time I stepped onto the dance floor, my soul was occupied with one sole mission to search for signs of your existence.

It was a year ago when I first met you. Your beautiful light brown eyes with a cheeky smile captivated my heart at that instance. But I was too busy searching for love everywhere and not knowing it was blossoming inside us all along. I avoided you to protect my hearts; I’ve been deeply hurt before. I chose to run away from your love. I was angry at the Universe for introducing us only to tear us apart. But, I then found my peace and gratitude. Because your short presence in my life was enough to help me rediscover my true self. By loving you, I fell in love with myself again. I realized that it’s you who I fell in love with after you’ve long gone. Nobody feels like you, and only you, who I entrust my delicate hearts. I know my soul found the loving home in your safe and protective arms.

Beep .. beep .. beep. A notification from my Instagram mystified the dark cloud in my head and brought me back into reality. I froze! It’s you! “Hi, how are you? It’s been a while, but I found your Instagram a couple days ago. Would you like to chat? We have a lot to catch up on.” Tears rolled down my cheeks like a river. I had to pinch myself and reread your message few times to make sure that it’s all real. I’ve been praying and dreaming for this moment to come. “Of course, I would love to hearing from you,” I replied. With a glass of merlot in hand, I spent the evening sharing my life stories while listening to yours.

A month later, “You look stunning. I am sure he won’t be able to take his eyes off you.” said Anny, my flatmate. I gave her a quick hug and lightly kissed her rosy cheeks. I am so grateful for her help calming my nervousness to finally meet you again. We can finally write an ending of our life story together. The drive to the airport felt much longer than usual. I was overwhelmed with excitement; I rushed out to the arrival lounge. Your tall and solid frame stood out of the crowd. The second our eyes interlocked, you swept me off my feet. Your soft loving gaze expressed adoration of every part of me. My heart skipped a beat as I sensed the warm cuddle through your arms while I buried my head on your chest. Your touch is all I need to keep me alive and keep going no matter what! You are my spark, and I am yours; we are one kind of new vibration now. Nothing will set us apart anymore.

You pulled me closer, hugged me tighter. The world stopped spinning for us to enjoy the precious moment. A chauffeur in a black suit approached us, “Sir, are you ready?” Unwillingly, you loosened up your arms around my waist and nodded. We held hand tightly as we walked to a black Audi SUV. “I dreamed of this moment for a long time. I want it to be our memory for the lifetime.” You whispered and lightly brushed my lips with yours. “With you beside me, everything is perfect. I couldn’t ask for more,” I replied with a wide smile. My heart is overflown with love.

We sat silently holding hands during the drive to Mount Wilson; we were fully immersed in each other’s presence. The Northern Hemisphere deciduous maple and oak trees displayed their vibrant red, orange, and green trees. A chilled Autumn breeze welcomed us at the Breenhold Park. The fallen maple leaves fabricated the feeling of a red carpet being rolled out just to greet us. From a distance, I heard the subtle sound of a violin. You took my hand, lightly kissed, and said, “Would you like to dance?” Two ladies in white gown playing violin walked towards us. We danced to our favorite song, You and Me. In your cuddle, I found my cocoon; it enabled me to grow wings. We are two halves of one holy grail.

“Babe, wake up! Your dance rehearsal starts in 2 hours.” Anny woke me up from my sweetest dream. The same dream that lingered in my consciousness long enough to bring me back into your arms. I checked out my phone, it showed 3 p.m. I couldn’t believe I’ve been asleep for over an hour. I shook my head to get me back into a reality that you are not beside me. I lived half awake and half asleep so that I can be with you. Until the day we meet again, I will find you in my dream to continue our last dance.

dating
3

About the Creator

Yuliana Francie

As a rebellious beacon of light, she made it her life mission to embolden women to own their worth and power so they can live life on their terms within the vessel of divinity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.