Humans logo

Open Letter To My Bestie

She's More Like My Sister

By Lanique RuffinPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Bestie,

I am so thankful that you came into my life. Before I met you, I didn't think that good people still existed in this world. I've been mistreated and stabbed in the back by so many so called friends, I lost count. You showed me that I shouldn't judge someone before I get to know them. I still remember the first day we met.

It was 2015 and you had just started at the building that I was supervising. I was so closed off because I don't trust easily. No matter how much you tried to interact with me, I didn't let you in. I didn't trust you because I didn't know you. Over time, you and I developed a bond so strong, no one in this world could break it. You've really shown me the true definition of what a true friend is all about. I immediately began to tear up when I think of the many ways you've held me down from the start.

When it felt like I was all alone in this world, you were there and you held me down with no questions asked. You even had my back at work...regardless of what anyone said. During some of my darkest moments, you've had my back.

When I lost my job in 2018 because of the shady stuff they pulled at work, you still had my back and I was nowhere around. If someone brought my name up in a negative manner, you made sure you corrected them. You do not play when it comes to me and the feeling is mutual.

When I lost my job and couldn't afford to do certain things, you looked out for me with no hesitation and no questions asked. You have a heart of gold and you hate to see people you care about hurt and you did your best to always keep me happy and you never complained one time.

I remember at one point, I was completely depressed. My love couldn't work because of his disability and I had just gotten a job but I had to be removed from that job because of my back. I cried to you and told you how felt and you listened to me. You always gave me awesome words of encouragement to make me feel better and I appreciate you so much for that. You've held me down so many times, I lost count.

There's been times where I needed your help and you were struggling too but you never let me know it. You would help me out and give me your last and I would never know it. You're just the type of friend that doesn't like to see someone they love or care about hurting. You always try to be there...even if it's from a distance. There's one time you were there for me that stood out the most.

We were at work and something happened that broke me down and shook me to the core. It had me in tears. I cried so hard I couldn't think straight. You came up to me and you held me until I could cry no more. You didn't leave my side until I felt better. Even till this very day, you still have my back mentally, physically and emotionally.

Our friendship has definitely had it's ups and downs as well. We argued about some issues that were crazy and now that I think about it, a lot of those arguments weren't even necessary but we made it through it all and our friendship is still going strong.

I thank you for being the most genuine, caring, understanding individual that you are. It took me a lifetime to find a friendship like this and now that I've found it, I'm never letting it go. I love you bestie.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Lanique Ruffin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.