Humans logo

YOU'RE NOT ALWAYS RIGHT

You think you know but you have no idea

By Lanique RuffinPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3


I find it hilarious how so many women think it's okay for a woman to confide in or sleep with another man because she's not getting the love, time and attention she feels she should be getting at home. She feels if her man was doing as he should, it would leave no room for her to cheat. Oh but when her man cheats, it's because he doesn't love her. She feels betrayed because she feels that she's the perfect woman and gives him everything he needs at home. You may think you know the reason he cheated, but you're not always right. Some of y'all are so busy thinking that your perfect, you don't even realize the mistakes that you're making in your
relationship.

Men can be unhappy in their relationships as well. What a woman's definition of a happy relationship is, may not be the same definition of a man's idea of being happy in a relationship.

I know that there's men that cheat just because it's something they choose to do, but that's not what this article is about. It's about women that don't hold themselves accountable for the wrong things they do in their relationships and the double standards within the relationship. Sometimes, the way you're being treated in your relationship, is a reflection of how you're treating your partner.

In order to come to an understanding in your relationship, there has tobegreatcomunication. You should be able to go to your partner and tell them your likes and dislikes. The same way a woman feels that she should be able to express herself to her man about how she's not happy and expect him to understand, she should understand if he comes to her for the same reason.

In the past, I had my own issues in my relationship. I was way overboard with the stuff I did. I was always going through his phone, arguing, complaining about stupid stuff etc...Sometimes I had valid points for doing what I did and other times, I didn't. I let my insecurities from my past relationships, interfere with my current relationship. This isn't an excuse for a man to cheat, but it's some of the reasons why they cheat. I know it sounds messed up but that's life.

When you're in a relationship, you're supposed to be the peace and security that your partner needs. A lot of women feel as though, it's not always their place to do these things and then they wonder why things aren't going right. A relationship isn't and should not be one sided. These double standards have got to go.

For example, if a woman goes to her man, and tell him that she's staying out until 4am with her girls having drinks, she expects him to be okay with that. When a man tells his woman he's hanging out at the bar with his boys until 4am, he's automatically accused of being a cheater. How does he know you really went out with your girls and not hugged up on some man? I suppose he should just take your word for it right? That's not how a relationship should work. If you expect something from your man, you should be able to give it in return. I'm not talking about material items. Give your man the same respect that you expect him to give you.

Listen, all I'm saying is, you have to communicate with your man and by communicate, I don't mean stay in his ear about what you want, how you're not happy, and what he can do to fix things. I'm not saying you can't do those things, you just have to communicate with him on his likes, if he's happy or what you can do to fix things. Men aren't the only ones that mess up in a relationship. I can guarantee that if you converse with your man about his feelings on how he views things the relationship, you'll realize he's not as happy as you thought.

Understand, I'm not saying that you're at a complete fault as to why your man cheats. I'm simply saying that if you look within, your not as perfect or innocent as you think.

advice
3

About the Creator

Lanique Ruffin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.