Humans logo

Only Accountants Can Save The World

Through Peace, Goodwill and Reconciliations "Unknown"

By Yvette McDermottPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
Only Accountants Can Save The World
Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

Everyone should be encouraged to follow their passions and be supported in them. When you do this, I believe it makes your life much richer and those around you as well. It makes for a happier life because you feel more fulfilled and receive enjoyment from what you are doing. If you're more involved, you always grow and learn from what you're doing regardless of your path.

When I was a kid, I didn't really think much about my future as kids live in the now. We go to school and then it seems we start to learn how to worry whether it's about grades, tests or how that pair of pants if making us look too fat, too skinny or just not like everyone else. School is one of the first places we see more of the outer world and influences outside of our own home and I also believe where some of us are put on our paths to what we can become.

I always had enjoyed going to school and studying; but it's not something I openly admitted because the "cool kids" didn't like school, and I didn't want to be a nerd. I was lucky in school because I was friends with many of the "cool kids" but also was known for being studious and taking that seriously without getting mocked for it. It was a balance I didn't really work for but was lucky to have. As such I remember taking those tests that were to help you find what type of work you might be suited for in grade 9. I was very interested in that test and the results. When I got my test results back my first career choice based on the results was an engineer and in the top three was accountant. I can't remember if that was second or third and I don't remember what the other one was.

I seemed to remember thinking engineering sounded boring, but accounting held my attention if not only to explore a little further. When I was in school we had no computers in schools yet, so I basically finished school without computers; I also realized that I needed to learn how to use them as they weren't going anywhere. As an adult I enrolled in a course that would teach me how to use computers plus some bookkeeping classes. Once I did those I was hooked and knew I wanted to learn more.

After my initial bookkeeping classes and computer classes, I enrolled in college full time in business administration with a major in Accounting and Financial Management. On my first day of college I almost chickened out on going as I had cold feet. I thought you could only get cold feet if you were getting married but apparently not. I talked myself down and just thought, "Ok just go check it out! If you don't like it, you don't have to go back." My self talk was like talking to a child to get them to try something new which is in reality what I did. It was the best self talk I ever had with myself as I did complete my studies and went on to my dream job.

By Monika Kubala on Unsplash

I had a roughed out idea of my work life as I know life does happen and everything doesn't always turn out, but what I thought was I wanted to work at an accounting firm and learn there how to do it correctly. Afterwards I wanted to work on my own. That was my roughed out work plan and I made it work. Now accounting doesn't seem like it would be anyone's dream job but believe me there are plenty of people who have made it so. I like to problem solve and accounting presented me with many learning opportunities to do so. I went to work for one of the big firms in small business and tax. One of the more important skills I honed was talking to people believe it or not. I was a very shy kid. I didn't talk so much and would more like to remain quiet than voice my opinion or answers. This was not one of the skills I thought I would gain on entering this profession, but it is an important one.

Years later after working many years at this firm I went to a smaller firm with the intention of working there for about five or so years before striking out on my own. But alas life happened and I lost my partner, Fraser. So I struck out on my own later that year. This is where the talking to people came in handy as I had to grow my company and that involves meeting potential clients and seeing if your offerings match up with their needs. This turned out to be a favourite part of working for myself. I enjoyed meeting with people and maintaining those relationships. In fact many of the clients I had over the years have become friends.

I loved the work I did over the years. In the early years I loved working at the firms because it was challenging and I knew I was learning a lot. I moved on by myself due to the personal circumstances of that year, but it was still in the right direction. I have once again moved on now but in order to do that, it had to be something that I would love even more which seems it would be hard to top. I still have some clients that I do work for but now I also watch my grandchildren most of the time. There are three of them and yes some days are exhausting and may not always flow the best, but it is totally worth it and I feel I am making an important contribution and is fulfilling in my heart.

Everyone has a different path but what's important is you own that and have an idea of your path and how to get there. And leave a little wiggle room for when life interrupts you. Life is so much easier when you do what you love. It is beneficial on many levels as you are sharing what you know and love to the community at large and feeling you are making a positive contribution. Some of the work I do even now is free to some seniors and also some who are having a difficult time. This is my way of giving back something while still being able to earn a living. In everyday life when I greet people for the most part I am cheerful which is also a byproduct of loving what I do.

When you see someone out there striking out on an endeavor whatever it is, give them that encouraging comment or let me know what a difference they are making.

By Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

humanity
2

About the Creator

Yvette McDermott

I am a grandma of three; I enjoy hiking, reading, cooking and Halloween. I mainly enjoy historical and horror films or books. I also enjoy exploring old sites and taking pictures.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.