Humans logo

One Woman Harem

The intricacies of being involved with this Gemini

By Claudia ConiglioPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
One Woman Harem
Photo by Sam Manns on Unsplash

Sometimes? The fluidity and speed with which my mood and/or personality changes gives me whiplash.

Mercury, the ruling planet of Gemini, was invisible due to daylight and below the western horizon the late May afternoon I was born. But it was certainly there, offering its lifelong gravitational influence on my body's fluids and my brain tissue. I'm a true Gemini. And so am I.

Bunk, you say? Celestial bodies have no sway over our individual sovereignty you think? Tell that to the ocean's waves, who twice a day are pulled into high and low tide by the moon.

The 12 constellations that make up the zodiac travel across the sky during our solar year. Each constellation doles out its impact during separate and specific groupings of 30 days. My birthday, smack dab in the middle of the 30 days allotted to Gemini, means I am about as flighty, quick witted and two faced as they come. Crystallized down? I'm never boring but I'm pretty shallow. Until I'm not.

As a child of an astrology obsessed father and a Gemini mom I could break out all the specifics of each sign and tell you the differences between each. I'll leave that to you. I've read too many books to count. Articles, too. I've cast mine and other people's birth charts. Drawn the circles and planetary symbols in the correct houses and all.

Yes, I am keenly aware of how general the traits of each sign are. Surely anyone could read themselves into one of each flavor of the zodiac. But I've also been on this planet long enough to know that for the most part? People usually fit into the constellation shaped boxes their sun signs ascribe to them. Much to their chagrin in some cases.

Before I expose myself as the impulsive, borderline narcissist I am, let me tell you what company I am in here in the sign of Castor and Pollux.

By History in HD on Unsplash

Prince, Clint Eastwood, John Wayne, JFK, 45, Marilyn Monroe, Kanye West, The Marquis de Sade, Anne Frank and Jeffrey Dahmer.

What do we all have in common? We captivate. We inspire further investigation.

Geminis possess the ability to rapidly switch gears, think ahead of most people around them and follow multiple thought streams at once. I can be having a fully engaged conversation with someone and be solving a design issue in my head while eavesdropping on the convo at the next table (pre-pandemic, obvi). My attention, while internally divided, placed full force on the recipient is complete and vested. I'll have your problem solved, or be able to put you at ease in seconds once I hear you speak just based on the tone of your voice. Though, to be fair, some of my intuitiveness is most likely due to my Scorpio moon. But we're not talking about moon signs here, are we?

The amount of information my brain is receiving at any given time is never enough. I'm always seeking input. Until I am tired and overloaded. Then? 20 or 30 minutes of silence before I am stalking the next bit of info. Or entertainment. Or distraction. Depends on my mood.

Of the 12 signs in Zodiac three are air. Air signs, like Gemini, are known for their ability to mutate. To fit in anywhere. To communicate (think breath) and to be driven by curiosity. I'm not sure any word in the English language describes me better than curious.

I've bucked traditional routes for my gender, and society my whole life in pursuit of knowledge. I've studied with masters, been in four different colleges, served in the military, I'm an ordained minister and I've carried licenses to sell real estate and be an air traffic control tower operator. I'm a Reiki Master and can hypnotize you and help you heal your current life by investigating your past ones. From the outside you'd think I was a quitter or someone who is unable to finish one thing. From the inside I can tell you I am chomping at the bit to find an avenue to my next intellectual conquest. There's five or six things I want to complete at any given time. Maybe seven.

Of course I am bisexual, too. Which ups the level of difficulty being in a relationship with me. Especially when I was younger. Mercy! I put my partners and ex-husbands through the wringer! They never knew what hit them, but they sure remember how they were hit. Every person I have ever been intimate with has gotten the exact lover they needed at that exact moment. And no one else has ever been with that exact version of me. I can change and reform and rapidly create that well. It entertains me.

By Damir Spanic on Unsplash

My Jack-of-of-All-Trades multitasking inventiveness doesn't stop in the bedroom. I cook, design, craft, write, mother, daughter, facilitate and throw hellacious parties. My perspective shifting allows me to help guests at events I've hosted mingle because I can see, through my two sets of opposing eyes, how best to introduce them to each other. I make everyone feel comfortable because they can sense I'm like them in some fashion, and that's always true, because at least a small portion of one of me is like them.

The aforementioned celebrity counterparts all exemplify my statements. I am not alone in this Gemini multiverse. More credence lent to my zodialogical assignment.

Only someone who was willing to be on constant lookout for the next emerging personality, or who is thrilled by watching the world through the bright blue eyes of curiosity should dare enter the ring with me. I'm exhausting in my quest to get things done fast and relentless in my drive to find new things to be excited about. I've been compared to a roller coaster and learning to fly.

Lucky for me, my mate, still able to keep up and keep me interested, is okay with being simultaneously thrilled and terrified. He puts up with it because he's got at least six vastly different women rolled into one.

love
4

About the Creator

Claudia Coniglio

I'm the Jack-of-all-trades your mother warned you about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.