Humans logo

O'Connell Bridge - Pt. 7

Christian lite - fiction

By Dub WrightPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

“The New Hanover Hospital Emergency Room on North Highway 17 rocked all night long,” according to LC. He sipped his coffee and glanced at the morning sports section.

Suzi, the waitress at Waffle House stood awaiting his order. “Well rock my world Liam, place an order.” She tapped her pad.

“Okay, two sausages and toast. That’s it.”

“No waffle today?”

“I’m meeting Mike and Willie, my brothers, at 7 AM to talk about some plans for our folks 50th wedding anniversary, they’ll probably have donuts.”

“That’s pretty cool. Tell yer folks congrats from Waffle House. If they came by, I’d buy them a coffee. When’s the big day?”

“December 28. They apparently had a Christmas and New Years celebration at the same time 50 years ago. We’re thinking doing something maybe earlier in the month.”

“You know, just a sec.” She ran the coffee pot down to two more customers. Then came back. “You know, talk to your folks, you might want to just take them to dinner in December. Go like to someplace nice, not Waffle House, if you know what I mean, and then have a blowout party in January sometime, invite all their friends and family. Cause like everyone is busy in December, but January is kinda a bummer; after the first, nothing goes on except MLK day and not too many parties associated on that date. Avoid all the Christmas and New Year’s bashes.”

“That’s a good idea. I’ll run it by Mike and Willie later this morning.

Suzi went to the grill and carried back LC’s toast and sausage. “Here ya are.” She set the plates down. “Fifty years of marriage. That’s a long time. When are you ever going to get married?”

“Hard to say. Like right now, I have the right girl but at the wrong time. I suppose when the time is right, I will no longer have the girl.”

“Liam, there’s no such thing as a good time. It’s a matter of commitment.”

LC took a deep breath. “I know all that, but it wouldn’t be fair to her for me to run off to school somewhere and be totally un-attentive. If I get into med school, we’re talking about eight years of commitment plus the arduous job of dealing with the profession. I don’t want to subject someone I love to that kind of abuse.”

Suzi served several other customers before returning. “Women have supported their men since the beginning of time. If she loves you, it doesn’t matter what you do. Look at military wives.”

LC wiped his lips. “Plus, I’m looking at life of abject poverty until years after I enter the medical profession. Like I have a hard time imagining how I’m going to pay my student loans as it is.”

“How old are you Liam?”

“I’m 22 but will be 23 on July 1.”

She served two more customers and eventually made her way back to LC’s table.

“I’d already had two kids by the time I was 23 and we didn’t have a pot to pee in.” She picked up the coffee pot and moved quickly to serve two customers who just walked in.

LC finished breakfast and drove quickly to the school board. The meeting with his brothers was to be at 7 AM in a conference room. Willie had arranged it for 30 minutes before the staff came in. “Hey,” he said as he walked into the conference room. His brothers were sipping coffee and looking at a calendar.

“Hey,” they both echoed.

Mike pointed at a chair. “Sit, let's get this over with.”

“I, rather a friend gave me the idea, I think we should like take them to dinner on their anniversary date, someplace nice in Myrtle, and then have a blowout party in January after all the December parties are finished.”

“Little brother has spoken,” Mike’s stern words didn’t really take LC by surprise.

“Well it’s an idea.” LC leaned back in the chair. He was the only one without a coffee cup.

Willie pointed out when school let out for the Christmas break, and Mike marked on the calendar when he and Brenda were taking a winter vacation. LC sat silently watching.

Finally, Mike looked over at LC. “When’s school out for the holidays?”

“I’ll be out of school, unless I get a med school; in such case, I have no idea. So just set your schedules and I’ll plan to attend.”

“Good to me.” Mike tossed his pen in the air and slid his chair back. Got a planning meeting with the Pender County Board this morning. Gotta run.”

Willie also stood. “Then, we’ll just pick a date and do it.” Meaning to LC that Willie and Mike would pick a date and inform him afterward.

“I guess I’m gone too.” LC followed the brothers out of the room and walked back to his truck. Mike did not follow. “Remind me not to send Christmas Cards.” LC patted the fender of his truck.

Thirty minutes later, he pulled up to the apartment building. Caitlin was just leaving and he waved. She smiled broadly and waved back and mouthed, “I love you.”

To be continued...

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dub Wright

Curmudgeon; overeducated; hack writer; too much time in places not fit for habitation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.