Humans logo

O'Connell Bridge - Pt. 32

Christian lite - fiction

By Dub WrightPublished 5 years ago 9 min read
Like

Seamus was nowhere around when Clarice picked LC up at the Ashling. He was dressed in his black suit with a heavy all weather top coat.

“George, drive to the park and go slowly around, and maybe twice if I so instruct.”

LC looked at Clarice. She had a beautiful off-white dress. It was form-fitting and with a wide pearl necklace holding her chin high. The back was open and the sleeveless gown was cut down her side. She was perfectly made up and looked like a runway model. Her red and black coat appeared to be more of a cape and was draped across her lap.”

“Clarice you are gorgeous. Absolutely beyond compare.”

LC settled into the seat next to her.

“Liam,” she began. “I set out to make you into a gentleman—an English gentleman at that. What you showed me though was beyond a shadow of a doubt you are already a gentleman. With a tad of refinement you are fit to serve the Queen. You have taught me more about decorum than anything I have known before. Your honest and innocent charm has mesmerized me. Should you propose to me after the events of tonight, I would fall kissing your feet. Truly I love the American sent for me to train, but he trained me. You had every opportunity to take advantage of me numerous times but restrained as a true gentleman. I know of no other man with such qualities.”

“Clarice, you were in no condition last night to—” she put a finger to his lips.

“It would have been of no problem for you to make love to me last night; it would have been mutual.”

“But, you were not well.”

“That was earlier, but I waited for you. But even when you came in you only cared for me.”

“The last time I saw you was when I took my shower.”

She smiled. “I know. And I peeked around the curtain when you washed your hair. How I wanted to join you in the shower, but I knew by that time, you would not allow such a thing.”

LC imagined the same event and didn’t believe she was capable but didn’t say more.

“If you elect to leave the party tonight, I will follow. Together we can do great things.”

“I guess that is comforting to know. Clarice, I am at a confusing time in my life. I have no idea what is going on. I don’t know why I’m here, much less what is expected of me.”

Clarice touched his arm. “I didn’t intend to fall in love with you. My job was to get you ready to meet Mrs. O’Neil. Nothing more.”

“We have only known each other three days. I think that is hardly enough time to begin a serious relationship.”

“Then let's set sail around the world, take a year.”

LC almost laughed. “I hope to be in med school next year.”

They slowly coasted up to the Dax Restaurant. George rounded the car and opened the door for LC who in turn held out his hand for her to grasp. Together they walked into the private dining room where a number of guests were gathered. Many heads turned to see the new guests. The first to come up to him was Montgomery, the attorney, and his wife Meg. LC property presented Clarice although Monty already knew her. He secured a flute of champagne for Clarice from the bar and a tonic water for himself. Clinton introduced his wife to LC who then presented Clarice. At the side of the room, LC spotted Seamus with a young woman in a daring black-sequined, V-necked dress. Seamus nodded, but did not approach. People started nearly lining up to meet LC and with each he presented Clarice.

“Liam, excuse me to the ladies room. I’ll be right back.” Clarice walked out a side door and left LC standing near the door holding her flute of champagne. Seamus slipped over to his side and introduced Missy.

“Pleased to meet you. I have heard wonderful things about your travels.”

Missy squeezed Seamus’ arm. “Thank you.”

“I am supposed to be background unless you need something. Simmons has another meeting for me to attend with him in just a few minutes.”

“I think I understand, but I wish you could stay. You’re one of the few friendly faces in the crowd.”

“Well you know Clinton. He told me they are incorporating nearly all of the changes you suggested.”

“Cool.”

After a few minutes Clarice reappeared with another woman. “Mrs. O’Neil has yet to make an appearance. Be ready, it may a blink of an eye, she’ll sweep through and be gone. She probably has two more meetings tonight.” Seamus and Missy walked back to the wall and blended into the crowd.

LC stood with Clarice and it appeared everyone in the room watched the door for the appearance of Mrs. O’Neil. “Remember what I taught you, she will probably ask you a couple of questions. You must be brutally honest.” Clarice pulled his arm close to her. “Liam this is your night. These people are here for you. Happy Birthday.” She lightly kissed his cheek.

Finally, around 9:00 PM, a woman came in and said, she’s just leaving the board room. Seconds later, the double doors swung open and Mrs. O’Neil came striding in. A short balding man was following her carrying a briefcase. She began speaking to couples near the door and worked her way around the room until she came to LC and Clarice.

Simmons quickly stepped forward. “Mrs. O’Neil, please meet Mr. Liam Brennan of the United States.”

LC held out his had just as he had been taught. “Pleased to meet you.”

“And I know you,” she winked. “Indeed, we have met before. Clarice you and Simmons go look at artwork or something. Mr. Brennan and I have a lot to discuss.”

LC couldn’t remember meeting her before, but the woman who took his arm was very thin with a gray hairdo. She was wearing a long white and yellow dress with a pattern of diamond sequins running down the skirt. The sleeves were long and carried the same pattern as the skirt. Her face was tight and showed stress lines under the makeup which appeared professionally applied. She put her hand inside LC’s arm. “Let’s walk.”

The crowd magically parted to allow LC and Mrs. O’Neil to pass.

“Tell me Liam. Have you been enjoying yourself?”

“Yes, ma’am, it has been a real adventure.”

“A lot of people have been involved in bringing you here. Well, I would have brought you to London, but certain people thought Dublin was more appropriate.

LC remembered. She asks the questions.

“I assigned Simmons man Seamus to look after you. Has that gone well?”

“He has been a wonderful assistant, tour guide, but more importantly a friend. Yes, it has gone well.”

“Good. And your culture training with Clarice?”

“Very good. I hope I haven’t failed her in that respect.”

Mrs. O’Neil smiled and squeezed his arm. “Tell me your honest impression of Clarice. Don’t worry, I will not be dismissing anyone no matter what you say.”

LC started. “Well to be very sexist and chauvinistic, may I say she is a drop-dead gorgeous woman. She is elite, driven, professional, perhaps obsessive, and with an aggressive passion I have never experienced anywhere in my lifetime.”

Mrs. O’Neil leaned into him and whispered. “Did you sleep with her?”

“No ma’am.”

She looked surprised. “Oh?” She glanced at Clarice who was standing across the room. “I know her, you’re a man, surely?”

“First, I have only known Clarice three days. And secondly, she’s my instructor, to break that relationship would be to put it on a whole new level.”

“She’s in love with you. Did you know that?”

“She told me. Ma’am, she’s a wonderful woman. Probably should be royalty. But, love is more than lust and infatuation.”

“Indeed. That is quite correct. You have a girlfriend back home?”

“Yes, and no. I burnt some bridges. She and I are no more. I wouldn’t commit to her and she was done dealing with me. She dismissed me.”

Mrs. O’Neil squeezed his arm again. “Did you love her?”

“I still do ma’am.”

“What did you like about her?”

“She’s beautiful, loving, fun, empathetic, and has more integrity than I have ever known. And, she fits me like a glove.”

She whispered. “Ever sleep with her?”

LC was somewhat disturbed by the direction of the conversation. “No, not because I, er we, didn’t want to. We, I mean, I tried to prevent such contact because first of all I was a Bio-Chemistry major, as well as working 32 hours per week. I avoided all distractions. I really put an undue burden on Cait, my girlfriend, I realize now. I didn’t want to move into something that would change our relationship, I guess I was afraid of commitment.”

“You did very well in school, I know, I saw your report.”

“Thank you.”

“I have one more personal question. “If you could spend the rest of your life with either of these two women who would you choose.”

LC took a breath. “Clarice is a wonderful woman, and would make a great professional companion. I would be sitting in the lap of luxury. But, it would be a life long competition.”

“I see,” she said with an almost disapproving tone. “And the other?

“But, I think, I may face a life of med school debt and possibly poverty for many years. My former love, if she would ever have me back, would have to be Caitlin Dugan. I need her by my side as we face the future. And, I plan to ask her that if she ever speaks to me again.”

“Have you any question for me?” Mrs. O’Neil looked over LC’s shoulder into the room and nodded toward someone.

LC didn’t hesitate. “What’s so special about O’Connell Bridge?”

Mrs. O’Neil had a slight smile and after a pause she said, “My late husband, Jim, proposed to me there. It was a foggy cold night like tonight.”

A young woman in a plain black dress and carrying a notepad came up to Mrs. O’Neil and whispered something to her.

“Tell them I’ll be there shortly.”

The woman quickly scooted away. “Ahh.” Mrs. O’Neil smiled broadly. “There’s someone you need to meet.” A tall bearded, middle-aged man, in a tailored blue suit, approached. “Liam, meet Dr. Waylan Smythe, he’s Vice Chancellor of Edinburg School of Medicine.”

“How do you do.”

The man dipped his head slightly, “Very well, and you?”

“Fine, thank you.” LC released his hand.

Mrs. O’Neil patted Smythe’s arm. “He has several questions for you. Now, if you will excuse me I have a meeting with some guests dining in the next room. Liam, it’s your birthday party, do ask everyone to be seated so dinner can be served.” She walked toward the exit with Simmons at her heel. She stopped suddenly at the door and smiled. “And, Liam. Do have a happy birthday, and I truly enjoyed sitting in your truck.”

As soon as she left, LC sensed a great relief came over the crowd.

“Mrs. O’Neil wishes for everyone please be seated,” LC said to the people, watching Mrs. O’Neil’s exit.

Clarice walked to LC’s side and whispered. “You did well.”

LC turned to Dr. Smythe and pointed to a seat. “Please join us.” Clarice, LC, and Dr. and Mrs. Smythe all sat at the round table with Clinton and his wife. “Mrs. O’Neil said you have questions for me. I was in Edinburg just yesterday.”

“So I have been told. I do wish you had come in to the offices. Mr. Brennan. Let me come right to the point we are holding a fully funded seat for you in the fall class, which begins August 13th.”

To be continued...

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dub Wright

Curmudgeon; overeducated; hack writer; too much time in places not fit for habitation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.