Humans logo

Not What I Imagined

Part 1

By Ray Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Not What I Imagined
Photo by Leighann Blackwood on Unsplash

Every little girls fantasizes about her dream wedding. Getting to dress up like a princess, looking beautiful, being adored by her friends and family. Every little detail being as perfect as possible. Most importantly, she gets to share the day with the love of her life. That special someone that sees past all of her flaws, looks past everything and sees who she truly is on the inside. Every little girl wants to grow up and be loved by her person, her soulmate. I mean that’s all that anyone wants, right? Everyone wants to be loved for who they are on the inside and out. The only problem is that finding that special someone is more difficult for some than others.

“I swear this school just keeps falling apart.” Emma and I were sitting at these poorly put together desks for the second year in a row. They were supposed to be the kind of desks that architects use. They pop up so you can map out and scale drawings for drafters to go over, most of the time they were stuck and broke really easily. “ I think you forgot Em, only the engineering students get the good classrooms, we get their old junk.” No this isn’t a trade school, we attend a public school right in the middle of redneck central. For some reason when you enter into highschool you have to choose an “academy.” Emma and I chose construction, that’s not what I wanted to do. In my freshman year my best friend Sarah and a few other friends told me we should all do construction because the teacher was more relaxed. That same year Sarah and everyone else decided that I didn’t fit into their clique anymore and I was left behind. Now I am stick with construction, Emma was the only other person I knew in my class and now she’s my only friend. It’s sophomore year now, first day and Emma was right, this school just looks like it’s going to combust at any moment.

“Izzy, yah think if we sit in the back of the room, Mr. Kirk won’t call on us anymore?”

“Nah, were his favorite students, and besides he calls on the kids in the back the most.”

We chose these two seats up at the front “Emma we might as well take advantage of our favoritism this year to try and keep our grades up.” We really we’re his favorite, we mostly stayed quiet and got our work done, but he was a really confusing teacher so passing wasn’t easy.

The tardy bell had rang and the classroom was filled with sophmores, all the kids who made the same choice as me. We were stuck in this program till we graduated. Mr. Kirk stood up at the front of the class room, he went on the same speech he does every year. (This man was famous for his first day of class speech) when he started roll cal I turned to look at everyone. I recognized everyone from last year...except one. He was in the row behind me, I’d seen him around school before but never in this class. Was he new? Did he switch programs? I didn’t think you could do that.

I leaned over to Emma “hey who is that guy?”

“His name is Ian I think, He’s a senior”

Mr. Kirk was still calling roll, the old man liked to take his time. “Ian Roberts?” The guy raised his hand.

“Mr. Roberts, you’re finally back.”

“Yes sir, just trying to graduate.”

I’m assuming he missed a year of the program, I guess you don’t need to do all four years of high school. It only takes three to finish because part of it is half semesters, but wow imagine being a senior in a room of underclassmen. I know I wouldn’t appreciate it. I mistakenly turned to look at him when Mr. Kirk called his name. He gave me a very unpleasant look, I turned away fast. This year is going to be fun, I can tell.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Ray

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.