Humans logo

No Mistakes

Patience

By bitw bitbPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
No Mistakes
Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

God don’t make no mistakes.

The blue waves washed upon the tan-brown sand taking away the footprints and the sand images that were. The sunset, the horizon as it marries the sea had that pinkish yellow haze that I never quite understood. There was a feeling of bliss, an internal happiness I longed so much for. Maybe I finally found it. Her dark skin glistened so brightly as she laid back on that warm sandy beach. Her luscious black box braids wet from the salty water but she had no cares. She was up and I gazed upon her as she swung those voluptuous hips. Then with her full lips, warm brown eyes, and that round nose I always liked she said, "What's on your mind?" I simply told her ,

"I could die here."

"That job interview was tragic. They’re not hiring me. They want me to go to some place called Montana. What the heck is a Montana?” "It's a state”, tom replied," "Ohhhhh. Anyways me and him shook hands but it's like I know and he knows that he's not hiring me, so let's just get some food." Me and Tom were in the food court of this semi-abandoned mall. Retail is dying. I really need to graduate cause without this engineering degree what am I gonna do with my life, I thought. "Hello what would you like to order?" The cashier of the chinese food place seemed excited about life. He had that smile that people have when they haven't been knocked down with disappointment too many times in their life. As I was about to order "Umm-" "How's the chicken here?" This girl was to my right wearing light machine washed jeans with a maroon spaghetti tank top, and a pair of black flip flops. As I wondered why is she asking me how's the chicken. I mean haven't you been to chinese places before just put it in your mouth and enjoy it."Uhhh the chicken is good, I mean I have never been here before but it's chinese I would assume it's good." Not sure if my answer had sufficed but she replied, "Hmmm yeah I'll get italian." She moved onto the italian place and then I noticed her friend. Melanin enriched, black coiled hair parted to the right side of her face. She had these black adidas shorts and a brazil jersey with the number 10 on the back. Her thighs were thick and defined. I thought maybe she plays football. Me and Tom went to sit down and surprisingly to me- but maybe not to Tom who had spoken at length with the girls- I watched as they took seats at our table. Tom was more inviting, he made conversation and I started eating. I was hungry. I needed the joyful feeling food gives you considering I don't have a job and my potential prospect that day had gone up in flames. The quiet friend got to talking and stated how she was here to get a massage. She had a slight injury from a football game and in my head I was like score 1 for making assumptions. Eventually, I had got to talking maybe a whole bunch of waffling, but I started describing myself and how I l really lacked patience. The one with the number 10 jersey laughed and quipped "Maybe I can help you with that." I smiled and thought girl please, who are you? When we finished our meals and were about to depart ways it dawned on me I didn't actually know her name. With a nervous laughter in between I said "Hey uh what's your name by the way." She said

"I'm Patience."

Green blades of fresh cut grass. The white painted lines upon them. Clouds have filled the blue sky as the sun tries to peek through. The net ripples. “Dang that’s a great shot girl.” Me and Patience are together at a high school field playing football together. This is the perfect weather for football and this is the first time I get to see what she’s capable of with a ball at her feet. I stand in the middle of the goal area waiting as she wants to practice her crosses. She’s right footed and she dribbles towards the corner on the left side. Taking a swing with her left foot to the ball, the connection must be perfect. The ball is at least 20ft in the air as it makes its way to me. Reading it’s flight, I have to time this right and oh wow it’s perfect. I turn towards the ball, jump straight into the air, turn my head left then immediately back to the right. Forehead to ball, ball to left side net, goal. We go on practicing for hours. Drills and conditioning even into the night sky. As I sit down on the grass exhausted I tell her

“I’m really glad I met you.”

“What do you want to do with your life?” “I don’t know Patience, I’m going to school for engineering so it’s like I want to be an engineer but I guess I want to kind of save the world in a way or maybe like help it and help the people in it. I still need like 20k just to finish school but I’ll cross that bridge before it falls apart hopefully. I am scared though. I’m not smart like Shuri or Tony Stark or something, but my hope is with enough schooling maybe I could get close to being a part of something that would be really beneficial. Maybe I could build something or be on a team that really contributes something worthwhile to society.” She replies “It seems like you got a lot of dreams. If I’m being honest I hope that the books I’ve written and will continue to write give something to people. Not sure what it needs to give them cause everyone may need something different but I hope whatever it is it helps them in their life.

“You’ve helped me.”

The flights of various places flash on the screen. I can’t really believe what’s happening. “When will you be back Patience.” She says “I’m not sure. I just want you to know that you’re what I want. Don’t forget us. If I can’t video, I’ll call. If I can’t call, I’ll text. If I can’t text I’ll write. I told you I wouldn’t ever let you go so even though I might not be around you’re all that I know.” I tell her, “I’m not leaving you for anyone no matter if you’re on mars or in Monrovia you’re in my heart forever.In the light of day I look and I see you. In the night sky the moon shines and I know it's you. Words that mean we, us, you me, me you. All I’m saying is I wanna be with you.”

“I love you”

95mph down 95 I think she may be terrified. It’s 7pm, it's dark, winter time, January to be exact. Frank Ocean’s Nights plays through the car speakers. Weaving in between lanes with turn signals signaling, because I just dislike the fact that other people can’t drive as good as me. So here’s me teaching them. Approaching S curves from the left lane on a 3 lane highway at 80mph. Right turn signal as I’m about to pass the toyota corolla ahead of me cause at this speed it’s better to change lanes as you approach curves so I’m gonna get into the middle. She prays silently. If we don’t go fast we’ll be late and I want this to be the perfect first date. Luckily, there’s no police on this road so accelerator mostly, no time to brake.

“Sorry.”

The monitor displays a heartbeat, blood pressure and some other things I’m not sure of. This isn’t like my kind of engineering. I see tubing but it’s not wires of electricity it’s IVs and drips to help sustain a life. It’s been a couple years. I’m wearing these white shoes, black adidas sweats and a brazil jersey. I had this little black book I’m clutching tightly that I had been writing in and it has a lot of our memories together in it. "You know I was never good with dates so it's not in a chronological order, but I wrote some stuff in it. I figured I could give it to you at some point so--" The tears were heavy in my eyes I could barely even see her. It was too blurry and as she choked back her tears she said "Don't cry my love. I thought I was the writer.” We chuckled a bit through the crying. She told me “ I also want to give you something." She reached for paper on the stand beside her. All I could think was how fragile she looked. So thin, so pale, and I couldn't do anything. What she handed to me read Trebor's Trust. She stated "This is for you I have been saving money for myself but then there you came along into my life and myself became us. So this is for our future and now I'm giving it all to you." "You don't have to do that, you're gonna be alright my love. Because our love isn't a tragedy it's a fairytale and in fairytales everything is alright.” As I said this to her I could barely speak. The paper she handed me now had drops of my tears and my voice was cracking in almost every word. Every time I spoke it was as if I was struggling for air. "Look at me." I looked up at her, her hair brittle, her face thin, her lips cracked, as she tried to smile through the tears. "You didn't even ask me how much it is." “I don't want it, maybe we can use it to help you. I should have gone to school for biology." "No"... she coughed. "NO." she said forcibly. “You take it, it's $20000.” At this point I couldn't breathe. I knelt before her sobbing. She held my head to her, kissed me and said,

“God doesn't make any mistakes.”

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.