Humans logo

New Life to Old Love

Reviving self love through cultural pride.

By RainbowPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Two spirited. Mixed media. 2019-2021

When I was 6, I clumsily beaded my first pair of earrings. As my scissors snipped the final threat...my love for Native arts ignited. I became privvy to a whole new world of cultural pride. I am Alaskan Native (Lower-Koyukon Athabascan) from the interior of Alaska.

The traditional works of the Athabascan people are often not viewed as art because they are too practical. Is crafting an art...despite being a utility?

Yes.

We were seasonally nomadic; moving across the land in harmony, alongside the fertility of nature. There are homes and some modern conveniences...but the scene is largely the same. In the summer we go to fish camp, in the fall we gather food, and in winter? We create.

The artifacts that have been hidden away in collections are filled with nothing but the utmost love. Each bead was woven by someone who chose to spend their free time making small tokens of beauty. Those tokens of beauty were not for display, they were tethered to the tools needed for survival.

I grew up immersed in Native culture but, I still live between 2 different worlds. In addition to being Athabascan, I am also Klamath Indian from southern Oregon.

I live in Interior Alaska, but we weren't really shown how to celebrate that side of our heritage. We were only privy to the Klamath culture, and were kept sheltered from the native community here. I had to cut ties with my maternal side, but it opened up a whole new world of...family.

When I was going through the worst part of my no-contact journey; no one on my paternal side looked at me differently. I became more involved in my culture through art and then started using my cultural knowledge to educate others. I always felt unqualified to educate others on Native culture...but I am actually one of the most qualified.

I graduated with my degree in Native Art, and a minor in Alaskan Native Studies in 2019. I spent my formative years in the village, and the language I learned there was never lost on me. I am a proud Native artist, and I have been teaching through art my entire life. I was trying so hard to keep culture pure; that is how I was taught. The more I looked outside the world of tradition, the more beauty I was able to see within our people.

I've been creating 'correct' Native art for years. I had a pretty good base for my new path. These shoes were my first foray into modern expressions of culture. This wasn't a new idea, I came across a post on social media and thought...I can do that.

Turns out I can do it, but after one shoe I decided that I no longer really wanted to. They have been sitting in the box since 2019. I decided that; even though I didn't have the time to make them perfect, the beauty was worth bringing out of the box. I've picked up quite a few tricks, so I used acrylic (with fabric-medium) to paint the outline that had already been drawn. It was a quick task, but when I stepped back I realized that they are the perfect alliteration of my personal journey.

I didn't want to bead the other side originally. I didn't feel worth my own effort. I finished the other side when I realized that I wasn't recognizing the effort I had already put forth. Most people are taken aback when they see me wearing them.

'Why would you wear those, they are beautiful.'

I wear my pride in extraordinary ways because it is beautiful. Native art isn't meant to be lost in a museum, or reserved only for special events. Native art is Native Pride. I will walk proudly while wearing shoes that are a constant reminder to the world around me.

art
2

About the Creator

Rainbow

I am a one of a kind person. I am a 28 year old single mother who won her battle against bipolar disorder on December 10, 2020. I am a professional artist, and a believer of my written word. Just an Alaskan girl, hoping to spread joy to all

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.