Humans logo

Nancy Screw and the Coming of Age (18+) Chapter 7

Love Hurts

By Alder StraussPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Redhead art by Glen Orbik

Chapter 7

Love Hurts

Beth and Janet found Nancy on a park bench not far from Beth’s house but a considerable distance from the party. The park was very dark this time of night, but the two could hear Nancy’s sobs over the purr of Beth’s car’s engine as the pulled to a stop at the entrance. The two parked the car and hurried over to where Nancy sat.

“What happened, Nanc? Are you okay?” Beth put her arms around Nancy as she sat down next to her. Nancy kept sobbing, but quieter than before. They were starting to sound exhausted. Nancy’s face was also beet red. It looked like she had been crying for some time.

“Nancy, what happened?” Beth egged on. “Can you tell me?”

Nancy slowly nodded. Beth wasn’t sure if that was to acknowledge her request or for some other unknown reason. Nancy seemed to be hysterical. Funny thing was, she didn’t show it like one would expect.

Janet sat opposite of Beth. She just listened in for the moment.

“Nancy, could you please tell us what’s wrong? We’re starting to get worried.”

Nancy grew silent for a moment. Eventually, she gathered herself and spoke.

“I, I went upstairs because that’s where, that’s where Janet told me that Billy was.”

Nancy paused to catch her breath. She had begun sobbing again. The other two were starting to get an idea of what was going on.

“Please go on, Nanc,” Beth encouraged, and rubbed her shoulder.

“Well, the door was open upstairs and there were two people inside.”

Beth and Janet leaned in.

“I, I thought it was two other people. I, I wasn’t trying to look, but I heard someone say Billy’s name.”

Tears started running down her cheeks again. The end of the story was clear.

“I looked again and saw that it was, it was BILLY AND ALLIE!”

Nancy burst into loud, uncontrollable sobs. The other two looked over at each other in awe and disgust.

“What? Are you serious, Nancy?”

She looked up at Beth.

“Of course. I couldn’t believe it and I needed to make sure. I had to check to make sure. You always need to be when you are faced with that kind of thing.”

Nancy sounded more composed this time. Beth and Janet believed her and Beth dabbed Nancy’s face with the sleeve of her sweater.

“Is there anything I can do for you Nancy? I’m so sorry this happened.”

Nancy looked over at Beth and forced a smile.

“It’s not your fault, Beth. I really appreciate you being here for me.”

“Do you still want to stay with us tonight,” Janet suggested.

“I don’t want to impose. I wouldn’t be much fun right now, anyways.”

“Nonsense,” Beth and Janet replied. “We just want to make sure you’re okay,” Beth added.

“Thanks anyways, but I think I should head on home anyway. I feel a good night’s sleep is what I’ll need.”

“We’ll drop you off.”

Nancy thanked them and Beth and Janet helped her into Beth’s car. The three drove off towards Nancy’s house. Shortly thereafter they arrived at her place and walked her to the door. As Nancy unlocked the door and turned the door knob she leaned in to hug both girls.

“Thank you two once again for everything. If we could keep this between us at the moment, I would appreciate it. Wouldn’t want it to ruin the last year of high school.” Nancy smiled a second time since the three were reunited at the park.

“Oh Nancy, you almost forgot.” Janet held her hand out to give her her book.

“You may need this back. I’ve always found that a little reading can perk you right up.”

Nancy took the book from Janet’s hand and leaned in to hug her once more.

“You’re the best.”

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.