Humans logo

My Writer's Elevator Pitch

A passion found before I lost it

By Betty LeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read

I don't have some artistic photograph with a cool expensive camera to share. I know visuals can be important in the world of selling yourself and trying to build a following of supporters. But I figured I would share my elevator pitch, no matter how cliché or ordinary it is. I'm just ready to follow a passion I've been given since childhood, one I nearly let slip through my fingers: writing.

And not blogging or running off on a tangent about various world events and politics, while I do that on an everyday bases, I promise you. But writing for those just looking for an escape from exactly that. To the girl who always dreamed of that white horse and prince under her window or maybe those two friends who couldn't never get the timing right and just needed a happy ending, even if it wasn't real. Writing for those just looking to hide in a few good pages, a couple good words, a daydream away from reality. But I suppose that's all of us fiction writers. People sick of the world around them and just giving ourselves closure or endings we would never really have. And that's not to say we don't have a nice life but maybe there was another life we wanted too.

My passion is creating an escape, a world of shoulda coulda's and almost never hads. I want people to support me in rekindling that voice I almost let die chasing dreams that weren't mine. I'm here now with so much to say, to offer, to give to those just looking for a moment to breathe. And who knows, maybe that breathe they take can lead to a life they never wanted to stop chasing.

I have been writing poetry and fiction since the age of six. I was broken, dealing with a father who wasn't sure if he wanted in or out. A mom who was so broken by that same man that every time a knight in shining armor came to our rescue, she turned him away. So, I would write short lyrics of sadness, of happy endings, of perfect moments. I would write short stories of happy endings even if the journey was a bit tricky. People have enough sad endings in their life so why wouldn't I give someone something smile about. I did journalism in high school, faced a lot of adversity from a teacher at my majority white all-girls school in Chicago, and despite that I won top awards and I was recognized for my talent. But all and in, I still followed someone else’s dream and almost lost a part of me that made me whole.

Currently I have published book on Amazon Kindle called the Photographer, part one of a three-part novella series that takes a turn from a lustful romance to a thrilling Sci Fi dystopia. I’m also working on a episodic series, The DNA Dutchess that will be released later this summer. My stories are sometimes short but sweet or a journey that at some point has a destination. I’m looking forward to building my audience and interacting with my readers. I have so much more to give and to be vocal about. Writing and engaging with my readers has always been my passion and where my heart lies, and I am excited to bring this passion to the world and hopefully touch one soul. Change one world. Create one smile. If I can do that, then I know this path I’ve jumped back on is worth it. My name is Betty Lee and I am a fiction writer. This was my elevator pitch.

humanity

About the Creator

Betty Lee

Living through my wildest imagination, writing for a love lost but never forgotten.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Betty LeeWritten by Betty Lee

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.