Humans logo

My Trip to Urgent Dental Care

Swollen gums,ugh!!!

By Mariann CarrollPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Trip to Urgent Dental Care
Photo by Quang Tri NGUYEN on Unsplash

Who likes to visit the dentist? Not me but I had to, today .

My gum been swollen for days. Painkillers was my best friend. I got up extra early to prepare myself. I was so scared, I clean the house like crazy this morning. I did not eat breakfast. Did I tell you, I might cry like a baby.

I asked a friend to drive me there, cause I know they might need to sedate me. I get there before most. There were a lot of people. We still have to wear a mask. I was second in line to over 50 people.

I got there ,sign in. Give my drivers license and my medical insurance card. We had to wait in the auditorium, yes auditorium . The dental Urgentcare was next to the biggest hospital in the city. I guess the hospital used that auditorium as well. I was to go done to floor C after a few minutes.

I took the elevator with few fellow patients. I was taken to the wrong room at first . They put me in the room number one , near where everyone was waiting.

I hang my purse to go get my x-ray. This machine goes all around your head while you bite on a plastic that’s in front of you. They have a handles you hold on to, it felt like you were going on an amusement ride without the trill.

I got to my designated room , number 1. The Doctor Pablo Martinez. I won’t lie, he was nice looking. I was in pain so, I could not really appreciate having a good looking doctors take go care of me. They had two doctors in the room, doing the procedures in my mouth.

Dr. Pablo, was very gentle and kind. my eyes grow big when I see those dental tools. The scariest tool is the needles, they eject you with. I think Dr.Pablo knew ,I was scared. He made the experience as pleasant as possible. He really made sure, I felt no pain.

The best doctors are the ones with good bed side manners. I prayed the whole time. The procedure was done within 10 minutes. He send me off with antibiotics and Tylenol. I thank the doctor , with me drooling away with my mouth feeling numb. Thank God for the Covid mask.

I got pick up and my friend to me to my pharmacy to pick the medicine. I shared my experience with my friend. We chatted about other things.

I got to the pharmacy , my meds was not prepared yet. I went shopping and paid for my items , I bought. I got to the pharmacy , could not find my drivers license. I found it after moving things around in my pocket purse. Paid my copay. I had a little chat with the nice lady in the Pharmacy. I did not want to hold the line, I said my goodbye. I would not have minded to chat with her some more but my friend and the people in line are waiting. They were nice about it.

I bought my friend something , to show my appreciation. Money is tight but, I feel better giving than not.

My mouth still feel numb,thank God. I know when the Novocain wear off.

What’s the best playlist for when you are in pain?

My mouth feel back to normal but still sore. I will just go read to distract myself from the pain. I have a fallow up appointment next week.

I am not looking forward to going to the dentist but it is a must.

I hope you enjoyed my dentist emergency visit.

I feel no matter how much you take care of your teeth, you cannot avoid the dentist.

The dentist was telling his childhood experience which reminded of Willy Wonka movie .

Time to take my antibiotic, every 8 hours for 7 days. Long time ago , you had to take antibiotics for two weeks.

Thanks for reading .

literature
Like

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.