Humans logo

My Threesome

Dare I make it a Quartet?

By Margaret BrennanPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

We’re sitting on the couch; he’s watching his usual movie on Netflix. I, as usual, am not interested. I’ve seen it before. Actually, we’ve seen it before but just as usual, he’d fallen asleep and now has no recollection of it. So, he watches it again. I wonder how long it’ll be before he falls asleep tonight and misses the second go-round of the movie – which I found boring in the first place.

While he’s awake and enjoying his movie, I pick up my hard-covered book and begin to read.

After a while, I get up and make a cup of tea. Back to reading but this time, I grab my paperback.

Time went by and yes, he stayed awake and saw the entire movie. It’s now time for bed. After a busy day, I’m very tired and am looking forward to a relaxing, good night’s sleep. After brushing my teeth and washing my face, I head to bed and grab my kindle. I begin to read.

This doesn’t quite confuse him – yet.

My regimen of reading continues the same for the next few days and now, he takes notice and feels the need to ask, “I understand why you use your kindle in bed, but why are you reading a hard covered book and a soft covered one? Why not just read your kindle?”

I answer, “Each book is different. The hard covered book is a serious, political novel while the soft covered book is a murder mystery, and the kindle is a love story. Each relaxes me in its ow way.”

His eyes open a bit wider. “Wait,” he says sounding bewildered, “You mean to tell me you’re reading three different books at the same time?”

“Uh, yeah, I am. Why not?” I answer sounding confused at his question.

Shaking his head, he said, “How can you keep track of what you’re reading?”

“It’s easy,” I say, “The hard covered book is a true story and for serious reading. The soft cover, while being a murder mystery, is fiction and the kindle, as I said, is a love story. I pick up one and immediately know where I left off.”

He walked into our home office and grabbed the pile of papers that I keep on my desk. Coming back to the living room, he says, “So, what’s this stuff?”

“Oh that?” I begin, “That’s the story I’m writing. Want to read it?”

His mouth fell open a bit then recovering from what seemed to be mild shock, said, “So. let me get this straight. You’re reading three different books each with its own different theme and you’re writing one which I suppose I should assume has nothing to do with any of the books you’re reading. Have I got that right?”

I looked at him and eagerly smiled. “See? You do understand.”

As he walked back into the office to put my papers back on the desk, he began to laugh. “The only thing I really understand is that my wife is nuts! I doubt I’ll ever know what makes your brain work. Oh, and I’ll read your story when it’s done.”

Still smiling, I walked to the office and picked up another hard covered book. Since I had only a few more pages in the one I’m currently reading, I decided to choose another. It looked interesting so I started reading the first chapter to see if it was worth my time. My husband said it was a good one, so I figured I’d see for myself. I read the first chapter and put it aside for the night. Tomorrow was another day to begin Chapter Two.

For now, I’m heading off for a cup of tea and my paperback.

At least my crocheting is done.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.