Humans logo

My soulmate or here to give me hope?

A connection that restored my faith in finding love

By mapPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
My soulmate or here to give me hope?
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

“Important encounters are planned by the souls long before the bodies see each other.” - Paulo Coelho

Soulmates are considered to be the ones that we have an immediate connection with. A bond that is so strong and intense that it throws us off and surprises us in the best way possible. And if given time, this connection can develop in a love that is so deep, strong, and genuine that we doubt we have ever loved anyone before. I am not entirely sure if I found my soulmate, but I am sure that I came close to it. However, the unfortunate truth was that I let him go.

It was the last days of summer, and I took the elevator to my workplace when I met this person who ended up affecting my life. I knew this person around, but that was the first time he initiated a conversation with me. We talked for like 10 mins, and even though I did not think much of it, the conversation felt natural and refreshing. After that, I saw him around a couple of times, but I never really thought of him until a month later.

We were at an event together, and I remember making eye contact with him, and my mind literally went blank. It sounds so cheesy, but it was the weirdest thing I have experienced. I tried to brush it off, but I could not deny that it was something I never felt before. I felt so connected to him. It felt like this was the person I was looking for. The person that would understand me in every way possible. The one who would not judge me. The one who will support me no matter what. I did not know what to make of it. All I knew was that those feelings were intense, and I loved the intensity of them. What was going on? I felt a secure connection with this man. What was he doing to me? It was absurd to me that whenever I thought of this man, I felt thrilled and experienced a vast wave of nervousness at the same time. Why does this man have to be so perfect for me? Maybe this is all in my head. Perhaps there is nothing there. Perhaps the nervous energy that stems from me thinking about him has no correlation to him. Perhaps I am making up things in my head just for me to feel better. What the heck is going on? How can I feel so strongly about him in such a small amount of time?

Indeed, meeting this person gave me hope. It made me realize that perhaps the kind of person I want to be with, does exist. I have struggled with being misunderstood throughout my life, and this person made me feel understood. It felt like our paths were meant to cross, and I am glad to have known him, even if our time together was limited.

He is now gone from my life, and I have no explanation for what I felt for him. Being the romantic that I am, it was one of the greatest feelings. Sometimes I would imagine what it would be like if we ever got together, Maybe it would have been chaos or maybe the greatest love that I could ever have felt. Maybe the time was not right for us. Perhaps we were not meant to be. I have no idea. It makes me sad that I did not get to know him more. Sad I did not allow him to know me more. But I do have a tiny bit of hope that I will see him again in my life.

love
Like

About the Creator

map

Exploring my passion for writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.