Humans logo

My Review of "Match.com"

I can only speak of the people in my neighborhood but it has been quite the experience.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

With this global pandemic it's natural to feel lonely and secluded. I decided that it was time to meet someone new. My ex had broke up with me 6 months ago and I've been reeling about it for long enough. It was time to take matters in my own hands and take hold of my own destiny. Or so that's what I thought when I dived into the app.

I had this hugely optimistic view of how it would turn out on this dating app. I've never tried online dating before and I really never had to since I'd always meet people at social functions. Seeing as there's no social functions anymore I realized how difficult it is to meet new people.

Somehow I also thought this experience would be similar to back in the day with MSN where you'd just chit chat about anything with total strangers. Remember Yahoo Chat? Or even AOL? All those sort of things were pretty fun back in the day and I kind of longed for those days of old when I looked at the possibilities of this app.

I started to put in all of my personal information in there. They were checking up my preferences and I added them all in as truthfully as I could. You never know maybe there's someone with the same interests as me or maybe not. I'm willing to just meet anyone at this point.

The search began and I didn't realize how many people were on the application. There are a lot of women in my city that are looking for companionship. A lot of beautiful women too. The next challenge was to start engaging in conversation. It's not enough to like someone's profile you have to talk to them.

I would each of their profile to see what I could talk to them about. The initiation to the app is a little overwhelming because of the sheer amount of people you have to weed out and filter in. Coming up with topics to talk about is sometimes torturous because there are a ton of women out there that don't add too much to their profiles.

To be fair I can see why they wouldn't add much information. Society has taught them to be weary of predators and so they're trying to protect themselves from stalkers or whatnot from coming after them.

There are also some women that believe that their profile pictures will do all the work for them. They'll simply put up pictures and basic information but no real meat as to who they are. Although some profile pictures look like they didn't even try. I'm shocked at some of the laziness that comes with some of these dating profiles. Why would you have images of things other than what you look like? I'm not interested in pictures of trees.

The profile information for the majority of the women in my area seem to very similar to one another. There are an abundant amount of women that are into hiking and the outdoors. I don't know what you all do all day in the outdoors but I would think walking around gets boring after a while. Unless you're really into some sort of meditative stuff. Still I try to find different things to say to them to get their attention.

Getting responses isn't the easiest thing on this dating app. Sometimes I think people just place an ad up but don't really pay attention. At times it shows with their profile information. I've learned to ignore these women. Still, in order to get a response on this dating app I realized I have to message at least 50 women to get at least one response.

I did some grinding on the app. It may have taken days but I messaged probably all of the women that showed up on my suggestions. I didn't care what they looked like. I just wanted some response so that I could practice talking to women again. Maybe even get some tips on how I could be more interesting to talk to. This is good practice in any situation. Eventually we're going to get out of the pandemic right?

To my surprise even getting replies was almost like pulling teeth. I would start off multiple conversations with different women and I would constantly get a yes or no answer. I know what you're thinking, I didn't use the what, how, why methods to incite conversation but I did! This could be the same reason as I stated before about women having a tough shell to break through due to security. It was absolutely frustrating.

Even worse when I didn't get a yes or no answer they would always have diplomatic responses. They would always answer questions like a politician. I'm not concerned if they were liberal or conservative but yet they thought they needed to be neutral in their opinions. For example I would ask them what kinds of foods they liked to eat and more often than not they would answer that they liked foods that are good. I would expect a child to respond like this but not from an adult woman over 30 years old.

I tried to get a hold of myself to see what I might be doing to encourage such weird responses. It dawned on me that I don't live the same experience as these women and we're all on this dating site for different reasons. I guess my new reason for being on the dating site was to learn more about what kind of people exist on these dating sites.

It's tough for anyone to be dating online. I can't imagine women dating online. For all of my frustrations I have with the women online I'm sure they have even worse cases with men and that's why they're so standoffish with me. There must have been some sort of bad experiences that they had experienced that had reduced them to the way they communicate online.

Now I feel like I have to be a representative for men online to show them that it's okay to trust some men. All we want to do is talk but this is a two way street. It's very difficult to have conversations with vacuous people. We need some sort of substance and if you don't have any unfortunately we have to move on to the next person.

After a month I've found that I've exhausted my options on the space and it's pretty much a dead site for me. I would say if you want to explore this dating site you should only subscribe for a month to see how it's like. Anything more than a month is basically wasting your money. There aren't many new applicants each week. The sheer amount that you sift through are either old applicants that are no longer online with the site anymore or people that don't have much to add to conversations. I had a horrible experience with it but I'm not going to lose hope. More to add in a later entry.

dating
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.