Humans logo

My Person

My best friend of over ten years is my person, my sister, and my everything.

By Mae McCreeryPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

We all have that one person in our lives that we would do anything for. It may be a spouse, parent, sibling; in my case it’s my best friend.

We met in high school in Spanish class, we were assigned partners but we just clicked immediately. We both loved going to the movies and reading and we both loved tormenting our least favorite teachers. We weren’t the bad kids in school, we were just wily and sarcastic. Even if we didn’t have classes together, we found ways to communicate without texting. We didn’t have assigned seats in our classes so we’d make sure we both sat at the same desk. We’d hide notes in between screws under the desktop, hidden under computer towers, or even in a broken piece of the wallpaper.

We were inseparable in high school.

Our families had their problems, mine pretty much disregarded me completely and hers always put her last. My family was more than willing to have her over on holidays and random weekends when her parents would kick her out to take her brothers out somewhere.

After we graduated high school, she moved in with a few of our friends. After a year, she moved to Maryland. We weren’t as close as we used to be, but we still visited each other when we could.

Here we are, 11 years later, still best friends.

We tell each other EVERYTHING. There is nothing that we don’t know about the other. Favorite colors, bands, books, cities, lunch spots, and clubs. Even though I may only see her once a month, we talk almost every day.

One weekend when I was away with a guy, I was texting her about my day. He came over and tried to kiss me, I held him away and said he had to give me ten minutes. He was mad at first but then he calmed down and understood.

My best friend has become my sister, my own family refers to her as that. Her family refers to me as that. We’ve never had a fight. We’ve disagreed but we’ve never fought about anything serious.

We’ve been through so much together. I helped her through her therapy sessions about her assaults, she’s been there for emotional support through the darkest moments in my life. When something happens, she’s the first call I make.

I would do anything for her, and i know she’d do anything for me.

She once called me at 10:30 pm to see if I could pick her up because she took an Uber to her doctor after she got swiped by a palm frong in her eye and she went blind. Her doctor was closed and she needed to go to the ER. I jumped up and grabbed my keys before she hung up the phone. I got her to the hospital and stayed with her even when she told me to go home.

I helped her walk to the ER bed. I helped her fill out the paperwork. I held her hand when she reached for me when they started the half hour process of flushing her eyes out. I took her home at 3 am and only when she fell asleep in her own bed did I leave.

She took me to a special clinic when I was told I might have ovarian cancer. I needed a special test done and I didn’t tell my family because I didn’t want them to worry since every test I had done was inconclusive. This was the test that was going to tell me if I had it or not.

She spent two days with me, making sure I was okay and she was with me through everything. Through the paperwork, the tests, the doctor. She was right there, holding my hand.

She’s my person, my best friend, my sister, and I would do anything for her. Through thick and thin, rich and poor, good times and bad; we’ve been there side by side for each other. I worried about her when she lived in Peru for help build houses. She worried about me when I was in New York City with an ex who drove me insane. I sent her money when she couldn’t make rent in Maryland. She sent me daily reminders that I was loved and needed in this world when I needed to hear it most.

A lot of people tell you that the person that you should feel this way about is your spouse, but that’s not always going to be the case. Sometimes, the one person whom you can always count on and love more than anyone, is the person who’s seen you at your absolute lowest and helped you back up. It doesn’t matter if they were a spouse, parent, sibling, or friend; what matters is that they were there.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Mae McCreery

I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.