Humans logo

My love of supporting non-profits

Began with a human face :Someone who touched my heart!

By Bonnie JS EglinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
This is from my FB pics -the day I wore for Charley...Not today

Saw this interesting story my email today!

(NOTE: Not intended to solicit donations)

https://rallyfoundation.org/building-a-bridge-to-a-cure/

Thinking about little Charley. I really got attached to this little 6 y/o about 2 years ago.

It was August 2019--- It was in fact, 4 days after my birthday. I don't normally care to celebrate my birthday... this year was even more depressing because my cat , ( Madajolen Montemilisto Stepanek* Name significant- long story- Called him by nickname, Woo-ie ) * passed away.

Little back story:

I had him for the longest time of any other pet, passed away a few months earlier, on 6/3/19. Got him around 7 months old. He was with me untill just 15 days after his 15th birthday *today is 8 days unill his 17th * So now I was extra melancholy about my birthday month- SPENDING my birthday without Woo!

Continuing on with Charley : Her story impact on my heart.

My Birthday now passed- It's now around 6:30pm , August 13th 2019.

Scrolling through FB...something I'm always doing, searching for something to lift my spirits. I find a post from a pg. (Smiles for Baby Charley) Video- ((HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHARLEY!)) It was posted earlier that day, August 13th.

Sweet little girl , celebrating her 6th birthday -in the hospital :(

Hey, we have the same birthday month little girl! HAD TO WATCH!

This little girl- Having a Blast shredding paper in her hospital bed! Smiles for "the little things" that bring the joy.

She just touched me. WHY was she in the hospital?, I wondered. So, looked through her pg. Found out she had brain cancer---OH! I cried. Well, I don't know if it's because I have more empathy for little kids suffering terminal illness ,or it was the fact that our birthdays are only 4 days apart... BUT, I was instantly attached to her.

EVERYDAY for the next few months, I HAD TO check in on little Charley.

Watching her be silly & loveable ,curious and sassy...Oh I just melt. A few weeks go by, I see she was rushed to the hospital for seizures--heart sinks.

Prayers: I rooted hard for my little Leo friend... "Come on Baby!" She'd rally back -I'd cry tears of joy & gratitude to Spirit ---to her spark, her spunk- HER RESILIENCE ,So remarkable! I cheered her on many times in the 2 short months that I had to come to know of her.

I hoped after enduring more than a month in the PICU ---Undergone 4 procedures on her brain in just that time. WOW! I'd hoped so hard that she would get (bought more)enough time left to at least spend one last block of holidays with her family... But sadly not. She did get to be home for a brief time, after her surgery marathon month...at least that blessing happened... before she passed away.

Well, during this time of 2 months getting to know Charley, her mom was selling shirts for a fundraiser, for the Rally Foundation (Charley was a spoke model patient) Featuring: Smiles for Baby Charley logo... Of Course I bought one in support of my new fellow Leo friend, Charley!

Waited to put in on----Day before I saw the news she was dying...Sad but still hoping she'd RALLY again .... I RUSHED To the shirt . Gotta put it on FOR CHARLY!

She left her body...and became a 'FREE' spirit November 8,2019. Short time it took to give my heart someone to hope for, someone to cheer on. Made me smile after my kitty passed away. SAD it was so short a time.... but will be grateful...to & for Charley. My little Leo Birthday Buddy.

Ultimately, this long post came about because of seeing this post today above. AND just so happens, I TODAY am WEARING my Rally for Charley fundraiser shirt!!!

Synchronicity - gives me great joy!

Hi there miss Charley! Miss you! XOXO

humanity
4

About the Creator

Bonnie JS Eglin

Looking for purpose ( Disabled- Not employed )

Write out my emotions! Let it flow as am compelled....

Hope to be inspired to write poetry( Song lyrics )

My Cat is my routine

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.