Humans logo

My Journey of Overcoming Anxiety and Depression

- gopi david

By gopiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

It was a beautiful morning when I woke up feeling empty inside. The sun was shining, the birds were chirping, and the world seemed to be at peace. But my mind was a different story. I felt anxious, fearful, and hopeless. I didn't know why, but I felt like I was drowning in a sea of despair, and I couldn't escape.

My name is Sarah, and I have been struggling with anxiety and depression for as long as I can remember. I have always felt like I was on the edge of a cliff, and one wrong step could lead me to fall into a bottomless pit. I was constantly worried about everything, from the smallest things like what I would wear to work, to the biggest things like what would happen to me if I died.

My anxiety and depression were like two sides of the same coin. They fed off each other, and I was caught in the middle, helpless and alone. I tried to cope with my emotions by hiding them from others, pretending that everything was fine. But deep down, I knew that I was lying to myself, and I couldn't keep it up forever.

One day, I hit rock bottom. I was in my mid-twenties, and I felt like my life was going nowhere. I had a job that I hated, no close friends or family, and I felt like I was a burden on society. I couldn't take it anymore, and I decided to end my life.

But something inside me wouldn't let me do it. Maybe it was fear, maybe it was hope, but I couldn't go through with it. Instead, I decided to seek help. I started seeing a therapist, and I was diagnosed with severe anxiety and depression.

It wasn't easy at first. I had to confront my demons, face my fears, and learn how to manage my emotions. But with the help of my therapist and the support of my loved ones, I slowly started to make progress. I started to understand that my anxiety and depression were not weaknesses, but a part of who I am. I started to accept myself for who I was, flaws and all.

I also started to develop coping mechanisms that helped me deal with my emotions. I started to practice mindfulness, meditation, and yoga. I started to exercise regularly and eat healthy. I started to make time for self-care, doing things that made me happy and relaxed.

It wasn't an overnight transformation, but over time, I started to feel better. I started to see the world in a different light. I started to appreciate the little things, like the beauty of nature, the warmth of the sun, and the joy of laughter. I started to connect with others, forming meaningful relationships that gave me a sense of belonging and purpose.

Today, I am a different person. I am still Sarah, but I am also someone who has overcome her anxiety and depression. I am someone who has learned how to manage her emotions and live a fulfilling life. I am someone who has found her place in the world, and who knows that she is loved and valued.

If you are struggling with anxiety and depression, I want you to know that you are not alone. It is a hard journey, but it is not impossible. Seek help, talk to someone you trust, and know that there is light at the end of the tunnel. You are stronger than you think, and you deserve to live a happy and healthy life.

advice
Like

About the Creator

gopi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.