Humans logo

My Husband Walked Out On Our Marriage While I Was Away But Text Me Everyday Pretending He Was Home

Returned home from a holiday with my girlfriends and found my husband gone

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 7 min read
30
My Husband Walked Out On Our Marriage While I Was Away But Text Me Everyday Pretending He Was Home
Photo by Chaozzy Lin on Unsplash

If you have read about the beginning of my relationship with Merv, you will know that he walked out on our marriage unexpectedly, seven weeks after our wedding. If you don’t know this, you will find the whole story here :

Now that we are all on the same page, let me start by saying that five months after walking out on our marriage, he came crawling back.

I know, I know, you are all asking why I allowed him too?

The simple answer is, that I believe marriage is sacred and that I had to give it all I had and so I welcomed him back. Trust me, it may have been a different story if we were not married.

The complicated answer is, that no matter what he did, I still loved him heart and soul. I always will!

So he returned and we lived happily for the next seven months. Of course we had our ups and downs, like everyone but basically we were happy.

Until, I decided to go away with my girlfriends and I didn’t ask permission or let my husband know before I organised my trip.

This was only because it was a spur of the moment decision. I was out to lunch with the girls and someone said we should go away for a week. We all liked that idea and one girl suggested we go to the Royal Show in our closest capital city. Why not?

The show happened to be on in three days time, so impulsively we all jumped on our phones and booked a flight each. One of the girls said she had a friend who had a house in the city and was sure we’d all be able to stay. She flicked off a quick text and received an instance reply that it was all okay.

And just like that our trip was booked.

I went home from the luncheon and immediately told my husband. He didn’t seem overly fazed at the time, but did mention he’d miss me.

Two days later I was on the plane with the girls, excited to be on our way for a week’s holiday in the big city lights. Wahoo! I was extra excited as I had never been there before, whereas the rest of the girls had.

We landed mid afternoon and I sent a quick text to my husband to let him know we’d arrived safely. He replied and told me to have fun and not to worry about anything at home as he had it covered.

We arrived at the house we were staying at for the week, freshened up and headed out for an early dinner. We were all pretty tired so headed back to get some sleep after dinner. Tomorrow would be a big day as we were going to the Royal Show.

Before I hit my pillow, I went outside and gave my husband a call. He was happy to hear from me, told me how much he missed me and it was too quiet at home without me. I told him I loved him and I’d be home before he knew it.

So this was pretty much the routine for the rest of the week. My husband and I would text a couple times throughout the day and I’d call him each night before heading to bed.

It was a fantastic week with the girls and before I knew it, we were heading home. Just before I boarded the plane, my husband text to ask what day I’d be home as he couldn’t remember. I didn’t bother to answer as I thought I’d surprise him by walking through the door in a couple of hours time. I was so excited to see him as I had missed him terribly.

The plane landed and we all caught a taxi back to one girl’s house, as that’s where we had all left our cars. I did not hesitate once we arrived, said a quick goodbye, jumped in my car and headed home.

I’m glad that I was on quiet country roads, with my foot a little heavy on the accelerator as I was in a hurry to get home and kiss my man.

It was dark when I pulled into the driveway and I could see the welcoming lights on inside the house. I jumped out of the car, raced to the front door and using my key, unlocked and practically exploded inside.

I was expecting to see my husband, watching TV, pleasantly surprised to see me. However, it was obvious that no one was home. That’s strange.

I checked the bedroom, the bathroom and even the backyard but the house was definitely empty. Maybe he’s just ducked to the shops or something.

Then I started noticing things that I hadn’t obviously wanted to see or take note of before. Things like the breakfast dishes were still sitting in the sink. Dishes from the breakfast I made before heading off on my trip with the girls.

I started noticing things were missing. Had we been robbed?

No, it was just personal items missing. Personal items belonging to my husband. I raced into the bedroom and sure enough, his closet and drawers were all empty.

I checked out the back and again everything he owned was gone. It was like he had never lived here.

Goes without saying I was in shock. I was devastated and crippled by the pain. Once again he had walked out on our marriage. Once again he had unexpectedly left me. I couldn’t understand why. Was it because I was gone too long? How could that be, it was only a week?

I was standing in the middle of the house, sobbing my heart out when I heard my phone. It was the tone letting me know I’d received a text. I almost ignored it but then I thought it may be one of the girls wanting to know I got home okay.

I picked up my phone and pressed the text message and got the surprise of my life. There in front of my eyes was this text message from my husband, which went along the same lines as this:

“Hey babe I hope you are having a blast. When are you due back? It’s too quiet and lonely here at home without you. I love and miss you.”

I thought I must have been in an alternate reality! Here was a text from my husband making out he was sitting at home missing me. What reality could he be living in because in my reality, I was home and he was definitely not sitting here missing me?

To top it off, it was obvious by the state of the house, especially the dishes, that he had packed and left the same day I did. All week he had been pretending to be home missing me. A week of heartbreakingly cruel lies.

I stopped crying and became extremely angry as I realised all this. I knew if I saw him right that very minute, that I could not be held accountable for my actions. I was literally seeing red.

I calmly walked over to the lounge suite, sat down and responded to my husband’s text saying:

“Hi sweetheart, I was originally planning on coming home today but the girls have talked me into staying a couple more days. I love and miss you too honey, very much. Talk soon.”

I then turned my phone off and threw it into a drawer in the spare room, closed and locked all the doors and windows, climbed into bed and sobbed myself to sleep.

There I stayed for a couple of days, absolutely destroyed. On about day three, I heard someone bashing on my front door but I just ignored it. After a while I heard my husband yelling out that he knew I was home and to let him in. He also wanted to know why I wasn't answering his calls or text messages?

He couldn’t get in because he had left his house keys on the dining room table when he packed up and moved out.

I kept ignoring him until he eventually went away. I continued to sob in my bed for the next few days, only getting up to eat occasionally and use the bathroom.

My husband come back once more bashing on the door while yelling at me, but again I ignored him until he left.

As I climbed out of bed on day six, I made up my mind to pull myself together and go back to living my life somehow, no matter how much my heart hurt.

I also made the decision that day that my marriage was over, once and for all. There was no coming back this time. My heart was closed, locked tight and I had locked my husband out. He would never again have access to me in any shape or form. My decision was made.

I stuck to the decision I made that day and I have never seen my husband again. We did text hundreds of times, as he pleaded for me to give us another go. He apologised profusely, explaining that he moved out to teach me a lesson. He admitted he never dreamed I would react in this manner or he would never have done it.

And here we are seventeen years later, still legally married but I have not seen him since the day I kissed him goodbye to go on a week’s vacation with my girlfriends.

He destroyed us by trying to punish me for doing something he did not like but his form of punshment, in my eyes, was totally unacceptable!

Thank you for riding along with me on this painful journey.

**********************************************************************

Chris Isaac knew the pain I was feeling as I lay, breaking my heart in bed.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

marriage
30

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • My Name Is Not Cypress2 years ago

    So sorry that happened! But writing the story out surely helped? I hope? It usually helped me anyway...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.