Humans logo

My Experience With Married Men in Lagos - Veeiye Speaks Out

Veeiye gets honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian musician, TV host, actress and media personality Veeiye who is most popular for her stint on the Big Brother Naija franchise sat down with media personality, Stephanie Coker, on her 'Me, Her & Everything Else' podcast to talk about a number of things. During the conversation, the topic of Veeiye being single and dating came up, and Veeiye opened up about her own experiences with married men trying to get with her in Lagos. It is not something that is uncommon, especially these days, and Veeiye opened up about her own experience with it as well as personal scenarios of what happened with her. Here's what Veeiye had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Veeiye on 'Me, Her, and Everything Else' podcast

Speaking during the podcast about married men in Lagos approaching her, Veeiye said:

VEEIYE: I hope you know that majority of men on the streets are married. I want you to know. That is what is on the streets. I would say like 70% of men on the streets looking for people to date are not single. And I want people to start being honest about that. I live in Lagos. Let me think of one [scenario], I was at a house party, it was my friend's birthday. And he told me, "I have this friend, he wants to meet you, he likes you", and I was like okay. So I'm sitting by myself, and he brings this friend to me and he's like "oh, this is my friend". I said hi. He was like "oh I like you, I want to get your number". I wasn't really sure so I left it until the end of the party and I was like to my friend like, 'okay, give it to him'. And then, he messaged me the next day. And with me, I like to take my time. So you message me, before I reply, I'm going to check your Whatsapp picture to see what's happening, I'm going to check your Whatsapp story. I checked his Whatsapp story: "Oh my darling wife, my life, my love, my future, the keeper of my children", all the normal ones, and I just jejely just blocked. And that's the thing, the act itself is annoying. But it's the audacity. It's the guts. A lot of men are like that.

When I was living in the UK, cheating was the hugest deal breaker, moving to Lagos and seeing things with my own eyes, I'm just like something must kill a man because like I said, culture, it is more of a Westernized ideology for monogamy to be the norm. Whereas you come to Nigeria and polygamy is the norm.

Nawa! What do you think about what Veeiye said, as well as about this new trend of married men still going to toast single women on the streets? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.