Humans logo

My Dating Woes

Learning experiences. Not setbacks.

By Woman With an EdgePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dating is so complicated... Does anyone out there relate? I get it, no one is perfect and when you date someone, not only are you dating the good parts but you are also in a sense dating their baggage. I don't know... I got into the dating world two years ago. And ever since I feel like it's been this huge roller coaster. One downfall after another, and it seems like I just haven't caught a break.

There was one man that I met on a dating app, and we went on one date and I thought we hit it off. He seemed to think so too. Prior to that we had been talking a few months, getting to know each other through text and snap. Your typical modern day romance, right? However, afterwards, he started to get really busy because his job is very demanding and he had other obligations, which I understood. It seemed like he wanted something serious, because we would text every day. But every time we tried to make plans, either something came up (mostly for him) or he just didn't follow through making plans. So I started to voice my concerns and mostly what I'd get was an "I'm sorry". Not "Okay we'll make this up" or not "Let's find another time." I tried to be understanding about his busy schedule, but eventually I had to lay down the line.

I had to tell him, "Either you make time for me, or this is done." And yes, I did everything I could to make time for him, but because of how demanding his schedule was, I guess there just wasn't enough time for me. So eventually I just broke things off with him.

And recently, I met this guy who I was head over heels for. Yes, also on a dating app. He was emotionally mature, told me right off the bat what he wanted, and told me he was sick of the games as well. We talked on the phone for days and I would always get "good morning beautiful" texts from him and he was truly romantic. We went on two dates, one of which he asked me to be his woman, so I said yes, because he seemed like the perfect guy for me. However, he had some concerns that somewhat clashed with mine, so I ended up breaking up with him because there were certain things we just weren't on the same page about.

Now, I could sit here and tell you dating completely sucks and that I've given up completely on it. I could also tell you to lose hope and that true romantic love is obsolete. But I won't say that. You know why? Because even though I have not seen that for myself, I still believe it is possible. I still believe in romance, and chivalry, I believe there is a man out there for me who will love me and cherish me for all my flaws and who I will do the same for. And I believe the same thing is possible for anyone who truly wants it bad enough.

I think what I've learned from this whole situation is that my future husband, who ever he is, will come to me in time. I have not given up on dating, but because of my previously discussed experiences, I have armed myself with some priceless knoweldge. Number one, I must be aware of my own needs and take care of myself, number two if a man is unable to make time to at the very least talk on the phone with me, then he isn't the guy for me, and number three: if a man cannot respect my values and be on the same page with me about certain things, then I do not need to be dating him.

I hope someone learns a lesson in my mistakes, as I have truly learned from mine.

Thank you for reading!

dating
Like

About the Creator

Woman With an Edge

If your heart is not in it, why do it? That's why I write.

Insta: womanwithanedge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.